We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME location!!”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Ga
Level Contributor
152 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“AWESOME location!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

You really cannot beat the location! It is within close walking distance to the Aristotles Square, the White Tower, Statue of Alexander the Great, shops, public transportation, so many restaurants, the harbor and Ladadika nightlife neighborhood. The room I booked was a small, economy room and very sufficient for 2 people. The bed left much to be desired. Very flat, thin and stiff, it had fresh linen so it did the job to rest and get back to sightseeing. Had a view of a neighboring hotel, no complaints. The hotel was clean, friendly staff, great service, and even offered a simple, but nice & light Greek style breakfast. Also, it was nice that they offered free wi-fi. Depending on traffic, it's a quick ride from the Airport maybe 15 min or so. Perea beach is just on the other side of the airport, so it's possible in a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    222
    125
    48
    25
See reviews for
58
153
50
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Makedonia, Greece
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The location of the hotel is very central and I consider it as an excellent value for money solution when visiting Thessaloniki. Nearby there are plenty of nice restaurants with good food. Very friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Georgios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Clean hotel and rooms are decently sized. Is located a few blocks from the center of the city which i enjoyed because it provided a little getaway from the noise when you want a nap. The breakfast spread is big and loved waking up and enjoying Greek yogurt and Greek honey and fruits every morning. My only complaint is the pillows, I would recommend asking the front desk for a few extra.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBgirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

On the run between places, nice and close, simple hotel for a quick night sleep.
fast in and out checking and friendly helpful staff.
On the run in your work perfect place to stay at even if the location on map was totally wrong.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

we were in thessaloniki for a weekend in September and our room price was around 80 per night, which was pretty cheap for that time of year. the hotel is very modern and well furnished and clean. its in the city center, and has one of the best areas for dinner right around the corner from it. the breakfast was amazing! the staff was very helpful - overall it was pretty nice.
the street its located on is veryyy noisy, but you couldn't hear that much from inside ;)

Room Tip: choose one not facing the main road - it may help with the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brikena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were in Thess for the annual Tsiknopempti carnival. during this time of the year the town is very noisy, crowded and you can have a lot of fun !!!
We stayde a very big group of mor ethan 30 pax in the hotel and we have organized it by ourselves. The marketing lady Areti was very helpful, the reception staff were always there and ready to assist.

Very big rooms, nice view, especially on the upper floors. Of course it is a centrally located hotel and it is normal to be noisy but on the 5th, 5th and 7th floor you can sleep very good.

Big bathrooms!!! very nice. Clean. Only minus is that there was no light on the top of the room just the small lamps next to the bed.

Very comfortable double connecting rooms.

Will definitely go back :)

Room Tip: choose floor higher than 4th so there is no so much noise from the street. For friends and families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristalyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We chose this hotel for its price and close proximity to Ladadika, and we were not disappointed. It is a modern well furbished hotel in a great location - Ladadika with all its nightlife is just over the road. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, even looking things up online for us about the local area. The wi-fi in the rooms was intermittent - if we went into the corridor we could pick it up, but it faded as we went back into the room!

The room was very nice, but pretty dark as there were no overhead lights, just 2 lamps. The beds were hard, but I like this. The bathroom was nice and modern with a big shower, all in all we were very pleased. The only drawback was the noise - we were on the roadside and could hear traffic noise & music from the clubs until about 5am! This wasn't a big deal as we were in the clubs ourselves til 4am... and we chose the hotel for its location near the nightlife. If you want a good night's sleep, ask for a room on the back, but most downtown hotels in any city would have the same problem.

Overall it was a great one night stay and I would definitely go back. Maybe not ideal for a holiday with young children as it is not that type of hotel, but for a weekend city break in a great location at a great price you can't go wrong...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.4 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#19 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Greco Superior
Hotel El Greco Superior
#22 of 58 in Thessaloniki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
#36 of 58 in Thessaloniki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#6 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#13 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Tsimiski & 9 Salaminos | Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki 546 26, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To discover the real Greece come to Thessaloniki, the crossroads of the Ancient and Byzantine worlds, the second largest city in Greece, and a jumping off point for sight seeing in both the Greek cultural and natural landscapes. Excellently situated in the heart of the city, the ASTORIA is ideal for access to the business district and stock exchange, the main shopping areas and the city's night life and cultural sites. Also close by is the quaint and traditional Ladadika (from the Greek word, Ladi, meaning oil). Here in the old days olives were brought and processed, and their fragrance, mixed with the appetizing aromas from the restaurants, still lingers in this picturesque area. The ASTORIA hotel, inspired by the Byzantine tradition of the city and the hospitality of that era, combines contemporary facilities with grace, and whether staying for business or pleasure it welcomes all its guests with courtesy, warmth and comfort. For 40 years this hotel serves the visitors of the city in a high performance of professionalism and warm hospitality. This year a major renovation took place and in August 2009, ASTORIA reopened its popular doors with a new face. All rooms of ASTORIA are designed in a simple but authentic form by F.P.Papadopoulos, the architect behind all P.A.P hotels, president of the firm. As he does in all the hotels of the Hospitality Family, he designed all furniture himself. The atmosphere is modern, balanced, the colors natural and the light is calm and tranquil. Additional to the typical rooms, there are 6 family rooms with two connecting rooms, and a living room as well as 8 spa suites that are added to the hotels capacity. Amongst its amenities are the restaurant that serves delicious Mediterranean cuisine with bio products from the company s own gardens in Halkidiki. The Culinary Art School of HOTELIA, the Hotel & Restaurant Management School of P.A.P Corp., Is highlighting with its up to date performances the daily hotels menu. There are three types of Breakfast at ASTORIA: Greek Breakfast, Continental with Bio products, Grab & Go. 24 Hours room service for good food late into the night, and up to date corporate facilities required by today's executives are provided in the hotel. The Astoria provides venues for successful meetings, with state of the art technical facilities, excellent service and a range of refreshments, covering coffee breaks, light snacks, lunch breaks with hot or cold buffet or formal receptions with specialties from the executive chef. Astoria's conference rooms can be modified according to the needs of each meeting and can hold from 20 to 200 people. For the effective organization of your conference you can rely on and entrust the ASTORIA's reservation office. For more information on the hotel and the services offered to people with special needs, please visit the Europe For All. Credit cards: we accept Visa, Euro card, Amex, MasterCard, JVC. ASTORIA Capacity: Total rooms: 97 Greek Tourist Board Category: Bst Class, 3 *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing