We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Traditional Hotel Varos Village
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Lemnos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Greek hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Varos Village is a 5-10 minute drive from the airport terminal. Don't worry, it does not suffer from noise as Lemnos airport sees about 2 flights a week! The hotel itself is scattered across the village of Varos, but centres around the pool/bar/restaurant complex at the top of the village. This meant a short stroll up to breakfast in the mornings but not a problem.

The rooms were extremely well equipped and very clean. So quiet, and you can guarantee a good nights sleep. The walls are so thick, don't expect phone/wifi signal until you go outside!! Parking is available at various points around the village, and the hotel has a golf buggy to help you with luggage if you don't have a car.

The breakfast was very traditional, certified for its authenticity and was plentiful. Service was very good. At dinner, there was plenty to choose from, and as we went out of the main season, we could have whatever we wanted made to order, rather than waste food with a buffet. Stavros was very kind and looked after us every day. The staff are locals or from mainland Greece which is good to see.

The pool and grounds are very well looked after. Sunbeds and plenty of seating available.

Overall, we can certainly recommend this hotel and thanks for your kind hospitality everyone.

Stuart and Laura.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms24sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarosVillageHotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Traditional Hotel Varos Village, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Stuart & Laura,
thank you again for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Lemnos. Welcome you back, next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    27
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
56
43
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is just the perfect place. The accommodation is great, the atmosphere is traditional and yet luxurious. The personnel is very friendly, always smiling and ready to help you with everything. And I mean everything. The food is the best. Even if you are not staying in this hotel you must go and try their food. This is the best restaurant on the island. We were traveling every day exploring the island and every meal we had in a different restaurant/tavern. One night we stayed for dinner in our hotel and we found that this was the best of all. They have their own garden! Everything is fresh and organic. It's great place for couples and families. It's also very good starting point for bike trips.The surf beach "Keros" is about 15km away which was a good warm up in the morning before we ride the wind.
Martin

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarosVillageHotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Traditional Hotel Varos Village, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
A big "THANK YOU" from all Varos Village Team for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Tower Suites are amazing. Nice pool area. Very friendly staff. Food was delicious. Location is beautiful and quiet. Big and comfortable beds. Plenty of room. Cleaning service is perfect. Not too crowded. Good spot either for business or vacation.staff at front desk soeak good english and arw extremely nice. Restaurant waiters are not too experienced but very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilda1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarosVillageHotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Traditional Hotel Varos Village, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hilda 1980
thank you for your time spending writing for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in one of the converted village houses for our accommodation which was a rather unique experience. Having an entire house as a 'suite' gives you more space than you might conventionally expect and everything was to a good standard and properly cleaned / changed daily. The main hotel concourse was about 200 metres distant with dining laid out around a large swimming pool. The pool is state-of-the-art and well maintained. There is nothing shabby about this place. The owners and staff are relaxed, helpful and friendly. The island is still very unspoilt with some beautiful scenery, safe beaches and interesting plants, birds and butterflies. If you want McDonalds and tacky tourist shops, this is not the place for you.
Bruce H

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarosVillageHotel, General Manager at Traditional Hotel Varos Village, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Bruce, Thank you for your time reporting your V.V. experience on Trip Advisor and help other people choose what they really like for their holidays. With many best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently returned from our second visit to Varos Village Hotel. We enjoyed it so much when we went for the first time last year, that we thought we would give it another try this year and it was just as good the second time around!
This time we decided to do things a little differently thought... We usually book our holidays through a tour company but this year thought we would try booking direct, a first for us! We booked the flights separately and contacted the hotel direct to book the room. It couldn't have been simpler! After a couple of emails everything was sorted. We also asked if the hotel could hire a couple of bicycles for us while we were there and this was done without any trouble at all. When we arrived at the hotel the bikes were waiting for us outside our room... Now that's what you call service!
We had several meals at the hotel and they were really great. In fact we would go as far as to say that they were the best meals we had while we were on the island. They have a new chef this year who really seems to enjoy his job and it shows in the meals he presented. Although we enjoyed the meals when we went last year, they were brilliant this year.
What can we say about the rest of the staff at this hotel... They were absolutely great. Everyone from the Management, Receptionists, Waiting Staff, Bar Staff, Cleaner, The person who collected us from the airport, right down to the gardeners were all very friendly and couldn't do enough to help you.
In summary, if you are thinking of going to Lemnos and want to stay in an hotel but would like to experience a little village life at the same time, this is the place for you. As we said this is the second time we have gone to Varos Village Hotel and it won't be the last. It's somewhere where you can relax as soon as you arrive, rather than several days into your holiday. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarosVillageHotel, General Manager at Traditional Hotel Varos Village, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Jacqui & Brian
thank you so much for your nice words!!! The idea of renting bicycles within the hotel, was really so nice, that after you, many of Guests rent bikes to go around the village and the sea-shore! You were the creators leaders of Varos Village Bikers team! Waiting to welcome you again in our beautiful hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We've just returned from two end of season weeks on the island of Lemnos where we stayed at the Varos Village Hotel. Did end of season make any difference to the service we received? Not in the slightest! The staff are the same, lovely, welcoming people as the residents of Varos itself and greeted us and looked after us as though we were the first guests of the season rather than almost the last.
The hotel is a clever concept, superbly executed and detailed throughout. This means that you have imaginative, well appointed and maintained accommodation set in an unspoilt village. The best of both worlds.
Would we go back? Yes, most definitely. And one request: Maybe the hotel could acquire some bicycles that could be hired next time?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarosVillageHotel, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Traditional Hotel Varos Village, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest
thank you so much for your report. Promise you, next year, to have some bikes for renting! Nice advice!
Waiting to welcome you and your lovely wife again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The buildings of this hotel are scattered inside a village, which is on a hill overlooking the island's airport. The reception can be as far as some 400 meters from the building where one stays. When I called for booking, they told me that I would get a room upgrade at no extra charge. I tried to look at the website how a village junior suite with a garden view looks like, but the images were not that many for someone to get the real idea. On arrival we were greeted by very pleasant staff members who escorted us to the building and showed us around. The building is very beautiful. Its design is based on the traditional architecture of the village's houses. Modern furniture, traditional wooden ceiling, wooden stairs leading to the bedroom. On the ground floor there was a patio looking at a wall with a couple of plastic flower boxes and the building's warehouse. The warehouse's door was most of the times open, so we had the privillege of taking breakfast looking at big yellow bags with dirty laundry. On the 1st floor of our suite there was a terrace with a view of the village. The problem was that this terrace was heated by the sun from the early morning, there were no sun umbrelas to make shade and noone could simply seat there. The suite had a kitchenette, a dinnig corner, cable tv and an internet connection at no extra charge. There was also an internet connection at all public areas of the building. There was nowhere a wire to hang wet swimsuites and towels (a must- have when going on vacations on an island) and one had to ask for one from the reception. On the first day at this suite I found out that my son (a toddler, still crawling) got black hands and feet from the dirty floor. I also found out that the ash tray on the patio was full of cigarette butts. When my wife tried to use the kitchen stove, some sort of smoke with a strange smell started to fill the whole room. At first I thought it was burnt oil, but when I looked closely, I found that the smoke came from underneath the stove. I informed the reception about all these and they told me that the next day all would be taken care of. On the 2nd day after returning from the sea, I found out that the floor was still dirty, the ash tray had not been cleaned and that one garbage bin had not been emptied. I went to the reception and discussed all these things. They sent the cleaning lady once more. Later that day as I was chasing my son, I found a piece of underwear under the dining table, which did not belong to us (!!!!!!)(I suppose it belonged to the previous tenants of the suite). On the morning of the 3rd day, as I was throwing away some papers, I realized that underneath the kitchen's sink there was a funny smell and lots of water (the sink was mouldy and dripping). So I talked to a senior member of the staff and complained about this situation. She told me that everything would be taken care of, and indeed there were. Among others a plumber came and fixed the leakage.The breakfast was another unpleasant issue. Supposedly it is a traditional breakfast served by the waiters at each customer's room. This "traditional" breakfast was: two pieces of cold pie, some slices of cheese and ham, two cold hard boiled eggs, a few rather small pieces of local cheese, three small bowls of jam and honey, slices of various types of bread ( which was always stale), two slices of cake and two cookies. The variety at the types of coffee served was no surprise. For coffee one had to decide between french (filtered) coffee and frappe (or for that matter neskafe). Breakfast was namely served between 8.00 and 10.30. One morning the entire building waited until 9.00 for the waiters to come and prepare the breakfast!!!!!! That's when I decided to check out from that hotel. At the reception I overheard the receptionist talking to a potential customer. She explianed to him the "traditional" breakfast. She also told him that the customers who were staying at the area where the reception was, were eating breakfast from a buffet and that the variety of foods there was bigger. I took my family and ran away from there...... The good thing is that the staff members were all polite and ready to learn from their mistakes, but we were not there as hotel inspectors......we were on vacation.....we wanted to relax, not toy with our nerves.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VarosVillageHotel, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Traditional Hotel Varos Village, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,
from your report, everybody can understand that you problems are based on personal requests and not hotel's services. Your booking, was a last minute booking, offering you free up grade to a Junior Suite. You found us from Internet, you picked up Village Area adn not Pool Area for your stay, because, as you told me from the very beginning, you were looking for something not to expensive. Both on our telephone conversation, 3 times in total, and in your written voucher, sent by mail, before your arrival, you were told and it is absolutelly explained, that when you stay in village area, you have breakfast in your veranda and Traditional Greek Buffet breakfast in pool area is offered with a supplement. Moreover, the first morning of your staying, with your breakfast, there is an info-card about the same thing-so, PLEASE, do not imply that Reception Desk and Hotel tell lies to the Guests! The second thing that you probably forget to describe avout the breakfast you got, was homemade and wiht fresh ingredients. Village homemade pie, koulourakia, cake, marmelades, EVERYTHING fresh adn handmade with local cheese and different types of village bread with Lemnian flouers! Ok, pie might be cold that day, but Chef was there to heat it for you, if you ask! The same with everything else! You were told, that if you didn't like something or you would like something else in bigger quantity, you should just ask the cook- been there for you and other Guests of the complex! I do not want to write more.... my working experience in this unique and beautiful hotel, 4 years now, has shown me that this ambitious project, is not for everybody; for sure, it is for Guests that are sophisticated travellers. General speaking, I believe is fair for both sides (Guest's & Hotel's): if the hotel doesn't match your criteria, is better to leave without asking to exchange a discount with a "bad report in trip advisor". Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lemnos hotels
10.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Plaza Beach Resort Lemnos
5.0 mi away
Hotel Ethaleia
Hotel Ethaleia
#1 of 1 in Moudros
90 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ifestos Hotel
Ifestos Hotel
#2 of 4 in Myrina
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Lemnos Village Resort Hotel
11.5 mi away
Panorama Plati
Panorama Plati
#1 of 18 in Lemnos
33 reviews
11.4 mi away
Apollo Pavilion
Apollo Pavilion
#3 of 8 in Myrina
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traditional Hotel Varos Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditional Hotel Varos Village

Property: Traditional Hotel Varos Village
Address: 81401, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lemnos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Lemnos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Traditional Hotel Varos Village 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aged more than two centuries, Traditional Residences & some of village’s Windmills have been transformed into the stunning accommodation of Varos Village. Located in different spots within Varos village itself, each housing complex brings the continuity of its own story. Earthy colors of traditional architecture, tiles made of Lemnia Terra and the same volcanic stone have been carefully used by local craftsmen for the restoration. Spacious Rooms and Suites, full with aura and equipped with all modern facilities, are ready to welcome you. Hostess’ and Varos Village personnel’ goal is to offer you a unique experience of authentic, Greek hospitality and a memorable stay with unforgettable memories.Traditional buffet breakfast, friendly service and Greek cuisine with fresh products from hotel's veggie garden award the Hotel with the Lemnian uniqueness. Relax in luxury sunbeds by the pool, join a village experience during the day and taste local delicasies and Greek cuisine at Veranda restaurant with great sea view. The hotel is ideally positioned in the heart of the island for easy access to most of the island's interesting sites, unique sandy beaches with crystal clear waters, the local airport, the general hospital, the two major seaports and the capital Myrina. We are waiting to welcome you!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Traditional Hotel Varos Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing