We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard modern hotel”
Review of Hotel Olympia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Olympia
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Malmö
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good standard modern hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel has a modern and spacious feel to it. The room is not that large but quite adequate. A plus is that it has a small balcony where you can comfortably sit and have a drink or do some reading in the morning (it is really too hot from midday onwards in the direct sun in the middle of August). In my case, the balcony also offers a partial view of the forum nearby. All the staff have been friendly and helpful and speak good English. The desk in the room is tiny, so this is probably not the place for you if you intend to do a lot of work. But the wifi is good and the air conditioning cools down the room very effectively in 5–10 minutes. The water pressure however is unstable (6th floor) and quite often the hot water is just luke warm, if that. I actually took the bus from the airport to this hotel, it is a 10 minutes' walk (partly slightly uphill) from the bus stop at Aristotle Square and the trip costs 80 cent. I took a taxi from hotel to airport and the 30 minute journey costs 15 euro set price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank strakur74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    197
    59
    14
    2
See reviews for
69
160
42
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

5* quality with 3* prices. Located 15 mins. on foot from the coast it is in the center of everything and everywhere -- busses, taxis, taverns, museums, shopping, yet it's hidden away with absolute quiet when in your room. You don't hear anyone nor anything.

Our bathroom was a tad small if I had to make a "negative comment" but it didn't affect us at all. Service, people, food, were all excellent.

We stayed for 5 nights so the breakfast buffet (better than the standard) got a little tiring, but again it kept us though lunch.

Ms. Stella in reception made us feel at home from the moment we set foot till we left. We had such a great time that we've already made reservations for October....!

Room Tip: They offer a special full lunch/dinner menu for 12 Euros which is well worth it. Portions are big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good value for its price, nice rooms with modern furnishings. Good but modest open buffet breakfast (they had local "simit" and "menemen" which is a plus for TR visitors). Easy walking distance to attractions and city center( Aristotales Square). 10 min walking distance to Atatürk Museum.
Only drawback was the tiny bathroom. Although newly and modernly decorated the bathroom tiles were dirty .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berivana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

A good location, resonabile prices, breakfest was good. We found also parking place owned by the hotel. Very convenient position within the center of the city. I recomand for short stay as we did. Air conditioning was very helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Paraschiv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel offers a renovated lobby and rooms, stylishly designed with elegant appointments and graphics. Our room was a bit small, but when offered something bigger as we were checking in, we opted for the first room because of the view from our balcony--right over the Roman forum and theater. The bathroom had a whiff of the sewer, but I'm used to that on the Balkan peninsula. Breakfast was good with many choices and good coffee. And the front desk staff was knowledgeable and very helpful with suggestions for restaurants, bus routes, etc. They even forgive a night that I booked incorrectly, a rarity! Highly recommended place, in the central part of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the front of the building with a view over the forum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 47EllenCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore,Maine
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed in the hotel on our recent trip to Greece. We slept 3 in a room and the arrangements were fine. Room was comfortable, there is no real view and the streets are dirty. The lobby is nice as is the eating area, the staff were very helpful. Walked from the bus drop off and it was rather hard to find the hotel, I suggest take a taxi, we took the bus from the airport and it took over an hour to arrive at the stop and even then we got off at the wrong one, because we didn't understand Greek!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senseiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

new hote in central location in town, free wifi and plasma tv.
restaurant with set menu plates and nice breakfast.
good coise for all visiting in thess.
i would like to visit it again.
friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.6 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#14 of 58 in Thessaloniki
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#17 of 58 in Thessaloniki
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
#12 of 58 in Thessaloniki
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Property: Hotel Olympia
Address: 65 Olympou St, Thessaloniki 546 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#13 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia is a contemporary pleasing hotel with intellectual design, right in the heart of Thessaloniki, housed in a historic building that belongs to the same family since 1929. After the latest refurbishment and reconstruction, Hotel Olympia has become a boutique hotel with modern minimalist architecture offering quality services to guests who travel not only on business but also for leisure. Its ninety-seven friendly rooms (including superior and family rooms, one junior suite and one room for the physically challenged) which overlook at the Roman Ancient Forum all share the same design features and facilities like flat screens, parquet flooring, brand furniture and more. The relaxed-chic decoration throughout the lobby, Campari Bar, H2O Restaurant and the fully equipped Omikron Conference Hall combines two philosophies: Extreme functionality of high-tech furnishing and the warmth derived from the use of natural materials such as marble and wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing