We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet with an impressive breakfast.”
Review of Hotel Olympia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Olympia
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here in july 2013 for 1 night. The first thing I liked was the parking, easy and right in front of the hotel, second thing, the lobby, third thing, the hallway from the floor I was checked-in at. It was all very pleasant. The room itself was nice and clean, veeery quiet, confortable but very very small. It was not that much of a problem, because I spent only 10 hours in it, sleeping, but still, the bed took up like more than a third of the room, and the shower cabin, 50% of the bathroom.The terrace was very cool, with a nice view from the top floor, and actually felt larger than the room itself. Plus, the center was within walking distance.
But the best thing about this hotel was the breakfast. Everything looked and smelled absolutely delicious.
I gave it a top rating because of what it delivered as a 3 star hotel. I would certainly return here when I`m in Thessaloniki.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mircea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

A friend and I stayed here for a few nights because we liked how close the hotel was to the Agios Demetrios and some of the other major sites in central Thessaloniki (and also because the price we got via a certain internet travel discounter website was pretty good, too.) Although the hotel was quite hard to find at first, we were ultimately glad that we did manage to do so! The room was a bit small but otherwise quite comfortable (the in-room AC was a big plus), and the staff were very friendly and efficient. That being said, the hotel does have its issues, like any other: the breakfast wasn't anything special, the hotel's wi-fi was both slow and unreliable, and the rooms have virtually no soundproofing, so if you're a light sleeper and get noisy neighbors, that could potentially be a bit of an issue. But even with those flaws, given the location and the price, I'd recommend Hotel Olympia as a very nice choice

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justonehuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel Olympia, a boutique-design hotel, ideally located at the center of the city, offers excellent service from a kind and pleasant staff, culinary kitchen, very comfortable rooms, cozy bar and perfect cleanliness! It is a pleasure always to return here!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank G_Bebetsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very nice rooms and clean. Small bathroom but you don't need more of that :) Location is good. Nice staff, free internet. Very pleasant place. I ate only breakfast there but it was delicious and arranged creatively. Near is a street full of antiquities, also you have a lot of caffes and shops near by and fantastic ice cream.
I was only for one night there with a group in June 2013. It was a bussines travel to Greece but I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOThessaloniki, Owner at Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Olympia for your stay and for writing such a flattering review! What more can a manager ask for than a pleased guest who furthermore takes the time to give feedback?!
Our objective is exactly this, to offer quality services with a slightly twisted and alternative taste within a refurbished building in the heart of a friendly city.
Thank you once more and hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
evelyn@hotelolympia.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

A professionally run impressive hotel situated perfectly in the centre of Thessaloniki. Fantastic staff who always remember you and take the time to make your stay the very best experience imaginable. A place where you make lifelong family and friends. Thank you as always E Crompton

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELLECROMPTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOThessaloniki, Owner at Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Mrs Crompton,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Olympia, for posting such a good review and most of all for being such a loyal guest! Your words further motivate us to improve but most of all confirm how much we try to provide quality services on a daily basis, since this is the key to have repetitive guests like yourself.
We look forward to seeing you sometime soon!

Thank you!

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
evelyn@hotelolympia.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Returned at this hotel after 5 years and the impressions are quite the same.Apart from the fact that the room this time was smaller than the first time and the toilet had a shower other than bathtub with jacuzzi,the rest is the same and quite good.I like this hotel because it is clean,with a really good breakfast and good service.The only problem was that the towels are not soft at all and they look old and consumed.But I enjoyed the bed and the variety of its breakfast.I would return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOThessaloniki, Owner at Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay in our hotel for the second time and for giving us feedback!
We really appreciate your good words concerning our location, the breakfast buffet and cleanliness of our premises. We really try hard to keep up to our guests' expectations and provide service better than 3* hotels usually do. Unfortunately out of the 97 rooms, some are smaller than others and some are already refurbished a 2nd time.
Please let us know in advance of your future visits so that we can allocate you in the type of room you enjoyed more in your fist visit.
Take care and thank you again for your valuable information.

Kind regards

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
evelyn@hotelolympia.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I spent a weekend in Thessaloniki and chose Olympia for its location. It is basically 5 min walk from Aristotelous square. All in all the hotel was a basic hotel, value for its money with a standard breakfast. The size of the double room was small but for a weekend stay it's ok.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dimitra_ioa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOThessaloniki, Owner at Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Thessaloniki and for giving us feedback. We are happy that you found our location convenient but we are also sorry it seems we didn't quite meet or exceed your expectations.
We are a descent, fairly recently renovated 3* hotel offering standard services at the lowest possible rates. We try to keep up to date with continuous small changes within our premises (fitness room under construction, a la carte menu etc) and hope to better please you in a possible future visit of yours.
Again thank you for your time and valuable information! We remain at your disposal.

Kind regards

Evelyn Christopoulou
General Manager
evelyn@hotelolympia.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.6 mi away
Anatolia Hotels & Villas
Anatolia Hotels & Villas
#9 of 58 in Thessaloniki
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#17 of 58 in Thessaloniki
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#13 of 58 in Thessaloniki
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,002 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
736 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Address: 65 Olympou St, Thessaloniki 546 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#13 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range: £54 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia is a contemporary pleasing hotel with intellectual design, right in the heart of Thessaloniki, housed in a historic building that belongs to the same family since 1929. After the latest refurbishment and reconstruction, Hotel Olympia has become a boutique hotel with modern minimalist architecture offering quality services to guests who travel not only on business but also for leisure. Its ninety-seven friendly rooms (including superior and family rooms, one junior suite and one room for the physically challenged) which overlook at the Roman Ancient Forum all share the same design features and facilities like flat screens, parquet flooring, brand furniture and more. The relaxed-chic decoration throughout the lobby, Campari Bar, H2O Restaurant and the fully equipped Omikron Conference Hall combines two philosophies: Extreme functionality of high-tech furnishing and the warmth derived from the use of natural materials such as marble and wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing