We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Excellent hotel. Very neat very clean.Comfortable bedroom and bathroom .Very close to the city center and the port.Near the parking lot.Excellent breakfast.Very good service and friendly staff.
Great recommendation for this hotel.free wifi.fair price

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed here alone for several nights - the room was clean and comfortable and it had a large balcony (handy for hanging out your washing or just sitting watching the traffic chaos far below). The bathroom was a good size and the water invariably hot. Breakfast was good, with plenty of fresh fruit available. The hotel is handily situated for local bus services, for cafes, bars and shops, and for the harbour. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Down sides - fairly minor, e.g. no shampoo provided in the bathroom, poor TV reception for BBC World, and no table or chairs actually on the balcony - I had to move furniture out of the bedroom each time I wanted to sit out.

Room Tip: The higher the better - to avoid traffic noise and gain better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireGypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

we used this hotel as our base while travelling with a group. the room was spacious and very clean . Double glazing solved the problem of the hotel's location on a busy crossroads. Excellent location near to the sea and most of the tourist sites and shops.The hotel provided kosher food which was very good and in abundance! The staff were extremely nice and went out of their way to make our stay a good one. I would definitely go there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel is a really good value for money in a central location with public transport on the doorstep and many restaurants and bars within a 5 minute walk. Rooms are very clean, staff is nice and friendly. The only problem is street noise, but that is something they have no control over.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have used this hotel on several occasions for business trips. The staff is professional and helpful, and the rooms are generally clean and quite nice. There is an occasional misstep by the cleaning staff, by not cleaning the spiderwebs behind the vanity mirror in the room.
The breakfast buffet is quite acceptable and fresh, although not very imaginative.
The hotel is in the city center, and has a number of parking lots very near it, which is practical although the hotel does not have it's own parking nor garage.
My gripe with the hotel is the inconsistency of the room and bathroom size between rooms of same price - on one occasion i was given a room with had the smallest possible shower, while other times i got a fantastic room with a full size bath.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with number one or number two on each floor. Try to avoid the rooms which face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BozidarS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel looks very nice and the rooms are nice and clean (sheets and towels were changed every day). The bathroom is a bit small, but has a bathtub, which I have seen in 4*+ hotels in Greece.
The bed and pillows were very comfy, but didn't help us much: we had trouble sleeping because of the noise, never slept for more than 3 hours without some sort of interruption, whether it was from the loud music coming from a club nearby or motorcycle riders. We bought earplugs on our second day over there, but didn't help very much. This is not the hotel's fault, of course: if you want to get some rest I suggest booking a hotel that is not so close to the center town.
They served continental breakfast. The food was fresh, but there wasn't much variety and not much food. Breakfast was between 7-10, I used to get there before 9 and there wasn't much left. Also, they had bread available, but you had to slice it yourself (the thought of everyone touching the bead with bare hands was a turn off) and the knife that was availabe barely cut through it also becaruse the bread crust was hard. The fruits were not displayed individually, there was fruit salad in a large bowl. My advice is to book without breakfast, because there are so many places where you can eat nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 days at Astoria in full season. As a resume, good value for money, perfect location, clean and even a littlebit of modern. As minuses,i note the lack of parking and no balcony. The breakfast is ok. Overall Astoria is a good choice for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.4 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#8 of 58 in Thessaloniki
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
#29 of 58 in Thessaloniki
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#13 of 58 in Thessaloniki
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#14 of 58 in Thessaloniki
299 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
#11 of 58 in Thessaloniki
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Tsimiski & 9 Salaminos | Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki 546 26, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range: £49 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To discover the real Greece come to Thessaloniki, the crossroads of the Ancient and Byzantine worlds, the second largest city in Greece, and a jumping off point for sight seeing in both the Greek cultural and natural landscapes. Excellently situated in the heart of the city, the ASTORIA is ideal for access to the business district and stock exchange, the main shopping areas and the city's night life and cultural sites. Also close by is the quaint and traditional Ladadika (from the Greek word, Ladi, meaning oil). Here in the old days olives were brought and processed, and their fragrance, mixed with the appetizing aromas from the restaurants, still lingers in this picturesque area. The ASTORIA hotel, inspired by the Byzantine tradition of the city and the hospitality of that era, combines contemporary facilities with grace, and whether staying for business or pleasure it welcomes all its guests with courtesy, warmth and comfort. For 40 years this hotel serves the visitors of the city in a high performance of professionalism and warm hospitality. This year a major renovation took place and in August 2009, ASTORIA reopened its popular doors with a new face. All rooms of ASTORIA are designed in a simple but authentic form by F.P.Papadopoulos, the architect behind all P.A.P hotels, president of the firm. As he does in all the hotels of the Hospitality Family, he designed all furniture himself. The atmosphere is modern, balanced, the colors natural and the light is calm and tranquil. Additional to the typical rooms, there are 6 family rooms with two connecting rooms, and a living room as well as 8 spa suites that are added to the hotels capacity. Amongst its amenities are the restaurant that serves delicious Mediterranean cuisine with bio products from the company s own gardens in Halkidiki. The Culinary Art School of HOTELIA, the Hotel & Restaurant Management School of P.A.P Corp., Is highlighting with its up to date performances the daily hotels menu. There are three types of Breakfast at ASTORIA: Greek Breakfast, Continental with Bio products, Grab & Go. 24 Hours room service for good food late into the night, and up to date corporate facilities required by today's executives are provided in the hotel. The Astoria provides venues for successful meetings, with state of the art technical facilities, excellent service and a range of refreshments, covering coffee breaks, light snacks, lunch breaks with hot or cold buffet or formal receptions with specialties from the executive chef. Astoria's conference rooms can be modified according to the needs of each meeting and can hold from 20 to 200 people. For the effective organization of your conference you can rely on and entrust the ASTORIA's reservation office. For more information on the hotel and the services offered to people with special needs, please visit the Europe For All. Credit cards: we accept Visa, Euro card, Amex, MasterCard, JVC. ASTORIA Capacity: Total rooms: 97 Greek Tourist Board Category: Bst Class, 3 *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing