We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Messakti-Village
Nearby Hotels
Atheras Hotel(Evdilos)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Karras Star(Ikaria)
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ikaros Star(Ikaria)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marina(Ikaria)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Kerame Hotel(Evdhilos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nefeli(Therma)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
22
13
6
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
13
6
5
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Well, I won't bore you with a very lengthy review.. Just the basics:

1) location: truly amazing, breathtaking view from the upper rooms, close to 2 villages
2) beach: the best I have seen for a long time... 20 metres away.. green waters, clean sand, perfect..
3) price: a bit overpriced, but try to bargain before booking (over the phone), especially if you go there on July or - even more - during June.
4) rooms: minimalistic, in need for renovation
5) cleaning: every 2 days they change the sheets and the towels, every day they do a very very basic cleaning of the room
6) breakfast : a joke, it would be better if they just stopped serving it altogether. Seriously, I have been around, and I have never come across a worse breakfast buffet than this.. I could not find a single thing I wanted to eat again..
7) service: very friendly staff, eager to help whenever they can

Thats my 2 cents on Messakti Village.

:-)

Room Tip: try to ask for the higher (altitude) rooms
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexiskefalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stayed in Messakti Village hotel in the island of Ikaria (near the village of Armenistis) for 4 days in the beginning of July.
The plus to stay there are:
1) A really beautiful village, very traditional and colourful scenery.
2) Friendly and smiling personel. They try to help you with anything you need 24h/day.
3) The Messakti beach (very long, very clean with white sand and the sea very clean as well) is on your feet (literally!).
4) The hotel pool is very clean too with of course a beautiful view of the beach.
5) The rooms have big terraces with sea view.

The minus are:
1) My room's phone was dead and there was no tv (only in the hotel's lounge) but personally I didn't care. I was out all day long...
2) The rooms don't have a/c, only a big ceiling fun, but it wasn't noisy and kept the room in a good temperature. Along with the night breeze, there was no problem.

So, I really enjoyed staying there, I adored the quietness but I think that if you are really really dependent on tv and a/c, you shouldn't stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giota K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is a beautifully located hotel in front of an amazing beach - i have stayed there for a few years in a row, purely due to its ideal location and the fact that in Ikaria you tend to ignore bad services as there are so many other things to appreciate and make you happy. However I do feel obliged to write this review. It is more than obvious that the owners of this hotel are treating it as a cash cow, spending nothing on renovations and maintenance while charging ridiculous rates for what they offer. Some rooms do have amazing views, however all of the rooms are just so badly maintained. I do realize and understand that it is natural to have a few insects and small reptiles in such areas but it is also really easy and cheap to try and prevent them from entering the room. And no, a door raised 2 inches from the ground is not exactly pest control.
Their breakfast is to laugh at. By far the worst breakfast experience I have ever had - and I have seen quite a few places around the world. Also, you cannot say your hotel has wifi when its only accessible 2 meters from the reception desk and offers the dizzy speeds of 64kbps at its best. The overall experience is really disappointing but the beauties and the overall lifestyle of the island pay you back. Needless to say I will not be staying there again as Ikaria has so many places with a better value for money ratio.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank krok n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

one of the best resort in whole Greece.Excelent quality in materials and design taste. Your dream resort in a dream beach of Northern Ikaria's coast. Intepented generous-size villas , even a windmill is incorporated in the complex as a room. garden and superb view. the sea only 50 meters with excelent sandy beach and crystal clear waters.Not to be missed!

Room Tip: ask for a room with terace (and pay for the privelege)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Anyone wishing to visit Ikaria, must know before arrival that the whole island is a unique experience in the Aegean, well off the beaten track. Massive tourism is hopefully still unknown, while people are still authentic and surprisingly kind and warm, despite the isolated position and the wild landscape of the island (be prepared to drive at the narrowest roads ever...).
Since the island lacks modern tourist facilities, similar to those of Mykonos or Santorini, Messakti Village seemed to be an adequate solution at a nice beach, considering the reviews. However after having spent a week there, I have to admit that this hotel and the whole island proved to be well over my expectations.
The hotel is a modern complex of buildings and bungalows, located just over the beach of Messakti. The room was rather minimal but clean, with an amazing view over the beach. The breakfast at the pool was great as well as the restaurant of the hotel, which serves greek and mediterannean cuisine. The staff was friendly and very helpful (especially the girl at the reception!).
But apart form the usual things, what distinguishes this hotel is the feeling, the sea breeze and of course its BEACH. If you like surfing, the Messakti beach is one of the best beaches in the Aegean: huge waves, miles of golden sand, funky beach bars and hip croud!
Keeping in mind the scale of the island, Messakti Village is the best solution to experience the island of Ikaria at its best.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mario1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews