We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in the center of Thessaloniki”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you need a good and cheap hotel (not luxury) in the center of Thessaloniki, with big and clean rooms, free parking and Wi-fi, and friendly and helpful employees, Hotel Orestias Kastorias can be a very good decision.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Orestias Kastorias
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

First of all the hotel is well located and everything is within walking distance.
All the staff were very friendly and helped us park our car in the reserved spaces free.
The hotel is very very clean, has free wi-fi and nice shower.
They provided coffee and tea 24 hours in the little TV room near lobby.
There is also a computer for the use of guests in the little TV room near reception.
Thoroughly recommended for short stays.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for one night before flying back to Berlin from Thessaloniki and it was a perfect stay. Right in the centre behind the Roman Agora, 10 mins walk to the sea front and 15 minutes walk to the Ladadakka area for bars and restaurants.
The staff at reception were very helpful and pleasant, and tea and coffee facilities are available 24/7 with biscuits, you just help yourself to as much as you want :)

The rooms are small and have a small balcony but practical and good value for the 46euros.
The hotel is well situated and only a very short walk if you take the bus either from the airport or the bus station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola_Coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hi.. I booked this hotel in advance and I stayed there for 1 week in the hot summers of July. I tell you why it deserves excellent.

1) Prime Location : You're in the center of Thessaloniki. 5 minutes walk to all the restaurants, clubs and market.
2) Clean Rooms : The rooms are so tidy and toilets are so clean with extra towels. The room service is at its best. The air conditioner works perfect in heat and television to watch too with a comfy bed. No disturbance!
3) Hospitable : I have met the owner, they are such loving and caring people. It was truly a privilege to see those friendly people. They helped me with the maps, places to see or giving me phone charger etc etc.
4) Reasonable Price : The hotel was better than some hotels I stayed in UK. The price was literally nothing compare to the area where I stayed. It is better to book in advance and you'll get nothing cheaper in price like this fantastic family hotel.

Well, I'm going back again in 2 months time to this hotel, Oretias Kastorias I'm coming!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShikebPITBULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A thoroughly pleasant place, with renovated rooms, new plumbing, and a great location. They even have a few parking spaces, which are almost impossible to find in the central city. The location just above the ancient Roman forum/agora is perfect too.
They don't serve breakfast but they have very good coffee and cookies available 24 hours a day. And a little coffee shop half a block away across from the Forum has coffee and a croissant for 1.5 euros.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a view of the Roman excavations.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Based on the reviews from TripAdv i booked a room at this hotel. When i arrived i found a cheap city motel with overestimated reviews. The building is old and the rooms are kind of renovated, just to look fresh. I booked a double room with balcony and they give me a poor twin with no balcony. So i just refused and leave and so i lose the prepay money. The staff was rude, unhelpfull and it was speaking just a basic english. I don't recomend this hotel...look for better choices

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in Orestias Kastorias for 1 night at the end of June and almost everything was great for the intended purpose of our stay (to visit again Thessaloniki rather then driving all the way to Athens in one day).
The location of the hotel is absolutelly perfect for visiting the ancient monuments of the city. (50M from Agios Dimitrios church). All the other major attractions (the Rotunda of Galerius, the triumfal arch of the same emperor, the Agia Sofia church, the White tower, the history museum) are within walking range from the hotel.
The parking spots of the hotel ( 3 in front of the bar, one in front of the hotel entrance) are a big plus if you travel by car.
The rooms are simple but comfortable and everything is clean. Many of them overlook the Roman forum.
As already mentioned by other reviews, the hotel doesn't offer breakfast, but this is reflected in the room rate. Also the lack of an elevator can be challenging for elderly guests.

Room Tip: Great view in the rooms overlooking the Roman forum
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Optimvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.7 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#16 of 58 in Thessaloniki
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
969 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orestias Kastorias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orestias Kastorias

Address: 14 Agnostou Stratioti, Thessaloniki 546 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Thessaloniki
#7 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#7 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range: £46 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Orestias Kastorias 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orestias Kastorias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orestias Castorias Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing