We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy to see why this hotel rates so well” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Greco Superior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Greco Superior
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Easy to see why this hotel rates so well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly, helpful staff, walking distance to everything you need/want, good strong free wifi, clean room and bathroom, air con that works, and a good breakfast. Downside is the noise. We were at the back, so no noise from the road, but were woken frequently by inconsiderate fellow guests returning to their rooms at all hours and carrying on loud conversations in the stairwell and corridors. Despite this, El Greco is great value for money, a budget hotel that doesn't treat you like a budget customer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank moroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    216
    115
    33
    15
See reviews for
83
171
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Pros: The location, the friendly and helpful staff, free wi fi and of course the breakfast.
Cons: I don't really think it I could be specific about anything in particular. Maybe a bit of makeover but all hotels are feeling the economic situation.
The location was very good, a 5-10 minute walk to the city centre, a short bus trip to the white tower & museums & close to some beautiful churches.
If you are looking for a comfortable, clean place to stay take at look at this one. I had a single room and was very surprised how big it was. The bathroom was small but most hotels in Greece are the same. The hotel staff were wonderful and went out of their way to please. Nothing was a problem. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection of food, even sweets. The hotel is located on one of the main roads with lots of places to eat and shop as you head in towards the centre. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to travellers of all types, single, couples and families. I also felt quite safe being on my own.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room in a quiet part of the hotel, possibly away from the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katerina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The other reviews have highlighted quite correctly the disadvantages of the El Greco. I agree with most of the criticisms.
There are some of the advantages to the El Greco and these are closeness to the railway station, close to the city centre and many of the restaurants and bars, plentiful breakfast, relatively inexpensive , and relatively clean.
We did not mind the traffic noise too much. We had a front room on the seventh floor with a view towards the sea but of course no sea views, the window was sound proofed. I was glad we had a view and one day it was interesting to watch people in their cars celebrating the local football teams win over their arch enemies

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolphin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is in the center of Thessalonik, on a verry busy street. The location is ok, but the noise is the real problem, inspite the fact that our room was at the 8th floor.
The bathroom is verry small but clean.
Overall a good value for monney and a good journey to a vivid town.

Room Tip: If it is possible, ask a room not facing the Egnatia street, in order to sleep properly :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ionutbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Despite the very good and convenient location, the hotel is not worth 100 euros or more per night. It would be ideal for those whose height is under 1,76cm because i am 1,78 tall and i was sleeping every night with my feet out of the bed... Also, there was a plastic curtain in the shower which was stuck on our body whilst showering.. TV's signal very bad... The stuff helpful and very kind. ..There is no adequate space for 3 people in a triple room.

Room Tip: I wouldn't make a reservation for more than 85 euros per night. Look for any offers available in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sokratis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel is in the center of Thessaloniki. We had room at 6th floor looking at the main street, but our friends got the opposite one, with wall view... The room was clean, but a little dark for my taste with a very small bathroom.
The breakfast was average. Could be much better.
Stuff is ok and very polite.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatasaK631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Old, budget hotel, depressive lobby, very dark rooms. 24 hour free, non-stop noise from Egnatia street. Very convenient, central location, lots of tavernas and places of interest nearby.

Nice staff. Everything you ask they will find a way to do it. Nice touch with the traditional buns cart in the breakfast room.

Invest some time for prayers before you come, to minimize the probability of having a school staying in the hotel at the same time as you. There is not adequate sound isolation.

Surprisingly good wifi.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank zuiveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thessaloniki
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
Holiday Inn Thessaloniki
#37 of 60 in Thessaloniki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#17 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
6.4 mi away
Galaxy Design Hotel
Galaxy Design Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oraiokastro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#19 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#23 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Egnatia Hotel
Egnatia Hotel
#26 of 60 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Greco Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Greco Superior

Property: Hotel El Greco Superior
Address: Egnatia Street 23 | Downtown, Thessaloniki 54630 , Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Greco Superior 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Thessaloniki El Greco enjoying an ideal location right in the Thessaloniki City Centre, just a 5-minute walk from Aristotelous Square, offers comfortable and quality accommodation along with free internet wi-fi access and excellent public transport links. Each room of Hotel Thessaloniki El Greco is decorated in warm colours and well-appointed with satellite TV and a fridge for chilling drinks and snacks. We provide you with free high speed wireless internet access in every space of or hotel, in order to be able to stay in touch with your work or friends. Enjoy a great start to the day with a rich buffet breakfast in Hotel Thessaloniki El Greco's restaurant. Take a leisurely stroll to Thessaloniki's museums and its main square, Aristotelous Square. If you visit Thessaloniki on business, the Thessaloniki International Exhibition Centre, where Thessaloniki International Fair by Helexpo S.A. Happens every year, is just a 5-minute drive from El Greco. Hotel Thessaloniki El Greco with its great location allows you to be within walking distance of every Thessaloniki's main attraction, such as Ladadika, Aristotelous Square, Saint Dimitrius Church, Galerius Arch and of course the infamous Thessaloniki White Tower.Furthermore, El Greco Thessaloniki Hotel is just 5 minutes away from the railway station and the port and a 20-minute drive to the Thessaloniki airport Makedonia (SKG).Consequently, El Greco is considered to be the ideal choice from Thessaloniki Hotels because it provides you with easy and quick access to everything around the city and offers you quality accommodation along with excellent services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Greco Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing