We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lemnos Village Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Lemnos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have just arrived home from a weeks holiday with my two teenage kids, 16 and 18. What a fantastic and active week we had.
Having not been on a Mark Warner holiday since my kids were young I was slightly worried it would be all babies and toddlers as it is early season. We were pleasantly surprised at the mix of ages - ranging from babies right up to grandparents, single people and couples without children. This resort caters for everyone.
The staff were brilliant - both the Greek and British staff were equally friendly, welcoming and all created a fun and relaxed atmosphere. They worked very hard and long hours but seemed really happy and never without a smile on their faces.
The General Manager, George, worked tirelessly to ensure he spoke to each and every guest on a daily basis and seemed to be on duty morning, noon and night. Dedication to his job is an understatement - a rare quality to be found these days.
A special mention for the Aerobics instructor whose enthusiasm and bubbly personality was infectious! She single handedly managed about 7 classes a day and never once stopped smiling - i just hope she doesn't burn herself out!!
There is so much to do at this resort - not a moment for boredom. Most of the equipment on offer is brand new - amazing mountain bikes and great cycle rides.
The food was first class - breakfast, lunch and dinner had an abundance of choice for every taste. The quality of food was excellent and there was always plenty of it. Lots of salads and fresh fruit along with freshly cooked meats and fish.
The resort itself overlooks the bay and is so pretty. Every room has a sea view and is well equipped with a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, balcony with table and chairs, plenty of wardrobe space, air conditioning, comfortable beds, flat screen tv and a good size bathroom. Perfect!
i really cannot find fault with this hotel - we will definitely be back :)

Room Tip: A premium room is larger and caters well for 3 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    66
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
119
60
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tiptree
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We needed a holiday and saw on Secret Escapes a great deal to Lemnos Village Resort with Mark Warner Holidays. We had never even heard of them but thought that the deal was too good to miss with full board and free wine and sports.

All booked we arrived at Heathrow and the service there was impeccable. A lovely breakfast at the airport then onto the plane where there was an experienced BA Crew who couldn't do enough for you. We have to mention Martin the steward who was fab. We didn't realise that the breakfast and drinks were all included so another good surprise. How lovely to be on a almost scheduled service and free leg room which we badly needed being both very tall!

Arriving at Lemnos Airport which was really small but very well organised there were no problems getting to the coaches and lots of smiling and welcoming Mark Warner Staff guiding us on. Just 25mins drive to the hotel complex and how lovely to be welcomed by the staff as we got off. Our luggage was brought to our suite and we were really impressed with the rooms and the balcony overlooking the bay. A fridge was in the second room to keep the water and drinks cool. This was certainly needed as the temperature went from high 20's to early 30's and this is June!

The rooms were kept spotlessly clean and fresh towels and sheets every day. The complex was also spotless and we never saw any litter - how refreshing! The swimming pool was really lovely and there was a lifeguard there at all times. Thank you Lucas for your lovely cheery personality. There was never a problem with getting a sun lounger around the pool or on the beach with a sunshade. A small road to cross to the beach but very safe. The beach was a bit shingly and the first few yards of the sea to get in were too so sea shoes were advised but after that there was flat sand and it was a very refreshing swim!

The beach staff were amazing and very organised. Any type of windsurfing, boarding, sailing, skiing, canoeing were all looked after by them and free excellent training was given. A very happy bunch there who obviously loved being there. There was also free tennis coaching for those people energetic enough to get out there in the hot sun.

The food was out of this world. Really fresh and so tasty. We did say we would just have breakfast and dinner but succumbed to the wonderful food every day so on a diet now! The free wine at lunch and dinner was drinkable and the water also ok. Also good to see the hygienic conditions and no mess or flies. In the evenings it was great to sit outside and watch the incredible sunsets whilst eating an excellent meal. There was so much choice and the desserts were to die for!

Best of all was the wonderful organisation by the manager George who really is the star of this show. He is really incredible and works hard to make it a great holiday for you and makes sure he says goodbye personally to every person when you leave.All the staff were so lovely and you could see how happy they were working there.

On our last night I had a heart scare and was rushed into the hospital at Lemnos and George came over and translated for us and stayed with us the whole night. We cannot thank him enough and its obvious that all the staff adore him.

Everyone we talked to had been with Mark Warner many times and now we will be doing the same as cannot think how we had never heard of them before. Thank you George for making our holiday one to remember!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be good but it is on a steep hill so make sure if you have walking problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LuvvySuperStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

beach is tiny and shingly. flight on mark warner was a horrid charter. food pretty poor. one there v few options. one day my wife took windsail out and drifted to end of beach where there are rocks. windsail staff just sat in front of their station watching as she dragged it back single handed.
i would never go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Britcrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is one of the best holidays we have ever been on and I booked it very last minute!

The transfers from the airport in Lemnos to the Mark Warner resort is approx a 20 minute drive. All the MW staff were on hand and directed you to your coach after welcoming you to Lemnos. Everything ran like clockwork and the staff are all very friendly. The location is just stunning. The rooms are just fab. We had a one bedroomed room which was right at the top of the resort, but the views were just incredible and its a view you never tire of looking at. Every room has a balcony with a table and chairs and a small washing line (with pegs) All the rooms have fridges and a kettle. The rooms are lovely, the bathroom has a bath and over the bath shower which all worked perfectly. The bathroom also has a hairdryer. Linen and towels were changed daily and the floors washed etc.

The location of the MW resort is just beautiful. There is so much to do. All the watersports on the beach are amazing and the staff are just great. They know their stuff and nothing is too much trouble for them. Its great fun to try all the different types of watersports available and you can take a course or two in the various activities if you want to. The mountain bike hire is great and the chap who looks after the bikes, Tom, is very knowledgeable and has plenty of maps and also organises tour's around the island on the bikes.

The next town is Myrina, which is just lovely. There is a supermarket there where you can buy most things, and is much cheaper than buying at the resort (drinks etc)

The kids club is just fantastic. My daughter was in the 12-17 year old club and she just had a brilliant time. The club manager is amazing and had such a great rapport with all the kids. The kids club staff were great fun and they really looked after the children and did such great things with them. Every day there were different activities with lots of fun with the watersports and in the pool. My daughter learnt to do so much in the week that we were here.

The food, just amazing. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, lots to chose from with plenty of choice daily The lunchtime and evening meals were just fabulous, plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables. Food is cooked in front of you and the staff are always on hand to help. In the evening sitting outside eating your tea with the fabulous sunset is just heaven!

The only downside to our holiday is we had to come home.....we had a brilliant time. You can make this holiday as full on as you want or just relaxing by the beach or pool. We hope to go back again later in the year!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic, the views are amazing. Lots of steps to the rooms at the top so maybe not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank loobylou2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Good points; the local staff were great and very friendly and helpful. The room (at first glance, is very nice). The food whilst a bit basic, was very fresh and plenty of choice of salads. The pool area was OK, with enough sunbeds, although resort was only half full when we were there. The room was cleaned every day with fresh linen and towels and had a nice balcony with great sea view.

Average points; the MW staff on the whole were not as good as other resorts we have stayed at. Many of the activities didn't happen. There was no update on what was available and staff seemed to be quite insular e.g. only water polo match that took place all week, seemed to be made up of 50% staff and nobody had come round to ask if you would like to join in. We took out a kayak when there was literally nobody else on the 'waterfront' yet it was delivered to the water full of sand from the last people with no help to find the right size life jacket whilst 4 staff stood around chatting. Only time they came to life was when we paddled out of their marker buoys....tut tut.

Bad points; the beach when we arrived was literally about knee deep in seaweed...yuck. MW only seem to have a very small stretch of the beach which is then overcrowded and not as clean as the rest of the bay. The free wine is Ok at lunchtime, but at dinner is unspeakable!! They serve it up in jugs that I can only imagine have been washed up in an inefficient dish washer with the fish fryer....always tasted of oil. After sending it back a few times, we gave up and bought some wine to take into dinner. The shower was really low pressure, so trickled down the back of the bath and all over the floor every time. And they must have an issue with a local who seemed to bring his dog for a walk at the top of the stairs leading down to the restaurant every day to leave a nice surprise for everyone as they made their way down. This was not cleaned up for several days, so built up to a nice collection to pick your way past on the way to dinner....nice!

We had a nice holiday, because we always do. There was nothing terrible about this resort, but there was nothing spectacular either. I have to say we wouldn't go back here, as we have stayed at better run MW resorts with more to offer both in resort and locally round and about.

One last niggle, was the manager seemed to strut around like some sort of God, with many people saying ooh we knew George when he ran 'San Ag', so clearly he has a fan base, but not once did he ask if we were having a nice time, or if there was anything his staff could do better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneReviewsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This review is only about a booking problem connected with a special needs child and not a review of Mark Warner as a whole.

Recent attempts to book a family holiday at Lemnos Village have left us very upset and disappointed. We have an autistic teenager who loved her last Mark Warner experience 2 years ago in Levante Beach. We reminded the company that she is autistic but were clear that she does not need any additional help or support now that she is 16; certainly not 1:1 help or additional staff. We were looking forward to our daughter really enjoying mixing with other children and having the freedom to attend activities independently. The environment is perfect for a teenager like her; safe, non-competitive, fun, active and lively - excellent staff.

Mark Warner said that we cannot go to Lemnos with an autistic teenager because they cannot provide extra staff at this location, although they can at some other places. We insisted that she does not need extra staff and we would not wish her to have a support worker but they just said, no, this is their policy (a policy which they apparently cannot provide in writing). I said we could just book online then and not mention her difficulties at all. Their response was that we would be turned away when we arrived if we did this - they would know that she was autistic because they have a file from our previous holiday. In other words, we cannot go on this holiday at this location, however able we say that our daughter is.

If other parents are considering whether to book a Mark Warner holiday with a child who has extra needs or disabilities, however slight (mild visual impairment, ADHD, dyspraxia, Aspergers etc), we would recommend that you keep this to yourselves in case you are allocated a 1:1 person who singles your child out as different or, worse, totally rejected as we were. (Of course, if your child does need extra help and therefore extra staff, the offer of this even at a few specific resorts may be very welcome indeed).

They also shocked us by saying that other children in our family would not be able to enjoy a holiday with our daughter because they would effectively have to be her carers. This is both incorrect and insulting - our daughter is fine company and jolly amusing!

Sadly, this seems to reflect the company's attitude to special needs children; they are branded as terribly difficult, unpleasant to be with, demanding and requiring an adult stuck to them at all times to make sure that they are contained.

We hope that this review is helpful. Mark Warner holidays otherwise are a top class company for activity holidays - children are active, independent of their parents and always make good friends there. The food is normally excellent as well. We would not wish this report to influence the vast majority of potential clients who are likely to have a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Mark Warner holidays are always great for families and this was no exception in terms of activities on offer and amazing childcare - but the resort itself (literally just opened at that time) left a lot to be desired. We had to move room twice, once due to the smell from drains and the second time because the door blocked and the air-con broke. The wine offered ( MW hols are usually All Inclusive) was literally paint stripper comedy wine- We expected it to be pretty rough but that was something special!
The beach was clean and the bay was great for sailing, windsurfing etc...and the kids clubs and staff were up to the excellent MW standard you'd expect. The food was just about OK, the rooms were about 2 /3* which is not unusual for Mark Warner, so overall it was OK.....
Given the cost of MW, you always have to weigh up the standard of accommodation and food vs the other facilities and benefits - We have done other Mark Warner holidays ( Sardinia and Corsica) and would rate those resorts over Lemnos - but they were just getting going at Lemnos when we went at Easter 2013, so they may have improved the accommodation and food since then.
Overall the staff were good and the watersports on the money too ( most of the kit was brand new) - the kids activities were great, as was the babysitting /watching service which most parents used daily /nightly. The bar area is small and there is nothing to do after dinner - but if you've done a MW holiday you'll probably know you are tired out from the bikes, tennis, swimming, surfing and sailing adventures of the day. The location is completely isolated so you get the bay to yourself which is lovely and it is a short taxi trip to a little village for a change of scene if you need it - shame they hadn't licked the accommodation into shape, but more recent visitors may have noticed the difference a few months makes. Great for beginners as well as experienced sailors - though the beachfront did have teething problems organising the timings for lessons and groups. They blamed this on teething problems, so have probably ironed that out. If not, get to the beachfront meeting early and book yourself in for everything on the first day - places go fast and they did have a few disappointed guests when we were there. As with all MW hols, you kind of get out what you put in.

Their tennis coach was good - and popular - and there were plenty of courts and times to play - and v very enthusiastic fitness coach who had plenty of takers for early morning work outs by the pool. Overall it was as expected, but the rooms let them down.

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the bar areas and avoid rooms directly behind the beachbar - the roof ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bakingcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lemnos hotels
11.8 mi away
Traditional Hotel Varos Village
4.9 mi away
Hotel Porto Plaza Beach Resort Lemnos
10.3 mi away
Hotel Ethaleia
Hotel Ethaleia
#1 of 1 in Moudros
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ifestos Hotel
Ifestos Hotel
#2 of 4 in Myrina
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panorama Plati
Panorama Plati
#1 of 18 in Lemnos
33 reviews
2.2 mi away
Afrodite Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemnos Village Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemnos Village Resort Hotel

Property: Lemnos Village Resort Hotel
Address: Platy Beach | Platy, 821 03, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lemnos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Lemnos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lemnos Village Resort Hotel is located on Plati Beach, near Myrina, the capital of Limnos (Lemnos) Island. The hotel is a charming complex of luxurious rooms and suites that offers a magnificent view of the Aegean Sea, making it one of the most popular Lemnos hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lemnos Village Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemnos Village Hotel Lemnos
Lemnos Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing