We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”
Review of Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tourist Hotel
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

With it's low prices, it worths some more actually. Because, this hotel was comfortable, had a good breakfast, a great location and kind, helpful staff also of course. The building was very beautiful with it's "old type elevator". You will take more than you pay i think, so don't hesitate to stay at that hotel if you expected only a clean and comfortable place to sleep. Even it has some more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midgard87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    139
    54
    12
    1
See reviews for
64
111
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I would highly recommend this Hotel. If folks want absolutely everything to be perfect then they should stay somewhere else and of course pay more! I found the quirks of the hotel not to be a big deal--this is an old charming property. I was in a single room, on the 3rd floor in the front, and cannot complain a bit about noise from either inside or outside--which is saying a lot given that I was there over a weekend when the bar across the street was very lively. And I'm a light sleeper but no problems. Yes, the bathroom is interesting but really how much time does one spend in the bathroom to make it an issue on a property? The location was fabulous, close to everything particularly the Ladadika area with great restaurants only two blocks away. Given the amazing price, great service, and its location I think it was an exceptional value. Breakfast was more than adequate, staff kept the food coming before it was depleted and good mix of protein and carbs. No fruit though, but there is a great store around the corner where you can get your own supplies (small fridge in room).

Room Tip: While others have noted the noise from the bar across the street, I didn't find it a problem. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CateHikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The room was a little noisy but this city never sleeps, right? The room was clean, staff was very friendly, and the location is perfect (downtown, extreamly near the airport bus station and the sea). So if you can choose this hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We are generally in agreement with other reviewers that this hotel works well for a budget accommodation right in the heart of the city. Only two blocks from the pedestrian promenade by the sea, a block from the bus stop, it couldn't have a better location. Room was quite small and a bit on the dingy side. Bathroom clean but had no place to hold the shower head. However, when we brought this to their attention, it was fixed the next day. Good service! The two brothers who mostly run the place are friendly and very helpful (an older man checked us in and he wasn't quite as friendly but no real problem). Breakfast is basic but fine, and is served in a lovely old dining room. Overall, the hotel building is quite historic and charming with its marble staircase, quaint elevator, etc. The rooms could use some updating, but then they might have to increase prices so it's good value as is. Even tho in a very busy location, the outside traffic noise is manageable by closing all the windows and turning on the fan. The only negative for us is that the doors and marble floors are very loud and echo, so we did wake up a lot with people coming and going. However, overall we felt that the owners are trying hard to offer a good, comfortable place to stay at a very decent price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great location, friendly stuff, very good value. However, rooms require some maintenance. Bathroom is tiny, the shower is missing a door and the beds are noisy and squicking. Overall good value and nice place to stay in the hurt of the city

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Wales
Level Contributor
291 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Bookings website said this was within 100yds of bus station unfortunately not the main long distance bus station which is about 5k away (€7 taxi) that said we got a fabulous welcome and the hotel is immaculate, old charm, high ceilings, lift out of an Agatha Christie novel. Brilliant. Good continental breakfast
30m from airport bus stop. I would stay there again without hesitation and probably will.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.0 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#13 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Greco Superior
Hotel El Greco Superior
#22 of 58 in Thessaloniki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
#10 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#6 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel

Property: Tourist Hotel
Address: 21 Mitropoleos, Thessaloniki 546 24, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Thessaloniki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "TOURIST" housed in one of the most historic and listed buildings in Thessaloniki, built in 1923. Located in heart of the city center, on the main street Metropoleos, one of the most important shopping, business and cultural arteries of our city, just 20 meters from the seaside of Thessaloniki and the famous Aristotelous Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing