We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Location was good, the rooms were great and the staff are one of the best we've ever come across. They were amazing - very helpful and friendly and we really appreciate their efforts. Had a great time and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenxin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivana M, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on Trip Advisor!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest.

We are pleased to know that you had a great stay with us and that you liked our location, our rooms as well as our staff.

We will be happy to welcome you back soon! Please, feel free to contact us directly for your future reservations.

With kind regards,


Ivana Moracevic
Guest Relations Manager
Philian Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    138
    95
    35
    25
See reviews for
67
186
19
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This is what excited me the most. Staff was the best i have ever seen in all hotels i have visit. Very kind, very friendly, very helpful and the most off all working day night hard. The thing that i didn't like was the room cause it is old, it smells a bit and also the water in bathroom has limit time hot water. Anyway for what you pay i think is fair enough. I would definitely visit this hotel again because of the staff and location but i will book in suits though. Location in 1 minute walking to all restaurants and also from the central avenue Tsimiski

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Blackys46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivana M, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Plaza Hotel for your recent stay in Thessaloniki!

We are very proud to hear that our team made you enjoy your visit in our city, our goal is to see the smile on each guest's face.

We are very sorry because you had that kind of inconvenience, but the truth is that on that day we really had a problem with hot water for a couple of hours.

As you mentioned in your review, our Hotel offers different types of rooms, such as standard, deluxe rooms and beautiful renovated suites in very good price.

Next time please feel free to contact our reservation department in order to book a room that will suit you 100%!

Once again thank you very much for visiting us and for your kindest words.

We really look forward to welcoming you back!


With kind regards,

Ivana Moracevic
Guest Relations Manager
Plaza Hotel
Phillian Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Great accommodation, lovely rooms and best staff.
Extremely customer focused.
I have very positive interaction with them. There is no difference between guests, family with kids, businessmans, couples or single guest all have same treatment.
Very efficient and reliable service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivana M, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Tasqe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Plaza Hotel on Trip Advisor!

We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and we are very proud as well that you mentioned that our staff is "extremely customer focused".

We will keep doing our best to provide "reliable services" to our guests and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

With kind regards,


Ivana Moracevic
Guest Relations Manager
Plaza Hotel
Philian Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I paid 45 euros per night and for that price the hotel is great.
I got a twin room (booked a single room) on 6th floor close to the elevator. I did hear the elevator but it was not very disturbing.

The room was big enough and practical. It had laminate flooring, no carpet. Loved it.

Bathroom was big enough and with a bath. Ventilation in the bath room was not so good and the isolation neither. But it was in general clean and the shower worked fine and there was always hot water.

Breakfast was nice, enough to choose from. Coffee was tasty.

The staff was very friendly.

Only negative thing was the noise - hotel is situated in Ladadika area, a lot of cafes and night clubs are close by. But we should have checked it beforehand. The room was too hot to sleep with the window closed and the climate system made too much noise to switch it on. So I slept with the window open with earplugs in and it was fine. I slept better than I expected.

Location was close enought to the city centre and very close to the harbour.

The bed was great! Mattress was just perfect, not too soft not too hard. Pillows the same :)

Room Tip: I only saw one room but my room on 6th floor had a laminate floor (no carpet). Room 601 is too close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivana M, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Ingerit,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our Plaza Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we offered you comfortable stay and that you found our rooms clean and spacious.

Very special thank you for mentioning that our mattresses and pillows are "perfect".

It is very important for us to make our guests feel like home, and we are glad that you enjoyed our plentiful home made breakfast and tasty coffee.

Also, good to know that you liked our location close to all the shops, beautiful seafront of Thessaloniki and harbour.

We look forward to welcoming you back!


With kind regards,

Ivana Moracevic
Guest Relations Manager
Plaza Hotel
Phillian Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We went there in November 2013 for 4 days. Its value for money, the breakfast is good , although a bit noisy because of the area, ladadika, it has great location and because we went out until late we didnt mind. Some of our rooms were renewed some were not but either way because they were big and clean we didnt mind at all. What made the difference was the staff that was always smiley , friendly , gave us tips where to go, where to eat etc. The girls there in the reception are amazing! Bravo plaza hotel !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marialovesrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

So to start off im gonna say what you pay is what you get. But dont mislead customers with a good photographer and some photoshop. The staff was great, very friendly. Upon arrival theyask me if i wanted to upgrade my room with some additional charge and i accept it.. i said im gonna stay for one night im gonna make it count. I went in room 702 if i remember nothing like the pics that i saw in the website. The balcony doors i think they were never cleaned since they open the hotel.. the "jacuzzi" was so dirty i didnt want to have a shower.. but to top it all at night when i went for sleep the ac was making a noise like a bouldozer and every 5 mins i was hearing a dripping sound.. i manage to sleep by 4 o clock.. so dont get excited with what you see in pics better pay something more if you want to be sure that you wil enjoy your stay..

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Demos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thessaloniki
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The reason why we chose this hotel out of all the other choices was that it looked really promising on their site and on booking. What we found though was very different from what was shown on the site. It is not that this hotel is entirely bad, it is just that the guest is misled through the presentation on-line. It trully is really a mediocre, 3 or perhaps even 2 star hotel, nothing more.

The building where our room was is separate from the building where the reception and the restaurant is, so you should know that in order to go to the reception or take your breakfast you must go to a different building nearby. We did not know that.
The internet connection was NON EXISTENT in the room. In the reception and restaurant area it was ok, but there was not an internet connection in our room. When I mentioned it to the staff, they told me that everything looked normal.. But, we had two laptops, one tablet and two smartphones and none could connect, so it was definitely not a coincidence. Had we known that, we would have chosen a different hotel, because both my husband and I had to work over the internet, so you can imagine our discomfort.
The rooms ARE NOT AT ALL soundproof... You do not want to know what sound from the next room awoke us at 6 am two days in a row.... And it went on for quite some time, so that meant that we were wide awake at 6 am (not willingly).. I believe that a soundproof room is not a luxury, nor too much to ask for.

The facilities of the hotel overall are really really mediocre, with very poor furniture and decoration, not modern at all. What really angers me is that what you see once you get at the hotel is BY NO CHANCE what you see on the site.. This is deceit to me. And it angers me. I don't mind choosing a cheaper hotel, but I do mind being deceived.

The staff however is really nice, smiling and polite and really willing to assist you. Also, the breakfast itself was not bad at all, on the contrary. And the room was better decorated than the rest of the hotel. But overall, we were not at all satisfied with it. We travel to Thessaloniki on business monthly, but we are definitely not staying at the plaza again.

We also chose an offer which included a free meal.... DO NOT do it. What was offered was so poor that it made you feel like a beggar, honestly. It actually made me feel bad. You could choose one of two basic, poor salads and one of three dishes (one of which was spaghetti with red sauce....). My husband didn't even bother taking his own meal..

If you choose this hotel nonetheless, just keep in mind that it is really really mediocre. So just be prepared.

Room Tip: The rooms are in a different building than the one where the reception and the restaurant is, so ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#14 of 58 in Thessaloniki
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Palace Art Hotel
Le Palace Art Hotel
#18 of 58 in Thessaloniki
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#19 of 58 in Thessaloniki
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#10 of 58 in Thessaloniki
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#6 of 58 in Thessaloniki
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Greco Superior
Hotel El Greco Superior
#22 of 58 in Thessaloniki
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: Paggeou 5 Ladadika, Thessaloniki 546 25, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza Art Hotel is situated at the most beautiful traditional area of Thessaloniki - Ladadika, at the center of the city, where the city`s heart beats. The elegant and classic line of Plaza Art Hotel distinguishes among other neo-classical buildings of the area, only 20 meters away from the harbor and right next to Aristotelous Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Art Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing