We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good service”
Review of Ikaros Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ikaros Star
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ikaria
Karlstad, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good service”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent five nights at this nice hotel. Clean and with good service and nice rooms with a fantastic view. Very relaxing and peaceful and with a very good beach in walking distance. We will surely coma back to this wonderful island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Tjechov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    16
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

the owner must take some hosting lessons cause she doesn't know how to host guests. we were yelled at because we arrived at the breakfast late (even though we were advised that breakfast runs until afternoon). at one of our rooms we found a bunch of hair in the shower. the air condition, which is charged for an extra 10 euro, is a really noisy portable unit, which we didn't use. the location on the other hand is convenient and the view from the balcony (if you pay for a sea view room) is rewarding. the breakfast buffet is adequate (nothing special)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fotaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ikaria hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Booked a room after reading comments here. Booking was made more than one month in advance for the part of our holiday in Ikaria for one week. Got a very small room at the back of the hotel where a door opens to ground floor. No air conditioner in the room. Very noisy ventilator and fridge. Only way to ventilate the room is opening the door but then you are exposed to mosquitoes and all kind of flies/bugs. On top of that, since the door is opening to the ground level, once it is opened at night it does not give any secure feeling. So choose being cooked or being alert and hunting flies/mosquitoes at night.

Wanted to change the room but hotel was full and did not see much friendly response from the staff. Only in return they give me anti-mosquito tablet. I do not understand why it was not in the room in first place.

Other problems :
- Very nice view from hotel but its location is not so convenient unless you have car
- So much noise at night in the hotel. Mostly by staff. Phone at reception was ringing every night and the guy who is picking the phone was shouting quite hard.
- Not so friendly staff.

Have spent around 15 days in Chios, Ikaria and Samos. This was the worst and most expensive hotel. Changed the booking via Hotels.com by paying one night penalty (stayed in Ikaria shorter than planned. I did not regret doing so. Next hotel in Samos was half price and double room space with air conditioner.

Room Tip: Did not see the rooms at front however try it if you really has no choice but staying at Ikaros Hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candideijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Although I arrived late in the evening,I received a nice welcome. The next morning I was surprised by the spectacular view from the balcony of my room.The hotel has a very quiet location,while the tavernas by the sea are only a short walk away.The owner takes personally care of his guests and is very accommodating.In short, a very pleasant place to stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

You must be willing to walk for about 20 minutes from Gialiskari and it's restaurants to reach the Ikaros Star. But once there you have a stunning view over the sandy Mesakti beach and Armenistis town. It can get hot in the afternoon as the hotel faces south-west but then you may enjoy a great sunset from your balkony. You should absolutely book a room with sea views as the other rooms have no view at all. You will just see the hill slope from very close.
Breakfast is OK and very relaxed, it usually finishes when everyone is ready. There is no restaurant so you will have another walk down to the village.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allonsonfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This is the secoind time that we stayed in this hotel with 6 years apart. Picked up and dropped off at the Evdilos harbor and the owner was not worried about the late check-out. very friendly staff. quiet location, clean rooms. Starting point of hike to monastery. Good restaurants and car rental agency and supermarket nearby. Try to get the room located on the top florr in the corner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katherine_aerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

well situated little hotel in very good price per night. realy good service. confortable rooms. 5 min walk from the mesakti beach. interresting breakfast ;p

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fwteinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ikaria hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel and Studios Cavos Bay
0.8 mi away
Erofili Beach Hotel
Erofili Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Armenistis
174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Karras Star
Karras Star
#2 of 11 in Ikaria
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atheras Hotel
Atheras Hotel
#1 of 1 in Evdilos
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Therma
3 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kerame Hotel
Kerame Hotel
#1 of 2 in Evdhilos
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikaros Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikaros Star

Property: Ikaros Star
Address: Gialiskari, 833 01, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Ikaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ikaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ikaros Star 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Ikaros Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing