We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb”

Petrified Forest of Lesbos
Ranked #5 of 80 things to do in Lesbos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Fascinating and location is beautiful - but if you go in full summer cover up and take plenty of water,,,

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Iamanonymousafterall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    74
    32
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Redwood Forest in Greece?”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Who would have thought that apart from San Francisco there used to be another redwood forest in existence although some millions of years earlier. If you visit in Summer be prepared for the heat as there are very few areas other than the entrance to purchase drinks. Make sure you have a hat as you will certainly need it along the many trails.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank halnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hot Day”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Very interesting but it was such a hot day and its all up hill on the way back keep this vist for spring and autumn

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank miaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Interesting and worthwhile....”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We drove from Molyvos with the express intention of visiting the petrified forest, unfortunately we got distracted in the local town of Sigri where we found a lovely little taverna overlooking an attractive beach within a sheltered bay. After a very relaxing few hours we checked out the time and to our surprise most of the afternoon had already gone. We quickly jumped into our car and drove 15 minutes into the hills behind the town on the main road and then took the right hand spur along the ridge line to the end of the road where the Petrified Forest Park can be found. We walked in at 4.10pm and were told that the site closes at 5pm, but that we had to leave at 4.50pm so that the road to the site could be closed to traffic. We therefore had a very quick run around to have a look along the main footpath loop.

As has been said, the site lies on the side of a steep hill and the pathways lead down and then back up to the entrance, past an array of standing, lying and excavated tree trunks of varying sizes and colours.

There is little in the way of interpretation of the site, which means that you can allow your imagination to run wild about how the trees looked in their prime and the cataclysm that took place on the site.

Cost was 2 euro's per person, do take a hat and something to drink as the site is exposed and the sun is hot. Drive time from Molyvos is about 90 minutes.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing thing to see”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Well, you have petrified chunk of trees lying aroung. Its hot, there is no shade, path is steep and dangerous. Please buy bottle of water per person before going down! There is a toilet, but I will put a photo later on. Its quite middle-age scene ;-)

Parking is small, so everybody parked just on the street.

From the other hand its amazing! The only such thing in Europe and 2nd in the world.
Ticket cost is 5eur.

There is also museum in Sigri, with the petrified trees, so you can skip this and go directly there if you want.

Its a must thing to see

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank skolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petrified Forest of Lesbos also viewed

 

Been to Petrified Forest of Lesbos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing