We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location - Mark Warner Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lemnos Village Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Lemnos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is one of the best holidays we have ever been on and I booked it very last minute!

The transfers from the airport in Lemnos to the Mark Warner resort is approx a 20 minute drive. All the MW staff were on hand and directed you to your coach after welcoming you to Lemnos. Everything ran like clockwork and the staff are all very friendly. The location is just stunning. The rooms are just fab. We had a one bedroomed room which was right at the top of the resort, but the views were just incredible and its a view you never tire of looking at. Every room has a balcony with a table and chairs and a small washing line (with pegs) All the rooms have fridges and a kettle. The rooms are lovely, the bathroom has a bath and over the bath shower which all worked perfectly. The bathroom also has a hairdryer. Linen and towels were changed daily and the floors washed etc.

The location of the MW resort is just beautiful. There is so much to do. All the watersports on the beach are amazing and the staff are just great. They know their stuff and nothing is too much trouble for them. Its great fun to try all the different types of watersports available and you can take a course or two in the various activities if you want to. The mountain bike hire is great and the chap who looks after the bikes, Tom, is very knowledgeable and has plenty of maps and also organises tour's around the island on the bikes.

The next town is Myrina, which is just lovely. There is a supermarket there where you can buy most things, and is much cheaper than buying at the resort (drinks etc)

The kids club is just fantastic. My daughter was in the 12-17 year old club and she just had a brilliant time. The club manager is amazing and had such a great rapport with all the kids. The kids club staff were great fun and they really looked after the children and did such great things with them. Every day there were different activities with lots of fun with the watersports and in the pool. My daughter learnt to do so much in the week that we were here.

The food, just amazing. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, lots to chose from with plenty of choice daily The lunchtime and evening meals were just fabulous, plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables. Food is cooked in front of you and the staff are always on hand to help. In the evening sitting outside eating your tea with the fabulous sunset is just heaven!

The only downside to our holiday is we had to come home.....we had a brilliant time. You can make this holiday as full on as you want or just relaxing by the beach or pool. We hope to go back again later in the year!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic, the views are amazing. Lots of steps to the rooms at the top so maybe not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank loobylou2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Good points; the local staff were great and very friendly and helpful. The room (at first glance, is very nice). The food whilst a bit basic, was very fresh and plenty of choice of salads. The pool area was OK, with enough sunbeds, although resort was only half full when we were there. The room was cleaned every day with fresh linen and towels and had a nice balcony with great sea view.

Average points; the MW staff on the whole were not as good as other resorts we have stayed at. Many of the activities didn't happen. There was no update on what was available and staff seemed to be quite insular e.g. only water polo match that took place all week, seemed to be made up of 50% staff and nobody had come round to ask if you would like to join in. We took out a kayak when there was literally nobody else on the 'waterfront' yet it was delivered to the water full of sand from the last people with no help to find the right size life jacket whilst 4 staff stood around chatting. Only time they came to life was when we paddled out of their marker buoys....tut tut.

Bad points; the beach when we arrived was literally about knee deep in seaweed...yuck. MW only seem to have a very small stretch of the beach which is then overcrowded and not as clean as the rest of the bay. The free wine is Ok at lunchtime, but at dinner is unspeakable!! They serve it up in jugs that I can only imagine have been washed up in an inefficient dish washer with the fish fryer....always tasted of oil. After sending it back a few times, we gave up and bought some wine to take into dinner. The shower was really low pressure, so trickled down the back of the bath and all over the floor every time. And they must have an issue with a local who seemed to bring his dog for a walk at the top of the stairs leading down to the restaurant every day to leave a nice surprise for everyone as they made their way down. This was not cleaned up for several days, so built up to a nice collection to pick your way past on the way to dinner....nice!

We had a nice holiday, because we always do. There was nothing terrible about this resort, but there was nothing spectacular either. I have to say we wouldn't go back here, as we have stayed at better run MW resorts with more to offer both in resort and locally round and about.

One last niggle, was the manager seemed to strut around like some sort of God, with many people saying ooh we knew George when he ran 'San Ag', so clearly he has a fan base, but not once did he ask if we were having a nice time, or if there was anything his staff could do better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneReviewsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This review is only about a booking problem connected with a special needs child and not a review of Mark Warner as a whole.

Recent attempts to book a family holiday at Lemnos Village have left us very upset and disappointed. We have an autistic teenager who loved her last Mark Warner experience 2 years ago in Levante Beach. We reminded the company that she is autistic but were clear that she does not need any additional help or support now that she is 16; certainly not 1:1 help or additional staff. We were looking forward to our daughter really enjoying mixing with other children and having the freedom to attend activities independently. The environment is perfect for a teenager like her; safe, non-competitive, fun, active and lively - excellent staff.

Mark Warner said that we cannot go to Lemnos with an autistic teenager because they cannot provide extra staff at this location, although they can at some other places. We insisted that she does not need extra staff and we would not wish her to have a support worker but they just said, no, this is their policy (a policy which they apparently cannot provide in writing). I said we could just book online then and not mention her difficulties at all. Their response was that we would be turned away when we arrived if we did this - they would know that she was autistic because they have a file from our previous holiday. In other words, we cannot go on this holiday at this location, however able we say that our daughter is.

If other parents are considering whether to book a Mark Warner holiday with a child who has extra needs or disabilities, however slight (mild visual impairment, ADHD, dyspraxia, Aspergers etc), we would recommend that you keep this to yourselves in case you are allocated a 1:1 person who singles your child out as different or, worse, totally rejected as we were. (Of course, if your child does need extra help and therefore extra staff, the offer of this even at a few specific resorts may be very welcome indeed).

They also shocked us by saying that other children in our family would not be able to enjoy a holiday with our daughter because they would effectively have to be her carers. This is both incorrect and insulting - our daughter is fine company and jolly amusing!

Sadly, this seems to reflect the company's attitude to special needs children; they are branded as terribly difficult, unpleasant to be with, demanding and requiring an adult stuck to them at all times to make sure that they are contained.

We hope that this review is helpful. Mark Warner holidays otherwise are a top class company for activity holidays - children are active, independent of their parents and always make good friends there. The food is normally excellent as well. We would not wish this report to influence the vast majority of potential clients who are likely to have a great holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
22  Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Mark Warner holidays are always great for families and this was no exception in terms of activities on offer and amazing childcare - but the resort itself (literally just opened at that time) left a lot to be desired. We had to move room twice, once due to the smell from drains and the second time because the door blocked and the air-con broke. The wine offered ( MW hols are usually All Inclusive) was literally paint stripper comedy wine- We expected it to be pretty rough but that was something special!
The beach was clean and the bay was great for sailing, windsurfing etc...and the kids clubs and staff were up to the excellent MW standard you'd expect. The food was just about OK, the rooms were about 2 /3* which is not unusual for Mark Warner, so overall it was OK.....
Given the cost of MW, you always have to weigh up the standard of accommodation and food vs the other facilities and benefits - We have done other Mark Warner holidays ( Sardinia and Corsica) and would rate those resorts over Lemnos - but they were just getting going at Lemnos when we went at Easter 2013, so they may have improved the accommodation and food since then.
Overall the staff were good and the watersports on the money too ( most of the kit was brand new) - the kids activities were great, as was the babysitting /watching service which most parents used daily /nightly. The bar area is small and there is nothing to do after dinner - but if you've done a MW holiday you'll probably know you are tired out from the bikes, tennis, swimming, surfing and sailing adventures of the day. The location is completely isolated so you get the bay to yourself which is lovely and it is a short taxi trip to a little village for a change of scene if you need it - shame they hadn't licked the accommodation into shape, but more recent visitors may have noticed the difference a few months makes. Great for beginners as well as experienced sailors - though the beachfront did have teething problems organising the timings for lessons and groups. They blamed this on teething problems, so have probably ironed that out. If not, get to the beachfront meeting early and book yourself in for everything on the first day - places go fast and they did have a few disappointed guests when we were there. As with all MW hols, you kind of get out what you put in.

Their tennis coach was good - and popular - and there were plenty of courts and times to play - and v very enthusiastic fitness coach who had plenty of takers for early morning work outs by the pool. Overall it was as expected, but the rooms let them down.

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the bar areas and avoid rooms directly behind the beachbar - the roof ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bakingcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hotel was basic, no way 4*, a good 3*. The family suite we had was clean and everything worked however insufficient storage for four people for two weeks worth of clothes. Liked the fact there was a drying line for swim clothes on the balcony with pegs provided. The internet was extremely frustrating, it worked in reception if you were lucky, I had extremely limited success in picking up emails, TV's in the room a non starter. Breakfast was simple and bountiful and lunch was freshly cooked and again simple but delicious. Dinner was on the terrace over looking the bay, quite lovely, again freshly cooked food with ample choice. The restaurant staff were local hire and polite, helpful and hard working. Beach was not the nicest, broken sun loungers and well just dirty really, no way I was wading in that water, some did and more than one person stood on something that stung (stone fish was one theory) so wear beach shoes. Swimming pool was basic and there were some new straw umbrella things but no hooks to hang clothes or bags which could be easily remedied.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mumof2NearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife, six month old son and I stayed at the Lemnos Village hotel for a week during September, which happened to coincide with the resort's final week of the season. We had a fantastic week away and absolutely loved everything that the resort had to offer.

The hotel is made up of a central building, which comprises of the reception, restaurant and bar, childcare facilities and the spa. The rooms are in villas dotted around the resort. Ours was up the side of the hill, which presented beautiful views of the bay and the stunning sunset but represented a full-on workout when we were pushing the buggy back up to the room. Particularly so after a carafe of wine consumed during the evening meal! Despite this, it was clean, well equipped and spacious enough for a cot as well as twin beds, which were pushed together to make the double bed.

Food and the aforementioned wine is all included and served buffet style. The breakfast was a mix of fresh fruits, yoghurts, breads and pastries as well as cooked options. Lunch and dinner were beautiful salads as well as a fully cooked meals with a BBQ each evening and a fantastic array of desserts.

We took advantage of the tennis, the kid's club, sailing and the spa and these were all top notch made more so by the wonderful staff. I can't express how good all the staff were with the hotel manager fostering a warm and friendly culture.

Lemnos is a small and quiet Greek island, so don't expect a built-up coastline or fast-food chains close by. Instead, you'll find a relatively secluded resort with the closest town, Myrina Port, a good half an hour's walk away. Luckily, the excellent team we booked through at Travel Club Elite told us all about this in advance so we knew what to expect.

It was the first time we'd gone abroad with our little boy and while we went away with a few nerves, we came back full of confidence and this was in part thanks to Mark Warner and the team at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you've got a buggy, avoid the rooms up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damiancarvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I always wanted to visit this hotel previously however it was taken out of the brochure, so to see it back is excellent.

My wife and I have just returned from Lemnos Village Resort run now by Mark Warner, and it was an absolutely fantastic week. We met some really great people and was made to feel very welcome and relaxed, wherever we went on resort.

The resort itself was very clean and tidy, and the atmosphere was what you want on holiday relaxed.

George the Manager and his staff do an amazing job and I cannot praise them enough for making our stay so nice.

The hotel apartments are really nicely decorated and with an amazing view, we were in 322 which was quite high up on the hill, and the view over the bay was breathtaking. If you don't like a trek ask for a lower room as the hill is steep.

The pool was crystal clear and a nice cool temperature after sitting in the hot sun. The pool bar was a good atmosphere and the Greek lady was superb and very accommodating.

The beach was clean, plenty of sun loungers to relax with sun shades. The beach bar was great and Maria and Cleopatra really friendly and helped me improve my Greek.

The waterfront facilities were very professionally run and the staff at hand to assist, and also were a relaxed team who made you feel relaxed and made you laugh at the same time. A great crew and professional management on the beach. My wife learnt to sail and loved it so much all I saw was her laser in the distance at every possible moment, the staff took her on a cat joy ride around the bay and she loved it, so made my holiday seeing her happy.

The tennis was fantastic and very well run. 4 tennis courts of which 2 were hard courts and 2 were astro. The tennis Manager Emyr was at hand to offer advice in a very relaxed way, and we really enjoyed the social tennis which meant we could meet others, and no matter what your level you were not made to feel isolated. We entered the tournament and came third, so was very pleased.

The restaurants were very well run and Anthulla ran a tight ship and the staff were at hand to help serve the free wine!!!!! Eggs were cooked to your liking at breakfast and omelettes. Lunch was buffet as was dinner with a large variety of foods to serve everyone. My wife is a coeliac and we have a nightmare everywhere we go, but at Lemnos no issue at all gluten free pasta and freshly baked gluten free cornbread which was fantastic and plenty of choice for her. If you have not got children I advise early or later service as the noise can be loud.

The whole team were brilliant and we will be returning. Well done everyone.

Room Tip: The higher level rooms are on a steep hill so if you have small children or buggies I would advise l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lemnos hotels
11.8 mi away
Traditional Hotel Varos Village
10.3 mi away
Hotel Ethaleia
Hotel Ethaleia
#1 of 1 in Moudros
99 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sevdali
Hotel Sevdali
#4 of 4 in Myrina
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Plaza Beach Resort Lemnos
2.1 mi away
Ifestos Hotel
Ifestos Hotel
#2 of 4 in Myrina
36 reviews
1.7 mi away
Archontiko Hotel
Archontiko Hotel
#6 of 8 in Myrina
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemnos Village Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemnos Village Resort Hotel

Address: Platy Beach | Platy, 821 03, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lemnos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Lemnos
Price Range: £85 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lemnos Village Resort Hotel is located on Plati Beach, near Myrina, the capital of Limnos (Lemnos) Island. The hotel is a charming complex of luxurious rooms and suites that offers a magnificent view of the Aegean Sea, making it one of the most popular Lemnos hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lemnos Village Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemnos Village Hotel Lemnos
Lemnos Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing