We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luxembourg
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Reviewed 30 September 2013

great location, nice historic building. The staff is really great and helpfull. the guys at the reception desk is trying to help everybody WHO is new to the place. I had good recommendations for restaurants and bars.
The location of the hotel is really great, it is in the center and close to everything. The Money you pay si worth for it. ı had a very nice three days in greece, thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Luxembourg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is really well located for both the seafront promenade and the numerous excellent bars and restaurants that are situated around the city centre. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, tidy, reasonably sized and well priced when you consider the location. We drove down from Macedonia and the hotel was easy to find. The were some great bars and restaurants literally across the road. The walk along the promenade to the old Tower was fabulous, the temperature in September was a lovely 80 degrees so happy to have air on in the hotel rooms. Breakfast was ok a few hot dishes but mostly a continental buffet, try and avoid busy times as the dining area is quite small.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights there and added a 4th one. The stuff here was exceptionally friendly. The rooms were spacious. But the best part was the location of the hotel. It is close to the Aristotelos plaza, but also to Ladadikia area where there are a number of excellent restaurants. We would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling, including families like us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 342TravelBug1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel was in a very good location (2 minutes from Aristotelous and 30 seconds from the seaside road on foot) lLadadika was very close and all the shops. The staff was very good and polite. Rooms: because we were a group, i visited diffirent rooms from other kids when we arrived, some rooms had a weird smell so as mine did and i asked the kids if it smelled like that by the time they walked inside the room and they said yes. The sheets were very clean, the bathroom was very small and when another room from a higher level flushed the toilet the pipes made a very weird noise that woke you up (room 206). When we used the elevator one of the inside doors didn't close. The breakfast was fair, it didn't have a lot of food to choose from. In general i would recommend this hotel if you want to stay a lot of hours outside the hotel. I think they need some work to do so it can be a perfect hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Konstantinos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A good choice for a few nights in this city. Superbly located: the main square is the next street, the seafront at the end of it (50 metres away) and the restaurants in the old port area less than 5 mins walk away. Rooms are clean, reception staff are very friendly and welcoming and happy to help with local advice. Minor gripe was the limited breakfast but given the plethora of nearby eating options this isn't a major gripe. Great prices too - 65 euros a night for a double in this location is a steal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timabdelhadytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I fly in and out of Thessaloniki about twice a year. Because of early morning departing flights, I usually spend the night at Hotel Luxembourg my last night in Greece. The hotel is very convenient to the train station (about 5 euro taxi ride) and just a little further from the bus station. The hotel is clean and efficient with helpful courteous staff. There is free wi-fi with a good signal and there is one computer you can use with a printer where you can print your boarding passes-- or for whatever else you might need a printer. I always have to leave before the official start of breakfast, but if you tell them the night before, they will always prepare something early for you. One reason I really like this hotel is because it is centrally located, yet quiet enough. You can walk to several nice restaurants or coffee shops just steps from the hotel. I would give this hotel 4.5 stars. Depending on the season I pay 60-72 euros for a double room and about 40 for a single.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quite side of the street. The higher up you are the less street noise you wil...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wishflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotel is nice in general terms. The location is perfect... just in the spot of action... Everything interesting is around the hotel (shops, restaurants, port, white tower). However balcony is a bit dangerous, as there is also a small step when opening the balcony door to get out and the fence are really really low (this needs to be taken into consideration by the hotel as many reviewers here are complaining for the balconies), also at nights there was a couple shouting at 2-3 o'clock in the morning on a nearby room and we could hear every single word. However, if you want to be in the center of Thessaloniki and avoid metro stations, trains, taxis and vehicles in general, then this hotel is the best choice. I would stay again if going back to Thessaloniki.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marios25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Palace Art Hotel
Le Palace Art Hotel
#19 of 58 in Thessaloniki
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#14 of 58 in Thessaloniki
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#11 of 58 in Thessaloniki
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#9 of 58 in Thessaloniki
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#1 of 58 in Thessaloniki
714 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andromeda Thessaloniki
Andromeda Thessaloniki
#30 of 58 in Thessaloniki
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxembourg

Address: 6 Komninon, Thessaloniki 546 24, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range: £56 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luxembourg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxembourg Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing