We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than avarage”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“more than avarage”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel was located close to downtown Thessaloniki so we could goo everywhere by foot.
It was clean and its service was good.Maybe the breakfast could be a bit more rich and the saloon could be a bit more bigger but that's OK ! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilenaOfJuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    118
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
40
117
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We were at first excited about it, cause it seemed to be a respectable 3 star hotel. But the toilet, despite bearing a disinfected sign was evidently dirty in places not seen right away , but revealed after closer inspection. This could have been a one time thing cause the room gave off an overall air of cleankiness, but it was enough to change my opinion of the hotel. The cleaning ladies were too loud every morning and woke us up and breakfast was slightly poor. Staff was polite and obliging and the location very good. The center of the city was accessible on foot. Our balcony had a view of the see, traffic noise wasn't much of a nuisance and the room was pleasently and adequately furnished. I would generaly recommend it as a decent and moderately priced hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowwhite124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

3 of us stayed at this hotel for business. We booked two rooms, which were both supposed to have basics like a minibar and hairdryer. only one room had a small fridge and that was it. The booking websites make this hotel seem like a higher end hotel, but it is just a budget hotel which has been painted. The mattress was extremely hard and you can hear noise from the other rooms. I found this hotels advertising to be slightly misleading, as there were non of the small extras suggested on the booking websites I.e bottled water on arrival…. The rooms are very clean however and the staff incredibly friendly, but if you are looking for something higher end don't stay here.

Room Tip: Make sure you state NON smoking because the smoking rooms stink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel about a few months ago it and was a really pleasant experience. it is located in the centre of Thessaloniki and is very easy to find. The rooms were extremely clean, the staff was very polite and helpfull and last but not least the breakfast was served till 10:30 (which was releiving since we didn' t wake up very early in the morning) and included everything. I would strongly reccommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsamouraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spend 2 nights there. It's a very good and quite hotel. We were satisfied from the clean room and bathroom. The accommodation cost was normal but the real advantage of this hotel is the distance from the city centre. Just 5 min. on foot. We will choose it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MareOlympiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We booked one night at the Park Hotel. We are a family of five and trying to find a family rooms often difficult. The Park Hotel had a lovely family room set up with a centre hallway and two bedrooms and with a bathroom each. This set up worked perfectly for our family. But, and this is a big but, we couldn't even take our suitcases into the parent room. The smell of smoke was so bad I was worried I wouldn't be able to sleep at night. We left all our suitcases in the car and wore the same clothes the next day to leave the hotel to avoid contaminating another everything in our suitcases. Thankfully the children's room smelled less of cigarettes, I guess Greek children don't smoke yet! We left the window open while we went for supper so the room smelled more like fire smoke form outside than cigarettes, but as soon as I shut the window (it was January after all and too cold to keep it open all night) the horrible smell filled the room again. Cigarette smell is in all the soft furnishings in the rooms, even the comforters on the beds. The comforter covers are cleaned but I am unsure if the inside is cleaned each use since the children's comforters smelled, or if it is just so strong that simply washing them can't remove the smell.

If it was't for the complete lack of non-smoking areas in the hotel, even the elevators people are smoking in, it could be a nice place. The bathrooms are fine, the beds were comfortable, the breakfast was fine and the staff were OK. They just need to move out of the 1920's and realize many people do not smoke and do not like to wallow in the smell.

Room Tip: Insist on a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor with non-smoked in sheets. If it stinks, because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARK HOTEL M, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
To begin with, we are sorry to hear about the difficulties our customer had with the cigarette smoke odor. To be absolutely clear, the hotel has both smoking and non-smoking rooms, in separate floors to minimize any problems for sensitive non-smoking clients. In addition, ALL common areas of the hotel are STRICTLY non-smoking and the policy is enforced rather vigorously (as a matter of fact to the annoyance of some of our smoking customers). And lastly, the hotel was completely renovated only 4 months ago and all bedding, curtains and such are brand new throughout..! So, it's a bit difficult to comprehend the magnitude of the problem as it is described. But, the unfortunate part is that we were never told that the customer wanted a non-smoking room..! Had we known, we would have been delighted to satisfy such a simple request. At this point, we can only express our regrets and encourage non-smokers to simply request a non-smoking room at the time the reservation is made or at minimum upon arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked this `hotel` and our booking was for 2 adults and 1 child (2 year old) We were travelling from Bulgaria so we arrived hotel at 11:30 pm and our baby was sleeping in the car. The guy in the reception took us to the room but the room has only 1 double bed and smoking room. He said this floor is for smokers but our booking was for non-smoking. Then he took us to another floor but this room also smells cigarette really bed and again there was only 1 bed.By the way, all the rooms were very small and extremely dirty. We had no choice but to accept the room and I asked for the bed for our 2 year old. He told me that they cannot give us a bed, we either have to sleep with him in the same bed or pay extra 40 Euros.We were shocked.I showed him the booking but he was very rude. He called his manager couple times , talk to him 10 minutes every time and he kept saying `NO` . It was almost 1 am and we still had no place to sleep so we took our baby to the car and decided to call the police.After the call, they told us that they gave us extra bed but for 1 night. It was hell. We did not have any other choice. The room was very cold, dirty, there were cigarette packages on the floor and it smells really really bed. There was a serious health risk. In the morning, the telephone rang at 8 am, less than 7 hours after we checked-in and they said we had to move our car. I thought they were joking but no, this place kept getting worse and worse. It was nightmare and by far the worst experience I have ever had in my whole life. I cannot believe this kind of place and people still exist in hospitality business. I rate it 1 but believe me even if they pay you to stay there, do not accept just walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARK HOTEL M, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Park Hotel has been in business for nearly 45 years and is well known and respected in the hospitality business in Thessaloniki. Our main concern is to always meet or exceed the needs of our customers and we will usually go above and beyond. We are saddened to see negative reviews but we see them as an opportunity to learn and improve. In this case, however, some comments are SO UNTRUE that we are compelled to respond.

The booking was for a "double" room. Reference was made to a 2 year old child but no request for any particular accommodation. In such cases, normally, a baby cot suffices and we were prepared to provide one. Upon arrival near midnight the customer insisted on a separate bed for the 2 year old child and as no triple-bedded rooms were available at that late hour we provided a family suite with 2 separate rooms for the first night at no charge (and a third bed for the second night also at no charge). And when the customer requested a non-smoking room we moved him to a non-smoking floor and a non-smoking room. There is ABSOLUTELY no truth to claims about the room being "dirty" and having "cigarette packages on the floor"..! And whether the customer called the police as he claims, well, we wouldn't know since we never saw or spoke to the police. Lastly, due to the lateness of the hour, the night receptionist kindly allowed the customer to leave his car parked in the small loading zone in front the hotel (exclusively used to load/unload passengers and luggage). The customer was clearly told that the car would have to be moved very early. The reception desk called the room at 9:30am when a queue had already formed in front of the hotel, and, though he acknowledged the call, he apparently proceeded to disconnect it and eventually moved the car at 12 noon..!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Greco Superior
Hotel El Greco Superior
#22 of 58 in Thessaloniki
504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
Capsis Hotel Thessaloniki
#19 of 58 in Thessaloniki
908 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anatolia Hotel
Anatolia Hotel
#6 of 58 in Thessaloniki
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#18 of 58 in Thessaloniki
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olympia
Hotel Olympia
#13 of 58 in Thessaloniki
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
Hotel Orestias Kastorias
#11 of 58 in Thessaloniki
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Ionos Dragoumi 81, Thessaloniki 546 30, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Thessaloniki
#10 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#15 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Enjoy your stay in a modern, warm and friendly environment, in the heart of the city. The Church of Hagios Dimitrios, The Roman Forum, The Jewish Museum, "Ladadika" and Aristotelous Square, are just few steps away. The 7 story building, with private balconies overlooking "Ano Poli" and the Port of the city, will provide you with hours of relaxation during the day. You could easily enjoy your coffee or drink there, in the privacy of your room, with just a call to the room service. Your rooms, comfortable, functional, modern, equipped with orthopedic mattresses, high quality linens and Egyptian cotton towels and hypoallergenic goose down comforters, black-out curtains, private baths and balconies, individually controlled air-conditioning and heating, wireless internet access, 26" LCD TVs, hair dryers and mini-fridges, will welcome you pleasantly and will aim to ensure maximum comfort during your stay. Rooms have either two twin beds or one double-sized bed perfect for couples. Extra beds may be added as needed to accommodate a child or teenager and the hotel also offers "family suites" (2 bedrooms, 2 baths) that can accommodate up to 5 people. With a capacity of up to 60 persons, the multi-functional and fully equipped conference facilities would be an excellent venue for you to plan a sales meeting or training session or a product show, easily and with great success. Enjoy you stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing