We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster of a place”
Review of Garden The Tavern

Garden The Tavern
Ranked #137 of 315 Restaurants in Samos
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disaster of a place”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We ate here on recommendation of other hotel guests. It might be we were just unlucky but we seemed to discover the one place in Samos that couldn't cook fish. My wifes fish platter was tough and inedible. I think it was twice cooked fish as it was like leather. When we commented the waiter unhelpfully suggested we should have asked for fish "medium" done! Wouldn't go there again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DustyL186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    10
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“So good, we went back ”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

A nice courtyard setting and very welcoming host family. Food was fresh and good quality, I particularly enjoyed the Moussaka.

Helpful?
Thank charlieksays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Average eating, good price”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Restaurant in back streets of Vathi, with live Greek music on certain evenings of the week. We have ordered a set menu for 2, consisting of few cold starters, salad and platter of mixed grills, plus half a liter of local wine. The food was nothing special, and even poor in comparison with other options available on the island and town. But considering mere 20 euros for the entire meal, this was good value for money. We recommend it particularly to the budget conscious travellers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank siteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The food here was rather average but the place lacked atmosphere. I saw no member of staff ever smile and the proprietor seemed to delight in throwing water at any cat that came into the area. Sad. Looked really good but didn't live up top our expectation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KayDee-Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great taverna with nice surrondings”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

This taverna is set in a large garden with many fruit trees, very pretty. Food and service very good it is the only taverna we went to twice during our 2 week stay on Samos. Worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scubadubado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden The Tavern also viewed

Samos, Northeast Aegean Islands
Samos Town, Samos
 
Samos, Northeast Aegean Islands
Kokkari, Samos
 

Been to Garden The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing