We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greeat!”
Review of Insectopia - CLOSED

Insectopia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Insectopia will be closed temporarily from 19th of January 2015. Insectopia is a unique exhibition of its kind. It is the biggest and more complete private collection of ant colonies in Europe. The exhibition has been running in the city of Thessaloniki since September 2010 and has been visited from more than 50.000 People. The collection of live specimens consists of ants, mantis, beetles, arachnids, scorpions, phasmids, butterflies, amphibians and reptiles. More than 100 exhibits to see and get to know from all over the world. A true educational and fun experience for all ages. Opening hours: for opening hours please take a look on our official website.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Greeat!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

It took a while to find it, hotel staff and taxi drivers didn't seem to know what it was (note: show the address to the taxi or catch the bus), but so glad I went. You can be up and close and personal with a wide range of interesting insects and animals, much more interactive than a zoo. I particularly liked the microscope - you can microscope insects up close which is amazing. I'm a big kid so I think that kids would love it! Recommend it if you're interested in nature

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    17
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pitesti, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tarantula :)”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I love the place and Christos and Savvas are really cool guides. They take you in a room full of butterflies. Some of them are mating. you gotta love the place
Worth seeing it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank PaulAntonescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful time here! A must see in thessaloniki”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Insectopia is an amazing way to spend your day! The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, there is a lot to see! On Sunday they feed the snakes, and that was very interesting! The butterfly room is magical, and being allowed to hold the lizards and insects is a unique experience.

Helpful?
7 Thank ecoju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The butterfly room is a must-see!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The place is a bit off the grid, but if you like science and nature, I think it's well worth a visit. I really loved the newts, the microscope where you can look at insect parts and the amazing butterfly room.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank akaschuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannina, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“amazing exhibition...”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

you should visit it,because all these creatures are so cute...also the people who work over there are very friendly

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank George b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Insectopia also viewed

Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing