We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astoria hotel
Nearby Hotels
Daios Luxury Living(Thessaloniki)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Met Hotel(Thessaloniki)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Makedonia Palace(Thessaloniki)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Excelsior(Thessaloniki)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bristol Hotel(Thessaloniki)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveller rating
228
270
161
59
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
270
161
59
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalue for moneykosher restaurantbusiness tripexcellent locationnight lifeclean roomshotel is greatladadika areawalking distancepleasant stayenjoyed my stayinternet connectioncentral locationsingle roompolite staffreception deskthe main street
Filter
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 748 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed three nights at Astoria. Our room was spacious and looked renovated (I think I have read somewhere that renovation was carried out something like 5-6 years ago). However some things were almost damaged, like the soap/shampoo holders in the bathroom that were ready to fall from the wall. And I must note that in addition they were EMPTY. I had to call the reception late in the afternoon to get someone fill them up. Cleanliness was not to the highest point possible, I could see hair from previous renters in the room. Also, some built up limescale and mould was present in the bathroom.

In the wardrobe there is a safe that you can use and a small refrigerator with refreshments at acceptable prices. Beds were ok but the bedsheets were somewhat worn. A couple of carpets on the bedsides needed a really good pass with a hoover.

There were 2 balconies to the room with a view to Salaminos street. There is noise coming up from vehicles moving in the streets but thanks to the good sound proofing you can barely be disturbed when the balcony doors are closed well.

Breakfast was poor I could say, no great variety nor quantity. It finishes 10:00 am but if you go later than 09:30 you risk finding there to eat just bread and some cereals with milk. I don't know why they don't add food for the people who come later than 09:30 and I have to stress that the waiters when having to deal with almost full capacity of the small restaurant, they were easily confused, forgetting things, FORGETTING PERSONS, and generally gave the impression being incapable to deal with and serve the residents. I advise you'd better not book Breakfast if you would arrive late every morning, but go instead opposite the road and get some freshly made crepes, pies, juices etc from the cafe or a fast service restaurant that is open early am till late.

The reception is just a small office in the lobby which is small again as regards to space with one person every time there to take care of things and I can say each time they were quite helpful.

The location is very good near Ladadika and near down town

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcapoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Hotel Astoria has an excellent location, close to the centre, sea side promenade street, all shops, tavernas and sightseeings; The staff of the hotel is very welcoming, nice, helpful, professional.
Rooms are clean and cosy.

Recommended for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms not looking to the main street are quiter
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 477Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed at Astoria for almost a week and it became to feel like home. The very helpful and friendly staff was always there to give directions about travelling in the city and the must visit places. The rooms very clean and neat and the cleaning crew was there every morning to change the sheets an towels and clean the rooms. The breakfast was nice and tasty and very positive waiters were there to bring you a cup of coffee or tea with a smile on their faces.
I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. It is also very comfortably situated with a walking distance to most of the sights in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ArmenuhiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphotels S, Manager at Astoria hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
The team of ASTORIA HOTEL THESSALONIKI
astoria@papcorp.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Astoria for 2 nights last week and I still regret it! We booked this hotel because our first choice was fully booked by the the time we were arranging our stay. Usually we don't even book hotels in Thessaloníki, we stay with friends but this time due to timing we went another way. We figured it would be a nice way to end our stay in Greece to book a junior suite in a nice enough hotel.

We were wrong! We arrived at the hotel around 12.30 and got to check in straight away, so far so good. We went up to our room, it was big enough but nothing special. Again so far it was fine, we weren't expecting anything fancy.

Then we started noticing that the walls were not very clean and could use a fresh coat of paint, the bedding and towels weren't very new but again we tried to look past it. The AC in the bedroom obviously had had problems in the past so that part of the ceiling looked pretty bad.

When we turned on the light/air evacuation in the bathroom it made a horrible loud sound which makes it impossible to enjoy a bath. Enjoying said bath was made harder due to the paper stuffed up in the bottom of the soap dispenser, it just looked dirty!

The AC in the bedroom also made very loud sounds but due to the heat outside we couldn't turn it off for too long. We figured we wouldn't be too annoying and just let it all pass. That was until it was time to go to sleep. We noticed that even after a shower our feet were very dirty from walking inside the room! At that point we were not very happy but it was late and we were tired, we arranged our pillows and that's when I noticed that the pillow cases were dirty, some had make-up stains on them, they hadn't been ironed and just looked old and worn. My guess is that they might not have been washed before we arrived!

That's when the pillows inside caught my eye! They were not only cheap and very bad quality but grey and dirty!!!! I'm not a clean freak, but this made me dress myself up again and go down to reception. We got replacements for 2 out of the 4 pillows and just gave up for the night.

The next afternoon after coming back to the room to rest up before we went out again we noticed water on the little table under the AC in the bedroom, making some of our things wet! The AC was leaking and had been for a while!

We changed rooms for the second night, but got a much darker room (two small windows instead of a big terrace, the only good point about the first room!) and a shower instead of a bathtub!

At this point we gave up, we stayed out late the last night, to spend as little time as needed in the room and checked out as soon as we could. It would have been nice to have gotten a small discount for all the problems but we didn't expect it and it didn't happen.

Avoid this place! The location may be nice, but if you value hygiëne at all, stay away!!!!! There were also no slippers, bathrobes or individual soaps in either of the rooms, only the pretty filthy looking soap dispensers....

Room Tip: Just don't!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphotels S, Manager at Astoria hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the cleaning of the room. We wanted to inform you that a major renovation of the ASTORIA took place in 2009 and since then all year around maintenance is undertaken in all rooms as our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable clean atmosphere.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to have you as a guest in our hotel again and that you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our hotel again. Please email me directly to astoria@papcorp.gr

With much appreciation,
Filipos Belios / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nicely refurbished, clean room, wi-fi works best just behind the room door. Check you have soap and towels when you get in. Sound proofing could be better. Staff were polite, we didn't get the room till 14.30, the cleaning crew is understaffed maybe. Good central location near Ladadika taverns and bars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BeJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews