We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff, but rooms leave much to be desired”
Review of Hotel Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Luxembourg
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, but rooms leave much to be desired”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel during a business trip , and all the staff we encountered in this hotel was very friendly and always helpful. However, this could not compensate the poor quality of the room. The bed was very basic and the bathroom alike. One could hear every door that was closed on the hallway as the room was poorly insulated. It was OK for the two nights we stayed, but I would not want to stay any longer in this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank bpo-spam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    84
    65
    15
    10
See reviews for
31
54
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel was full, so it was a bit crushed at breakfast. Rooms are ok, but the shower in the bathroom is far too small. Needs a bit of an upgrade, I would say. Great location, though. I used the wi-fi, which was adequate for my purposes.

Room Tip: Try to get a room out the front, I heard it's noisy at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NNInglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

the sunny side:
friendly and helpful personnel, excellent location in the heart of the city, free wifi (did not check speed though), average breakfast with some pleasant hints of differentiation (e.g pieces of pizza)

the dark side:
A smell of mould/sewage in the whole floor and in the room
Poor selection of toiletries and of low (or at least questionable) quality
Shower too small and curtain ineffective, after use whole bathroom was flooded and I'm not that big.
Charging of 3 Euros per pair of paper slippers (similar hotels provide those directly in room or with no charge)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

great location, nice historic building. The staff is really great and helpfull. the guys at the reception desk is trying to help everybody WHO is new to the place. I had good recommendations for restaurants and bars.
The location of the hotel is really great, it is in the center and close to everything. The Money you pay si worth for it. ı had a very nice three days in greece, thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is really well located for both the seafront promenade and the numerous excellent bars and restaurants that are situated around the city centre. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, tidy, reasonably sized and well priced when you consider the location. We drove down from Macedonia and the hotel was easy to find. The were some great bars and restaurants literally across the road. The walk along the promenade to the old Tower was fabulous, the temperature in September was a lovely 80 degrees so happy to have air on in the hotel rooms. Breakfast was ok a few hot dishes but mostly a continental buffet, try and avoid busy times as the dining area is quite small.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights there and added a 4th one. The stuff here was exceptionally friendly. The rooms were spacious. But the best part was the location of the hotel. It is close to the Aristotelos plaza, but also to Ladadikia area where there are a number of excellent restaurants. We would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling, including families like us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 342TravelBug1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a very good location (2 minutes from Aristotelous and 30 seconds from the seaside road on foot) lLadadika was very close and all the shops. The staff was very good and polite. Rooms: because we were a group, i visited diffirent rooms from other kids when we arrived, some rooms had a weird smell so as mine did and i asked the kids if it smelled like that by the time they walked inside the room and they said yes. The sheets were very clean, the bathroom was very small and when another room from a higher level flushed the toilet the pipes made a very weird noise that woke you up (room 206). When we used the elevator one of the inside doors didn't close. The breakfast was fair, it didn't have a lot of food to choose from. In general i would recommend this hotel if you want to stay a lot of hours outside the hotel. I think they need some work to do so it can be a perfect hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.0 mi away
City Hotel Thessaloniki
City Hotel Thessaloniki
#12 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Palace Art Hotel
Le Palace Art Hotel
#18 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#9 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#8 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andromeda Thessaloniki
Andromeda Thessaloniki
#29 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
Electra Palace Thessaloniki
#4 of 58 in Thessaloniki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Luxembourg
Address: 6 Komninon, Thessaloniki 546 24, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luxembourg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxembourg Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing