We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”
Review of Makedonia Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Makedonia Palace
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for the second time for 3 nights due to a business trip.I e- mailed them asking a high floor sea view room , my request was half accepted and I got a5th floor city view room although I believe that the sea view room was possible..ok no hard feelings, the location is really good, the personnel of the hotel one more kind than the other , breakfast fresh good taste and variety, rooms big not new and I didn't really like the decoration but clean and fully equipped, I believe tha the rooms can be fantastic with a good renovation...Reccomended for sure..

Room Tip: High floor and if possible sea view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind input in relation to your stay here at our hotel, the Makedonia Palace!

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your visit and were satisfied with the majority of our facilities and services offered.

Your comments about your room allocation have been communicated to the Head of the respective department to pay attention to this issue for your next coming visit at the hotel.

Do hope we will have more opportunities in future to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
There are newer reviews for Makedonia Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

what's matter for me and not only for me in a hotel?location,cleanliness,friendliness.
this hotel have all plus.great service,amazing views,and most of all,for me at least,smiling faces.
so big thnxs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gasvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at Makedonia Palace.

Such lovely comments coming from an in-house guest are the biggest reward we could ask for.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Thessaloniki.

George Spyropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Location is very good and the view to the sea, if you have sea view room, is great. The service is very professional and willing. Dinning and breakfast has good choices and tastes great. A refurnishing could really make a difference, however if you also take into account the price is a great choice to stay in Thessaloniki.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, worths the price difference
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear guest,

We were satisfied to see that the general impression of your experience at Makedonia Palace was positive.

Your warm input about the location, the sea view room, dining and breakfast have been communicated to my team and we thank you for this.

Regarding your points for refurbishment have been taken into serious consideration for the upper future.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back here to the amazing city of Thessaloniki and in particular to our hotel, the Makedonia Palace, in the not distant future!

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed in hotel in November. It is nice hotel on seafront with good connection with public transport. Hotel is clean and tidy. Rooms are quite big and comfortable. Bed was great,, only pillows could be better. Staff was ok. Breakfast offers nice choice of warm and cold food with nice terace to sit on in morning. Lunch was average. I had a city view room which is quite loud with street traffic butthey have good AC. It takes some 20 minutes walk to city centre. Free WiFi was great.

Room Tip: If you can take seaview rooms due to street noise
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nibu1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear client,

We were satisfied to see that the general impression of your experience at Makedonia Palace was positive.

Your warm input about your room, the cleanliness, the professional staff and the Wifi which was great have been communicated to my team and we thank you for this.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back here to the amazing city of Thessaloniki and in particular to our hotel, the Makedonia Palace, in the not distant future!

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Hotel is a landmark in Thessaloniki. In the past I was dissapointed from the fact that service was poor, the personnel was indifferent, the place needed urgent renovation and the ratio: price/quality was far from being ideal.
I visited the hotel 3 times the last two months after the management switch. I have to say that the difference is huge! The service is almost perfect, smiling employees, very good food, very good prices. The new fish restaurant THYMARE is simply unforgettable and very reasonable price wise. The place is definitely my choice when it comes for Thessaloniki travel whether for fun or business. Bravo Mr. Ivan Savidis!

Room Tip: Upper floors, sea view, ideally on 8th floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank APOSTOLOS-RAPHAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at Makedonia Palace.

It was such a pleasure to read your comments and we were delighted to have been able to reach your expectations and make your stay an enjoyable one, without having anything common with the previous ones before the management switch.

I am personally delighted that you noticed that the difference is huge in comparison with the past, the service is almost perfect, you faced smiling staff, you were excited with the Thymare restaurant.

Look forward to welcoming you back here at the Makedonia Palace in the near future.

George Spyropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is an old hotel in need of complete renovation, which is unlikely to happen in the current economic climate. Fortunately, the really important things are all great: Hotel rooms are big and comfortable (though furniture and electronics belong in the nearby archaeology museum), the breakfast is rich and wonderful and location is pretty good - not in the noisy city center but a few minutes walk from there. It was well worth the money payed, just don't expect luxury.

Room Tip: I was given a corner room, that had a bug balcony with both city and sea views, pretty cool
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilan0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind input in relation to your stay here at our hotel, the Makedonia Palace!

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your visit and were satisfied with the majority of our facilities and services offered such as the big and comfortable rooms , the rich breakfast offered and the wonderful location itself.

It is also good to read that Makedonia Palace is value for money even it is a fact that it is not a newly built property.

Do hope, we will have more opportunities in future to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My first impression of our hotel room was disappointment, because as usual I headed for the bathroom to check for cleanliness and comfort. There were some cracks in the walls, the grouting was graying, and worst of all, the shower curtain and the towels were worn and had many threads hanging from the bottom. The room itself was spacious and comfortable but in need of some sprucing up. However, over our three night stay, the hotel grew on me. The staff was truly professional, courteous and very anxious to be helpful. The breakfast was a marvel to behold, table upon table of eggs, meats, pastries, breads, honeys, fruits, and so much more that I would go over 200 words. The location is a little far down the seaside esplanade, but that makes it quieter, and it is very close to two superior museums where we spent hours, the Archaeological and the Byzantine. Word is that the hotel has recently changed hands, is scheduled for more remodeling (the lobbies and breakfast area were in fine condition), and will only improve. In the meantime, why not replace the shower curtains and the towels to give a better first impression?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diiplo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent experience here.

We were concerned to note that you were not amazingly satisfied with your stay at the beginning , but over your three night stay , the Makedonia Palace grew on you with the professionalism of the hotel staff, the marvelous breakfast.

All your comments have been taken into consideration and reviewed with my colleagues in order to correct any shortcomings.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
2.3 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,477 reviews
1.2 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,119 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
679 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#21 of 58 in Thessaloniki
966 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
#10 of 58 in Thessaloniki
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makedonia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makedonia Palace

Address: 2 Leoforos Megalou Alexandrou, Thessaloniki 546 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#9 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range: £122 - £2,538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makedonia Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makedonia Palace: not just a luxury hotel.... a landmark. What makes a luxury hotel really stand out? Makedonia Palace offers 283 rooms and suites and redefines the meaning of luxury stay thanks to its"strategic" position. Right in front of the hotel, the redesigned seafront of Thessaloniki with the infinite view of the sea is the ideal destination for an afternoon walk. Just a few steps away stands the most significant monument and city landmark, the White Tower. And just five minutes away on foot, the city center of Thessaloniki invites you to discover it! A real paradise in the heart of the city. Experience hospitality at Makedonia Palace, the luxury hotel of Thessaloniki with the most heartfelt "Welcome"! Additional information: Makedonia Palace,is turning new page in its history! From the 15th of April, till the 31st of May the 8th Floor's Guestrooms will be upgraded and two more Floors, 7th & 6th ,will be upgraded between the 1st of July and the 31st of August. Our goal is to offer you a leading accommodation experience for your future visits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Makedonia Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makedonia Palace - Classical Hotel Thessaloniki
Hotel Makedonia Palace Classical
Macedonia Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing