We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Olympia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Olympia
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

A professionally run impressive hotel situated perfectly in the centre of Thessaloniki. Fantastic staff who always remember you and take the time to make your stay the very best experience imaginable. A place where you make lifelong family and friends. Thank you as always E Crompton

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLECROMPTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOThessaloniki, Owner at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Mrs Crompton,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Olympia, for posting such a good review and most of all for being such a loyal guest! Your words further motivate us to improve but most of all confirm how much we try to provide quality services on a daily basis, since this is the key to have repetitive guests like yourself.
We look forward to seeing you sometime soon!

Thank you!

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
evelyn@hotelolympia.gr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    194
    58
    14
    2
See reviews for
69
155
40
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Khalkis, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Returned at this hotel after 5 years and the impressions are quite the same.Apart from the fact that the room this time was smaller than the first time and the toilet had a shower other than bathtub with jacuzzi,the rest is the same and quite good.I like this hotel because it is clean,with a really good breakfast and good service.The only problem was that the towels are not soft at all and they look old and consumed.But I enjoyed the bed and the variety of its breakfast.I would return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOThessaloniki, Owner at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay in our hotel for the second time and for giving us feedback!
We really appreciate your good words concerning our location, the breakfast buffet and cleanliness of our premises. We really try hard to keep up to our guests' expectations and provide service better than 3* hotels usually do. Unfortunately out of the 97 rooms, some are smaller than others and some are already refurbished a 2nd time.
Please let us know in advance of your future visits so that we can allocate you in the type of room you enjoyed more in your fist visit.
Take care and thank you again for your valuable information.

Kind regards

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
evelyn@hotelolympia.gr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannina, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I spent a weekend in Thessaloniki and chose Olympia for its location. It is basically 5 min walk from Aristotelous square. All in all the hotel was a basic hotel, value for its money with a standard breakfast. The size of the double room was small but for a weekend stay it's ok.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dimitra_ioa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOThessaloniki, Owner at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Thessaloniki and for giving us feedback. We are happy that you found our location convenient but we are also sorry it seems we didn't quite meet or exceed your expectations.
We are a descent, fairly recently renovated 3* hotel offering standard services at the lowest possible rates. We try to keep up to date with continuous small changes within our premises (fitness room under construction, a la carte menu etc) and hope to better please you in a possible future visit of yours.
Again thank you for your time and valuable information! We remain at your disposal.

Kind regards

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
evelyn@hotelolympia.gr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is very close to the centre of Thessaloniki, easily reached by bus from the airport (45 minutes and a 5 minute walk). It is quite modern and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The structure itself is maybe a little worn from having too many groups staying for only a night or two; some of the taps could be looked at for a bit of necessary maintenance, and the curtains in the showers (at least in mine) are not the best possible solution to keep the floor dry, so after each use there is quite a large puddle ....

Sheets were clean, pillows are a bit hard if you are used to feathers; the lack of tea making facilities was a pity, but maybe the groups mentioned above are the reason.

Breakfast was good and served until quite late (11.00 am); do ask for an upper floor room, as the streets below the hotel can be a bit noisy in the evening (and evenings in Greece go on and on and on).

Rack rate advertised in the rooms is about 130 €; this is too much in my opinion, so look around for a deal, or ring up the hotel directly.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guorlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOThessaloniki, Owner at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Olympia for your stay and especially for taking the time to write such a detailed review! Your feedback not only helps future guests to get the real picture, but also the hotel staff itself to improve.
It is a fact that the average stay of guests (groups, FIT etc) is a little less than 2 (days) and this is indeed very costly for the hotel. HO was thoroughly refurbished in 2007 when it turned into a boutique hotel... however severe changes and maintenance (like changing furniture cloth, painting etc) are being done continuously. We are even setting off a new small fitness and spa area. So please stay tuned!
Upper floors are indeed more quiet because of the area becoming more and more popular, but again it depends on the days of the week. As for our pillows, they are Dunlopillo (20% goose feather and 80% duck feather). I'm sure we could have given you softer ones.
Finally the rack rate you are mentioning is a bit extreme and I am wondering who manages to sell online at a price like this.
We can't thank you enough for this review and your tips! We will be happy to welcome you again anytime soon.

Kind regards

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
evelyn@hotelolympia.gr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chios
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Well this is a city hotel ,very convenient located just up the Roman market/Aristotelous sguare.It`s newly renovated ,modern decorated, clean and provides free Wi-Fi throughout.That`s all the plus.BUT :it`s very crownded(schools,sports clubs,tourists groups),there is no parking,it`s surrounded from 60-70 years old forlorn buildings,the cars are drawning the two doors of the hotel,the surrounding area is prevailed by immigrats and is a very dirty area as well.The staff is utterly neutral and the breakfast is lower than average.The rooms are (badly surprisely) very-very small-hardly there is a space between the bed and the wall to walk .The rooms are totally empty from any amenities ,the bathroom is also tiny,there is no coffee facilites.The mini bar was empty(!),there was no extra toilet paper-we made two(2) calls to the reception to bring them over.There was no soap or shampoo to the bathroom-two more calls to the reception once again.Overall this hotel is recommended for the ages 15-22(max),schools and perhaps business travellers who are always to work and away from this property.It`s not for couples or leisure.It`s a cheap hotel,definately not 4*.(for the possible responce from the management:yes,i know that at all hotels there are three or four categories of rooms:standard,superior ,executives,suites.All the reviews are about the standard rooms ,for what a common quest pay and gets from the hotel)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miltoschios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOThessaloniki, Owner at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel for the second time. We are very sorry you had such a bad experience this time so as to write that the hotel resembles a hostel or a campus - an insulting characterisation for a hotel which exists as a family business since 1932 and has been almost totally renovated in 2007.
All 97 rooms have brand amenities available for guests, a fridge (and not a minibar) while 40 of them are fairly small but within the standards of 3* hotels that we are (not a 4* as you mentioned).
Unfortunately the financial situation for hotels in Thessaloniki is such that we are all (3*, 4* and 5* hotels) having young students, athletes and groups as guests - not only FIT travellers. Also the very same situation has caused immigrants around the area of the centre to increase, many shops to close and buildings to look abandoned. I wish we could renovate the whole block around our premises...
I apologize about services not meeting your standards, I guess we all have our bad or busy moments and recommendations have already been made to the personnel in housekeeping, service and reception.
We really appreciate your feedback and as discussed earlier we hope to get the chance to make it up to you in a future visit.

KInd regards

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is situated very close to the city center though not really close to the sea. It seems recently renovated but the towels didn't seem as new as the room furniture which is a bit irritating in my opinion. When you spend a lot of money on making the hotel look good it doesn't seem a good idea to keep the worn out towels. The people at the reception were very efficient and kind. The rooms and bathrooms are small indeed, so if space is important to you, choose a different hotel. The breakfast was quite good and the coffee was not as bad as hotel-breakfast-coffee usually is. There were some very noisy guests who listened to loud music at 4 am but I guess that was just bad luck for us. The hotel offers free parking (with limited number of places) which is rare for Thesaloniki centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dori12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOThessaloniki, Owner at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Your good words give us strength to improve.
We are in the process of changing all linen and towels... business-wise it is hard to keep up with the maintenance of the hotel given the low rates all hotels charge in Thessaloniki and the decreased occupancy the last 4 years because of the crisis.
We hope that in a future visit we will be able to surprise you with all the changes in our premises. Again thank you for your feedback!

Kind regards

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Even with navigation it was hard to find the hotel. I had to go two times around the block in order to find it so you have to pay attention. Hotel is new and modern. There was parking waiting for us outside and that is great because it is really hard to find one. Make sure you let them know to save you a spot. Room was average size with modern interior. Bathroom was tiny with doors that dont shut properly(some glass slide door) Breakfast was great. Close enough to shopping and the restaurants. Great hotel for city break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DjMalcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOThessaloniki, Owner at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your stay in our hotel and for the time you took to write this concise review!

We are sorry you couldn't find us easily - we hope next time you won't face any trouble and that you will let us know in advance so as to reserve a parking seat and to show bigger rooms in size.

Take care and thank you again for your good words!

Kind regards

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.6 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#20 of 58 in Thessaloniki
936 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#14 of 58 in Thessaloniki
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#19 of 58 in Thessaloniki
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
#12 of 58 in Thessaloniki
401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#17 of 58 in Thessaloniki
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Property: Hotel Olympia
Address: 65 Olympou St, Thessaloniki 546 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#13 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia is a contemporary pleasing hotel with intellectual design, right in the heart of Thessaloniki, housed in a historic building that belongs to the same family since 1929. After the latest refurbishment and reconstruction, Hotel Olympia has become a boutique hotel with modern minimalist architecture offering quality services to guests who travel not only on business but also for leisure. Its ninety-seven friendly rooms (including superior and family rooms, one junior suite and one room for the physically challenged) which overlook at the Roman Ancient Forum all share the same design features and facilities like flat screens, parquet flooring, brand furniture and more. The relaxed-chic decoration throughout the lobby, Campari Bar, H2O Restaurant and the fully equipped Omikron Conference Hall combines two philosophies: Extreme functionality of high-tech furnishing and the warmth derived from the use of natural materials such as marble and wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing