We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing again !”
Review of Porto Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Porto Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
286 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Dissapointing again !”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It was the second time we visited the specific hotel, so we decided to give it a second chance.
Unfortunately, the result was very dissapointing:
Too expensive, too far away form the city centre, nothing special to be mentioned, apart from the fact that the hotel is clean and quiet.
It is not very comfortable if you want to go on a walk to the city centre, and the lowest price for a coffee was 5 euros, which is tottally unacceptable !!
All these added to the fact that the price for a single room was 90 euros, make this hotel NOT a recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touristas97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Palace H, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for the time dedicated to submit your feedback on your stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. However, I would have to argue that the hotel is far from the city center, as it is located only 2 kms away and the transportation is very dense and easy to use, if you don't want to move your car.
Additionally, the price you mentioned is a seasonal offer and I am sorry to hear that you did not receive the value expected. However I cannot stop wondering how you chose a property you did not like in the first place again. As you have stayed in Porto Palace Hotel again in the past and apparently you did not find it of your liking, I do not understand why you chose it again.
Finally, we should be looking at different price lists, or you are mistaking our hotel for another one, as all the coffees served in the main bar are priced below 5.00€, which is very reasonable for five star hotel.
We remain at your disposal,
Sincerely,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    187
    74
    28
    13
See reviews for
52
83
19
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here for 4 days with my family. We were impressed by the hotell: very big rooms (we had an appartment), with huge beds, very good quality of the matresses and pillows. The breakfast was the best i've had in all the 5 stars hotels i've been previousely. I don't eat meat and I had a lot of chioces. You have to experience it so that you can undrstand what I am saying. I had also some complaints: there were some constructions/redecorating in the hotel - the smell on the hallway was awfull, the noise started with 8 o clock in the morning - this is unacceptable for me! There is someting else sttrange and people that have a light sleep can't accept this - the noise from the other rooms/hallway - is like there are no walls between you! You can hear the buzz of th neighbour's phone in his room!
there is no hanger anywher in the room!
The view is awful!
i have expcted to have a pool, but there were none.
i liked it overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Palace H, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Porto Palace Hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear from satisfied guests.
We have asked for the customers' understanding while the manufacturing works are in progress. We do understand that it can be disturbing, but at your next visit you will have the chance to enjoy our gym facilities as well as the refreshing area on the building roof top.
Looking forward to welcoming you at Porto Palace Hotel again,
Kind regards,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voula, Greece
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent service, the personnel was very friendly, polite, and proffesionals. Althougth this hotel is a re design of an old factory, the final result is an excellent architect concept. For this reason we must ignore some minor problems resulted, such us that the toilette in our room had almost no space for the knees when seated. It was minimal designed, very clean and they serve a complete breakfast at a very good food quality. The only issue of this nice hotel is the location, which is not far away from the centre but also it is not also close. Someone needs a taxi which is at 3-5 Euro cost.

Room Tip: Ask for buisness class rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagpol56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Palace H, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback and the time dedicated to write a review on your stay with us.
We will be more than happy to have the chance to welcome you to Porto Palace Hotel again in the near future,
Kind regards,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We held my sister's wedding on the roof of the hotel and the whole experience, from the impeccable food, to the extremely helpful stuff and the hip and urban view, was amazing! A lot of our guest were from abroad, and enjoyed their stay there as well. All in all, I suggest it with all my heart!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Palace H, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for the time dedicated to write your impressions of our hotel.
It is a pleasure to receive positive input on the services offered. It gives us strength to keep up with the hard effort.
We will be glad to serve you again,
Sincerely,
Konstantina Mamada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Spent 5 days in the hotel. It's not in the centre- but there is a huge parking. The people, who have tried to park in the centre of Thessaloniki would appreciate this very much. For those who travel without car- there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel (about 7-8 minute), and the price of taxi is reasonable - about 3 Euro.

The breakfast is just excellent- great choice for everyone, fresh products, nice service- as it should be in a 5-star hotel.

The room was spacious, the Internet- fast enough (which is not valid for all the hotels in Greece, even for the 5-star).

The stuff is very helpful and polite.

Generally- excellent choice! I recommend it to everyone, an I surtainly will visit again when I go to Thessaloniki for business.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Palace H, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for the kind words and the time taken to write your impressions of your stay at our hotel.
Receiving such good feedback makes us work even harder to meet our customers' high standards.
We look forward to welcoming you in Porto Palace Hotel again during your next stay in town,
Kind regards,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have visited Porto Palace for 5 days between 12-17/2/2014. The personnel was very helpful and there are a number of facilities. The only drawback is the distance from the center as there is not much on walking distance. Other than that a great hotel option and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndisAme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Palace H, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for the positive feedback and the time dedicated to write a review of your stay at Porto Palace Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to hear of satisfied guests.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again when your travel plans bring you back in Thessaloniki,
Kind regards,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel
The welcome entrance is amazing ,the price it was nice for 5star hotel , also the breakfast was one of the best , the rooms ......was clean , the tv from the rooms was old but with many chanels !!! Any way I recoment it because the price was nc and near at the town with.... Interesting shops near the hotel also the Internet was fast. !!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kostas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Palace H, General Manager at Porto Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your kind words and the time taken to write a review of your stay in Porto Palace Hotel.
It is a pleasure to hear from satisfied customers, as it gives us courage to keep trying even harder to meet their needs.
We will be delighted to have the chance to welcome you to our hotel during your next stay in Thessaloniki.
Kind regards,
Konstantina Mamada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.6 mi away
The Met Hotel
The Met Hotel
#3 of 58 in Thessaloniki
1,397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#19 of 58 in Thessaloniki
910 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
Grand Hotel Palace Thessaloniki
#7 of 58 in Thessaloniki
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#6 of 58 in Thessaloniki
459 reviews
2.1 mi away
Daios Luxury Living
Daios Luxury Living
#2 of 58 in Thessaloniki
636 reviews
2.8 mi away
Makedonia Palace
Makedonia Palace
#5 of 58 in Thessaloniki
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Palace Hotel

Property: Porto Palace Hotel
Address: 65 26th Octovriou Avenue, Port, Thessaloniki 546 28, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The biggest of the deluxe class hotels in Thessaloniki, Porto Palace Hotel & Conference Center, opened to the public in late 2005 after the attentive restoration of the historical building of 1913. It currently constitutes an excellent hospitality choice for all those characterized by a special sense of aesthetics while its industrial architecture differentiates it from any other 5 star hotel in Thessaloniki.It offers the perfect setting for high standard accommodation and lodging of most successful business and social events. Its proximity to both the city center and the industrial & commercial zones make it an ideal choice for both business travelers and leisure visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing