We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thasos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mediterranean Apartments
Ranked #37 of 91 Hotels in Thasos
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lovely location, lovely staff and a newly refurbished room. We arrived in the 3rd week of the season (18th May) for a week's stay. Following a friend's recommendation, we've been trying to book a stay here for nearly 6 years !
No complaints whatsoever - the 70 paces from our room to the beach weren't at all taxing, but if we weren't quite feeling that energetic, we saved ourselves half of that distance to the poolside! All of the food (we were half board) was varied and a good standard - breakfast consisted of fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast and preserves, eggs, sausages, bacon, beans, tomatoes and mushrooms. My only quibble would be that the hot items on the breakfast buffet could have all been hotter. You choose your evening meal from a choice of 4, at breakfast, and each meal was superb, with a good representation of greek dishes. A cold salad buffet bar is available at dinner and a dessert table. The bar staff, Jordan and Sonny were helpful, fun and a credit to the Mediterranean apartments - nothing was too much trouble. Karen and Jenny were on hand at most times and always happy to help.The ferry transfer was a great part of the holiday, and all transfers were quick and well organised. Our intention for this week's holiday was just to relax and stay put for the duration prior to our wedding. We'll definitely return here and make sure we book a car for a few days to visit some of the great looking beaches on the island. On the day before we travelled home, we were lucky (?) enough to be at the apartments when Thassos had an earthquake - this was quite an event and had everyone talking and verifying on the internet that we'd experienced a 6.5 on the Richter scale event - everything was fine, no damage, just a considerable 'swaying' sensation. This is NOT a normal occurrence and I wouldn't want anyone to worry about visiting the island. To sum up, we loved the island, the apartments, the setting and the staff. A definite 'recommend' - we'll be back

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, next to the reception and had absolutely no issues with noise. I initia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

When you land in mainland Greece the transfer from the airport to the ferry, to the hotel is easy and well done.
The Med apartments are off the main road and set on the beach. When you arrive you are expected to hand your passport in and then you get your room key.
The room is clean and tidy but the bathroom is a bit dated but functional.
Jennie and Karen are very warm and welcoming as well as the boys at the bar,who are happy to have a laugh and a joke.
The pool and beach are kept very clean and just the view out over the ocean is the most beautiful!
The food is authentic and tasty which is fantastic as we are in Greece after all!!
The Med is so chilled out and with only 26 rooms you get chatting to others ,but can easily do your own thing.
We just wanted to chill,Sun bathe,and let the days just drift by...perfect.
We totally recommend and will be back!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here again in July. As you enter the Hotel you can see straight through to the pool and beach. The staff Karen,Sonny and Jordan and kitchen staff are great. Excellant food from breakfast to your evening meal. You must try Olga's esp. for the Greek night,Pakis beach hotel which is has the same owner as the Med. great value for money and you can get a free taxi there.
The location is perfect peaceful,just the walk to to the sea could be to far for some need lay on beach buggy's, no only joking walk out of reception 20 metres pool and bar another 20 metres sea.
We just don't know how Karen,Sonny and Jordan do it working double shifts 7 days a week for 6 months. It's lovely place for all ages.
My Son said he will be back just push Sonny into the pool !?!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kelvin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at the Mediterranean apps during September had a most relaxing stay. The hotel is located On the beachfront with plenty of sun beds for everyone the staff are wonderful and extremely helpful. The area is very quiet but there were a couple of Tavernas which were worth a visit and Olga's on a Thursday is well worth checking out. Only downside is the lack of choice at meal times my partner is vegetarian and had no choice whatsoever. The food Is well cooked and tasty but as I said, limited. All in all a nice place to chill.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

From the moment we arrived in Thassos we were amazed. The ferry trip is a really good way to arrive on Thassos Island, you can see it from a distance, then after 45 mins your stepping off.
As we entered the Mediterranean Hotel we were stunned by its beauty, you can see straight through the hotel to the beach and it really has the wow factor.

From the moment we arrived the med was very welcoming. The staff are an absolute credit to the hotel and for us they made our first time in Greece very memorable. Our room wasn’t that great the balcony was in the corner and not very private I asked Karen the manager and she switched our room at the end of the first week for us, which was really nice of her and something which she didn’t have to do. Saying that we made friends with the next-door neighbours and missed having them next door in the second week.

The island of Thassos is fantastic if you want to chill, but you can go into Thassos town which is busier, but to be honest every night we were too full and tired so stayed around the bar! There are some nice walks out there and you can hire a car really cheap! The roads are quiet with hardly any traffic, which is a massive bonus.

The food at the Med is brilliant, breakfast is great-greek yogurt fruit and honey! We still miss it! It’s not the same in England. There is a really good lunch and evening menu’s have great variety-always something you will like each night.

The hotel is in a 5* location you are literally 20 metres from the sea; we have never been anywhere so chilled and beautiful. Outside of the hotel there is not tons of things to do, there is a massive supermarket and small mini mart near by about 8 eating places and about 4 bars but its nice just having a drink at the hotel bar and chatting to others. We recommend Olga’s restaurant next door and Gekas round the corner the seafood is AMAZING!! Its so cheap too, massive platter of king prawns for 6 euros! And a mixed fish platter for 12! One night we went to Pakis beach hotel, which they offer to pick you up from your hotel and drop you off after your meal for free! Its only 5 mins in the car, and the food is great there too.

We are a couple in our mid twenties and found the Med to be the best chill out place its quite and a nice place to recuperate. People on here have said that young couples are not very welcome at the Med… what a load of CRAP! We fitted right in and had a laugh with some of the guests and the staff every day and night. No one can say they haven’t had a personal service at the Med, because those guys try their very best. Which must be hard considering they work double shifts 7 days a week for 6 months.

We want to say a massive thank you Karen, Sony, and Jordan, as well as all the other guys that help run the hotel the cleaners and cooks and bar girl, for making our holiday really amazing. We have NEVER been sad to leave a holiday, until we went here; every one is very close and personally makes your holiday memorable. We definitely want to go back next year !!!!!!!

From talking to other guests at the Med they have been all over Greece and the world, the Maldives, Kenya, Cruises, the Bahamas, yet they have been coming back to the Med year after year. That just speaks volumes to us, because it shows you don’t have to spend thousands on a holiday to get a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

An excellent seven day break at a first class Thomson holiday resort...superbly located literally on the beach it has all the facilities that one requires plus the added attraction of real Greek tavernas and bar all very close by.
A very relaxing holiday aided by a very stress free and clean facilities.
A great breakfast provided to suit all needs.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I can only echo all the positive comments - our first visit to the Mediterranean Apartments but hopefully not our last. Karen, Sonny and Jordan make this place special (not forgetting their brilliant Chef and their super cleaning staff) combined with a fabulous setting they are a winning combination. Quiet location perfect for chilling with friends and chatting to fellow guests.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank mondaymorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thasos hotels
0 mi away
Luxury Villa Fotini
Luxury Villa Fotini
#8 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
35 reviews
9.1 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#9 of 10 in Skala Potamias
40 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Anais
Hotel Villa Anais
#64 of 91 in Thasos
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#15 of 91 in Thasos
410 reviews
11.4 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
13.6 mi away
Thassos Grand Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Apartments

Address: Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 91 Hotels in Thasos
Number of rooms: 235
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Apartments Hotel
Mediterranean Apartments Greece/Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing