We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Lemnos
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome holiday”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our first family trip to Lemnos, and it exceeded our expectations. The facilities were first-class and the inter-connecting rooms were well-appointed (with a bath for the children and shower for the adults - so often we end up with showers for small children which are not ideal). The staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble (unlike a Mark Warner holiday we went on where they chatted in groups and were hard-pressed to help anyone). The kids club staff deserve a special mention, as our children happily settled in from day one and couldn't wait to go to their clubs every morning. The quality of the tuition was great across the board, with the bike team and beach team really passionate about their activities, which was infectious! The food was amazing with so much variety and fresh produce to choose from. The pasta bar in particular was fantastic. We really enjoyed enjoying our meals whilst sitting under olive trees with stunning views over the sea and the ancient temple ruins in the hotel grounds. An awesome time was had by all, and we are hoping to return next year....

Room Tip: The ground floor garden rooms with a sea view have hammocks (upper floor rooms do not) - the kids lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy186229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    107
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
230
107
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We have a number of friends who have been and raved about Neilsons, and we were not disappointed.
The transfer out with Thomas Cook wasn't great, cabin crew were really grumpy! Landed in Limnos to bright sunshine and an army of reps. 30 minute transfer to the hotel was just perfect. The welcome meeting is not to be missed but don't worry about the mad dash to book activities for the week there were plenty of spaces and you can even turn up and 9/10 you will get to participate.
The hotel was spotlessly clean at all times, the garden room we had over looked the pool, mountains and sea and was very comfy and great size bathroom. The room would benefit from a coffee/ tea tray and kettle for but otherwise it was very good. Remember to keep the balcony door closed for the air con to work!
We had booked our 3 and half year old daughter into Sea Urchins, and although she was well looked after fed and watered she didn't really enjoy and preferred to be I the swimming pool. Remember not to compare your UK nursery with these, it is different but well organised with plenty of activities but would have liked more feedback on what she had been doing during the day.
All of the activities were 1st class with instructors and equipment. If you are into mountain biking then Finlay and Paul are excellent there is nothing they don't now about the area and the best bars for an evening ride. My wife tried her hand at sailing for a couple of days and enjoyed. The best activity was lying by the quiet pool, plenty of sun loungers and bar staff happy to chat and get you a drink.
The buffet meals were brilliant with a great variety everyday. Every member of staff we talked to sang the praises of Nielsons and how good a company they were to work for. Average age of staff about 22 but really professional, respectful and could hold a conversation the type of person Waitrose always seem to recruit!

We would certainly go back again, perhaps not to that resort as we have done that one but would look at the Neilsons brochure again in a couple of ayers when our daughter is older and can enjoy more of the activities.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lymington36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to Lemnos, the last time being 4 years ago. Since our last visit the pool bar area has been revamped making the whole pool area much better, the information centre is now in a proper building next to the pool rather than a wooden hut, and the bathrooms in the rooms have been refurbished. The family suite we were in had a lovely walk in shower, rather than a bath/shower. There is also a new patio dining area under the trees that wasn't there before. Don't get me wrong - the hotel was lovely before - however the refurbishments have made it that bit more special. The activities & tuition were excellent as usual with friendly & helpful staff, and the food good with plenty of choice. One disappointment was the lack of free snorkelling masks to use, something that was available before. The diving centre appeared to be closed although no mention was made of why. We like the option to dine out 3 nights of the week, going into Myrina to one of the waterside tavernas. The walk into town takes approx 20 mins and a taxi back only cost 5 euros. Our sons comment on returning home - need to book again for next year - says it all!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenAnnThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I had never been on a Neilson holiday before and wasn't sure what to expect. I shouldn't have worried. It was one of the best holiday experiences I have ever had. The staff were brilliant, the teaching standard and encouragement was outstanding, the bar and restaurant staff couldn't not do enough for you and the food was fabulous. My only problem now is do I return to lemnos or try somewhere else next time. Its a really hard decision. Thank you.
H

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Fantastic holiday in Limnos with Neilsons. The organisation and quality of staff made this a completely stress free, active holiday. The free tennis coaching was of a high standard and biking guides were very enthusiastic and the staff were all very helpful and friendly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just had a super week in Portomyrina. I hardly lay on my sunbed at all, so much to do. I joined the 'advanced' sailing course, extremely well tutored by Mark. He tried so hard to get me out of my years of bad habits and his demonstration of roll tacking was awesome! (but I still can't do it!). On non windy days we kayaked round the headland to the next bay and an ice cold beer from the beach bar, or just took out a SUP to go and sunbathe holding onto a buoy or have a race with the other half! The equipment was well maintained and all the beach staff were well qualified, helpful and patient! I also had 2 sessions at water skiing and was so pleased to get up again after 20+ years of not doing it! I even managed to breathe and smile at the same time!
The food was excellent, with a huge choice of dishes. My resolve to only have fruit for dessert always failed when I saw the delicious puds on offer, usually coming away with at least 3! They were probably the best desserts I've ever had in Mediterranean resorts. The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. Service with a smile. Yes, there were lots of very young children and perhaps there should have been more 'adult only' seating areas. Most of the children were very well behaved and quite entertaining but it only takes one toddler tantrum close by to spoil a meal!
We had a garden room close to the pool with side views of the sea, which was lovely. But if you don't want to hear the kids, then get a hotel room or one further round facing the sea.
We spent quite a bit of time in the bar area and were again very impressed with the bar staff and their efficiency and again,service with a smile!
We opted to go out for the 3 non inclusive nights. The nearest bar / restaurant we walked to: Manos (I think) was right on the beach (same place as the kayak trip) and we had an excellent meal of local Greek food. The other 2 meals we ate in restaurants further into town beside the harbour (close to where the bus drops you). Both were excellent, truly authentic Greek meals of superb quality and value.
So all in all I would highly recommend this Neilson resort, with the added benefit of only being a 1/2 hour transfer to the airport! Whatever your sport, go for it, or alternatively, just 'relax as hard as you like!'

Room Tip: We had 418 which was a ground floor garden room on the corner near the toddlers pool; perfect if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNG1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

For a variety of reasons I didn't write submit the guests' feedback form but have wanted to give a recommendation to this activity for all those who read this site.
The tennis team led ably by Sam were welcoming, positive, and inclusive whether you were 16 or 61! whether you were good at tennis, a newcomer or uncoordinated! whether you went every lesson or when you could fit it in. They were professional and keen that you learnt the tennis stroke for that day. They made each lesson interesting and different. The coaching was excellent. They laughed with you at the forehand that goes wayward not at you. It seemed that everyone went away smiling and wanting to return for more.
I enjoyed all the activities that were on offer as usual but the tennis "made" my holiday.
Many thanks.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 876Ede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lemnos hotels
11.0 mi away
Traditional Hotel Varos Village
2.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Plaza Beach Resort Lemnos
10.8 mi away
Hotel Ethaleia
Hotel Ethaleia
#1 of 1 in Moudros
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ifestos Hotel
Ifestos Hotel
#2 of 4 in Myrina
31 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lemnos Village Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Afrodite Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub

Property: Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub
Address: Myrina, 814 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lemnos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Lemnos
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud winner of the a 2012 Travellers Choice award for Relaxation and Spa hotels. Certificate of Excellence award 2012 / 2013 / 2014 & 2015. Accommodation at Neilson Portomyrina Palace is split between rooms in the main hotel and rooms located throughout the gardens. All rooms were refurbished in 2011 with contemporary en-suite bath or shower and air-conditioning, mini fridge, safe, hair-dryer, telephone, TV and balcony or terrace. All rooms are large enough to take a cot. Rooms with seaview are available for a supplement.There is a range of accommodation options with Twin, Double, Family Rooms and Suites.Suites have a bedroom with double bed, en-suite bath and/or shower and balcony with a further lounge area separated by a door with sofa bed and a second balcony. These suites are suitable for three adults or two adults with two children.Inter-connecting rooms sleeping up to 4 people consist of two individual rooms with twin or double beds, each with their own bathroom and balcony or terrace. These rooms sleep a minimum of 3 and maximum of 4 people.Several rooms are designed with maximum accessibility in mind. Doorways and bathrooms are configured so as to be convenient for those with limited mobility. This approach extends to the lifts and ramps featured around the hotel.Facilities• Stylish and modern reception • Restaurant with indoor dining and alfresco Olive Garden courtyard • On-site shop selling all essentials for children and adults • Elemis spa • Alfresco pool-side bistro • elegant lounge bar with fantastic views • stylish pool bar and terrace • large outdoor pool • adult only indoor pool • separate children's pool and play area with climbing frames and slides for Children. Neilson run children's clubs are available all season for children aged 4 months to 17 years.MealsClub Board - daily breakfast, daily lunch and four evening meals are included per week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Neilson Portomyrina Palace Beachclub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Myrina Palace Hotel And Bungalows
Porto Myrina Palace Lemnos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing