We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great city hotel”
Review of Makedonia Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makedonia Palace
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Ioannina, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great city hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Makedonia Palace, which is located at the new waterfront (paralia). The new waterfornt is great for walk, biking and relax. Breakfast was nice, including freshly made traditional delicacies.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ioannis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay here at Makedonia Palace.

With pleasure we noted that you enjoyed our location and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    342
    92
    20
    10
See reviews for
160
249
44
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hi everyone, i returned back to this hotel for two nights , due to a business trip in Thessaloniki. No words can describe how good the hotel is and how much i recommend it. Best sea view in the town , best location , just 10 minutes walking on the sea front to the center of the town , very friendly and efficient personnel , all of them willing to help. One thing i can be skeptical about only, 15 euros for parking each night , ouch!! it is a bit expensive.
I will be back definitely.

Room Tip: Choose sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

We were satisfied to see that the general impression of your experience at Makedonia Palace was very positive.

Your warm input about the friendly and efficient hotel staff, and the hotel location were really appreciated.

Your comment about the parking have been communicated to the Head of the respective department to pay the necessary attention to this matter.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back here to the amazing city of Thessaloniki and in particular to our hotel, the Makedonia Palace, in the not distant future!

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel personal are so friendly it makes you fill at home , the reception staff are so helpfully and they will assist you on all the needs that you think of . ( many thanks to popi she is one of a kind ) .
The brake feast is exultant .
Lately the walk way along the bay was finished and it is possible to rent a bike and drive along the walk way .
The swimming pool area was upgraded with new bar and new sun beds.
If you in Thessaloniki this hotel give you the best value to your money .

Room Tip: You must get a sea view room .it make the difference when you waking up in the morning and when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

With pleasure we noted your input about your stay here at the Makedonia Palace.

We are glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit, the helpful staff, the upgraded swimming pool area and the bar, as well as services offered.

Many thanks for having chosen our hotel.

Hope we will have more opportunities in future to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Kind Regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We were there as a couple, and we had a great time.
The room is spacious, and you are well isolated from outside noise.
The staff is very kind, always smiling and ready to answer your needs.
Farniente at the swimming pool was particularly enjoyable, with a glass of espresso freddo. Prices in the range of the hotel's standard.
You have access to the seaside promenade, which recently opened.
Take a stroll with hundreds of locals at night, but be careful, there is a bike trail and they bike like crazy.
The hotel is conveniently located, 10 min walk away from the tower.
The breakfast is excellent - a splurge.
I recommend this place. It needs some rejuvenation, but it still holds together.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank icbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay here at Makedonia Palace.

It is a pleasure to see that your impression of the visit was positive and the hotel exceeded your expectations. We really appreciated your comments regarding our kind staff, our spacious rooms and of course the hotel location.

Regarding the hotel's renovation, we are currently working on the renovation plan of the hotel during 2015.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Makedonia Palace in the not distant future!

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great rooms with balconies with panoramic views of Aegean. Great buffet dining, pool, hair salon, and banquet facilities, with large glass doors opening to patio. Great wedding venue, in Thessaloniki!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your input regarding your recent stay here at the Makedonia Palace.

With pleasure we noted that you enjoyed your stay and all the facilities of our hotel.

Do look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future.

Kind regards,


George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Heard very mixed reviews about Greek hotels in general, but this hotel really was a nice 5* experience. The hotel was clean and sophisticated throughout, the rooms were comfortable and clean and very spacious. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and almost all spoke English.
The location too was great, being just far enough (5-10 minute walk) from the hustle and bustle of the town main seafront prom to be calm and secluded, but also easily walkable along the seafront to the town, sights, bars and restaurants if you need to. Nice that all the rear entrances/exits open directly onto the seafront as well, with great views of the bay from sea-view rooms. Very convenient 15 minute taxi ride from the airport, and just over an hour to the beach resorts of Halkidiki.
The restaurants and bars in the hotel itself were excellent, as was the service and friendliness at the hotels' outdoor pool, where any drinks and food could be ordered from the restaurant and enjoyed by the pool or at the attached bar and seating area.
Overall, a really pleasant stay in a very well appointed hotel with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Don't know what the front rooms were like, but the sea-view room we had was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeytnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your warm comments regarding your visit.

We are mostly pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your stay, the great location, the clean and comfortable rooms, and the friendly and helpul staff.

Your positive input will be communicated to all head of departments , which they will appreciate for sure!

Once again, many thanks.

Look forward to welcoming you back here at the Makedonia Palace in the near future.

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Good services, smiling faces and professionals are there. I love this.
Receptionists were helpfull, they did not try to help, they helped guests whenever you asked a question.
Makedonia Palace has a wonderful panoramic view to Agean Sea.
I really love it. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your input regarding your recent stay here at the Makedonia Palace.

With pleasure we noted that you enjoyed your visit, and we thank you for your nice comments regarding our smiling faces and the wonderful panoramic view.

Do look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thessaloniki
0.8 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.2 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#19 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Nikopolis Thessaloniki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makedonia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makedonia Palace

Property: Makedonia Palace
Address: 2, M Alexandrou Ave, Thessaloniki 546 40, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#9 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Makedonia Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makedonia Palace: not just a luxury hotel.... a landmark. What makes a luxury hotel really stand out? Makedonia Palace offers 283 rooms and suites and redefines the meaning of luxury stay thanks to its"strategic" position. Right in front of the hotel, the redesigned seafront of Thessaloniki with the infinite view of the sea is the ideal destination for an afternoon walk. Just a few steps away stands the most significant monument and city landmark, the White Tower. And just five minutes away on foot, the city center of Thessaloniki invites you to discover it! A real paradise in the heart of the city. Experience hospitality at Makedonia Palace, the luxury hotel of Thessaloniki with the most heartfelt "Welcome"! Additional information: Makedonia Palace,is turning new page in its history! From the 15th of April, till the 31st of May the 8th Floor's Guestrooms will be upgraded and two more Floors, 7th & 6th ,will be upgraded between the 1st of July and the 31st of August. Our goal is to offer you a leading accommodation experience for your future visits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makedonia Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makedonia Palace - Classical Hotel Thessaloniki
Hotel Makedonia Palace Classical
Macedonia Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing