We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay here was fine, the staff friendly.”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #55 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I do not like writing mediocre reviews but I think the bad reviews do not do the hotel any justice. So here it is.

The staff at the reception was friendly and let us see the room beforehand. After reading the reviews we did not expect much but the room looked reasonable with a private bathroom, an air-conditioning, a fridge and a balcony. I should probably mention that it was a room at the top floor facing the main road in front of the hotel. It looked as if it had been refurbished after the bad reviews but we were told it was not. The only downsides were that the carpet was a bit tired and the cleaner obviously paid little attention to cleaning the balcony. We did not have a breakfast in the hotel.

All in all we got a good night sleep for the 35 euros.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkl-cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed there for 1 night because we missed our train and we had to wait for the next day, It's a 5 minute walk from The train station which is a 30 minute walk from the Center, not that far, it was clean and the air conditioning was working good. If you are waiting from a train and looking for a hotel, I would recommand this hotel for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hesham_Fayek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

The location is not the best ,the hotel is dated and the rooms were absolutely filthy , the bed had cigarette holes burnt into sheets , the sofa had stains all over it , the floor was dusty and the bathroom was dirty , there was bits of food under bed and after checking in we checked straight back out !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vics177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We, my wife and I, stay only one night in this hotel. First, we choose it just because of it is very near to the train and long distance bus station. However, it is turned out the best satisfied hotel in Greece. (We used to stay in the B&B.) We stay in a double room and private bathroom. The room is quite big for two of us. Besides double bed we also got a sofa which can treat as another single bed. We are also quite satisfied with bathroom. The breakfast is slightly above average.
The only down point is this hotel is far from Thessaloniki city center.You need to take a bus to the center. But as I said we choose it because it is very near to the train and long distance bus station.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieCYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed July for few nights in a shared bathroom - private room.
Be careful.

Let me list few reasons why
1) shared bathrooms do not have locks - or don't work
2) drainage system does not work, and it smells horrible
3) Terrible location, beside a closed down strip club
4) poor condition of the rooms
5) horrendous breakfast

I have to though admit front staff were helpful and the air-condition was actually working. However, I would NEVER stay again.Only reason I am giving it 2/5 is because it was cheap. If you really do want to stay here though, get one of the private rooms with private bathroom on one of the lower floors. They at least looked semi-acceptable.

Room Tip: Pick private rooms with private bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed at the Rez Hotel for one night with the wife.
Just wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful for the night. Freindly greeting when we arrived at 1200 and checked straight into our room. Room over looking the main road / station, basic room with clean sheet but dirty everything else.
Only used the room to sleep in, so did the job for 50 euro.
Not ideal for romantic night away, but ideal as basic crash pad.

Room Tip: Room 503 was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njd47559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The hotel is close to the railway station and from there is easy to get in the city center. The rooms are ok, bathrooms so and so, but if you stay only 3-4 days it wont be too depressing. Poor breakfast. The owner and receptionist is a PAOK fan. If you visit Thesaloniki few days it is recomended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eneacsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thessaloniki hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Philippion
Hotel Philippion
#50 of 58 in Thessaloniki
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vergina Hotel Thessaloniki
Vergina Hotel Thessaloniki
#47 of 58 in Thessaloniki
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rotonda Hotel
Rotonda Hotel
#31 of 58 in Thessaloniki
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nea Metropolis
Hotel Nea Metropolis
#42 of 58 in Thessaloniki
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
MANDRINO Hotel
MANDRINO Hotel
#52 of 58 in Thessaloniki
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Telioni Hotel
Telioni Hotel
#45 of 58 in Thessaloniki
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 39 Monastiriou, Thessaloniki 546 27, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 58 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range: £33 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rex Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Thessaloniki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing