We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Impressions do not count”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thasos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mediterranean Apartments
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Thasos
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Travelled to Thassos with my husband and 8 year old daughter, with Thomsons. Really smooth and well organised transfer. Pulled up outside hotel and my heart sank...it appeared to be in the middle of nowhere and when we got to our room it seemed small (with the extra bed in it), we couldn't open the shutters for our window as it was literally directly onto someones balcony and our own balcony seemed tiny. BUT, that was just our first impressions when we looked around we realised there was a stunning pool area right on the beach and when we went in the sea it was shallow, great for snorkelling catching fish and hermit crabs. It didn't take us long to love the place, the staff are so friendly and there seems such a relaxed chilled out feel that all the fellow holiday makers were friendly and chatty. We also discovered there were plenty of Tavernas, some on the beach (if you walk to the left and keep going for about 15 mins you'll come across a fish restaurant - closed when we were there, and just abit further are another 3 Tavernas - we ate at Vikys which was good). We found the prices at the hotel bar very reasonable and meals out at some excellent places (across the road and by the Supermarket) were the cheapest we have paid in the last few years (still expensive due to exchange rate but better than some). Would definately recommend the hotel BBQ and quiz. Had a great night with a fab bunch of people and enjoyed cocktails when we won. Would recommend hiring a car as Thassos is beautiful, highlights for us were Panagia and Paradise Beach. We also caught the bus to Thassos town one eve for a stroll and a meal. I would definately recommend these studios but bear in mind its 3 star and you will be going there for the excellent location on the beach and the very warm welcome from staff. One thought...my daughter enjoyed playing with a few other children who were there but if you went out of school holiday time you may not find many other children (obviously good if you want a childfree holiday but not if you want some company for your child). I am sure that we would go back in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRunningman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 99 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2009

I spent the last week of August at the Mediterranean Apartments in Scala Rahoni with my twenty year old son and fourteen year old daughter. We had a lovely time. We had a ground floor apartment with an outward facing balcony which was nice and private. The apartment was spacious and comfortable with three separate beds. The building is located on a quiet beach where we happily lazed about in the sun, played cards, read, and popped back to the pool bar for odd drinks and snacks. We swam and snorkelled in the sea, and walked along the bay to the marina to see the boats every day. The resort is very low key, with a useful mini-market around the corner but very little else which suited us just fine. The local tavernas were friendly and laid back. We caught the local bus to Thassos town a couple of times for a change of scenery and meals by the harbour, but were happy to return by taxi to our peaceful base at the end of the evening. The only big outing we had was to Philippi on the mainland which is a wonderful trip for anyone interested in New Testament, Greek or Roman history, and was too good a chance to miss. Otherwise, we simply chilled out in the pleasant ambience of Scala Rahoni, and I'm pleased to report that we weren't bothered at all by mosquitos or wasps. We were well satisfied with the accomodation and with the arrangements by Thomsons (the ferry ride across to the island was an excellent start to the week).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwynfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Great place to go and chill out. Staff were most helpful and always very friendly - Karen is English and extremely organised and helpful. Not many tavernas around, Gekas, Olgas, and Gorgona in the village. Montog a bit further (beware of the toilet!), towards Skala Prinou and 3 others further still. All excellent value. Also, the barbecue and quiz at the Mediterranean was very good fun and tasty food well prepared by Sonny and Karen (10 euros).
The thing that we really liked about this quiet place was that you can walk in a number of directions to break up the day, going along country roads with few cars passing. We also walked to Rachoni village - taking about an hour each way.
We hired a car from 9 - 9 from Vepa in the village for 25 euros + petrol over 100km (but no charge was made!). You can drive round the island easily in that time with plenty of stops. Also an excellent bus service which was cheap and reliable (1.40 euros to town). Taxis cost about 10 - 12 euros into Limenas.
Watch out for 2 things - firstly, small, unseen biters (sandflies?). My partner had something like 60 bites and had to go to the Health Centre at Prinou - they were great. Mosi-guard etc. didn't seem to work on them. Secondly, the island is very green - mainly because there are fairly regular thunder storms - we experienced one or two heavy bouts.
Great trips - the walk in the mountains organised by Thomsons - didn't walk far, but the guide Rose was very interesting and she made an excellent lunch eaten outside a little church. We travelled to Phillipi on the mainland under our own steam and thoroughly enjoyed the experience (taxi to port, hydrofoil to Kavala and local bus to Phillipi). Also took time out in Kavala on the way back. Panagia is well worth a wander round and Archangelos Monastery is very interesting. In Limenas, the climb up to the Acropolis and Byzantine Castle are worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edinburghgrecofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

7th - 14th June 2009

We have just returned from a very relaxing stay at the Mediterranean Apartments. The hotel itself is situated right on the beach. We were given a warm welcome by Karen. The rooms were very spacious, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. Aircon was 5 euros a night, safety deposit was 2 euros a night. On the first night we had a problem with the shower head which was spraying water everywhere. We mentioned this to Karen the next morning and by lunchtime it had been replaced. Jordan & Sonny were great hosts in the bar which was adequately stocked, reasonably priced and the food served from the pool bar was FAB. The BBQ / Quiz on Friday night was superb. The food was delicious, better than in the restaurants in the resort. Food was served in the pool bar from 8am to 9.30pm. Wednesday was our 20th wedding anniversary and on returning from a trip to the summit of Mt. Ipsarion we found a lovely posy of flowers had been left in a glass of water in front of our anniversary cards on the dressing table. Very thoughtful of the cleaners :)

The resort itself was very quiet with just a handful of small tavernas. We tried them all and the food was okay but nothing special and the service was very good. For our anniversary we met friends staying in Skala Prinou and after a champagne sunset at the Socrates Plaza we had pre-dinner drinks at the wonderful Elysee Bar followed be a fantastic meal at the Louros Restaurant. It was so good we returned the next night and again on our final night. It's a 50 mins walk along to beach to Skala Prinou or just €5 in a taxi. We can also recommend Brian's Bar in Skala Prinou which is right on the sea front with a FAB view of the sunset and an excellent host.

We hired a Jeep for 2 days and drove to the summit of Mt. Ipsarion before stopping at the Lake on the way back down. We spent a morning in Thassos Town which is very clean and has some excellent shops and tavernas/bars. We toured right round the island, visiting Panagia, Potamis, Golden Beach and Theologos. All the villages were very beautiful and the scenery breathtaking.

The weather was FAB .. the transfers to and from resort were very well organised and stress-free .. all in all, a very peaceful and relaxing holiday. We will definitely revisit the beautiful island of Thassos and without a doubt will stay at the Mediterranean Apartments and visit Skala Prinou for most meals.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Thassos is an experience to get to in the first place. Your luggage is taken from you at the airport and delivered to your accommodation by lorry. You are taken to the port and the ferry departure point and time is pointed out. You can then relax and have a drink as there are loads of tavernas there. This is nice as it breaks up the trip. You then have around a 40 minute trip to the Island where the coach will be waiting. Transfer to Scala Rachoni is about 30 minutes including a couple of drops. You are welcomed there by Karen who manages the place and directed to your room. The rooms are okay, quite typical for Greece but they are very well stocked with utensils and glasses, cups, etc.. There was some washing up liquid, a tea towel and a scourer/sponge also. Aircon is available at 6 euros a day and the safe for about 2 euros a day. Our room was on the top floor looking straight out to sea and we had a very small balcony. Everyone else had a good size balcony. One thing I didn't like was that there are no screens between them which is fine except that if you have 'Mr. Boring' who likes to come and bore you when you're trying to quietly read a book, about what the weather is like at home or what other holidays he's been on there is no escape!! Even if he is three doors away!! Also, because of the layout of the building (u shaped) as soon as you open your curtains everyone elso on your floor can see straight into your room.....so unless you are an exhibitionist cover up first. The maid sort of cleaned the room every day ( there was a large feather on the floor under the table on the day we arrived and it didn't disappear until the day before we left ) except Saturday. The pool bar did a good variety of snacks very reasonably priced. A large beer was 2.50 so not bad. Soft drink 1.50. Didn't try the pool. No point as right on the beach. Beach far from 'golden sand' as it says on the website but pretty good. You can wade out a long way and still only be up to your waist so very safe. Absolutely nothing to do in resort so be prepared to relax. Only a couple of tavernas and one supermarket. Larger one about 20 minutes walk. Gekas Taverna the best. Free ouzo and bread on arrival and a main course with a 1/2 litre of red wine never cost more than 21 euros for two. Friendly staff. Waiter Aramando always ready to chat. Manager likes you to try a little greek so go on, be a devil. Even if its only Yammas! Thassos absolutely beautiful. To see it at its best you need to hire a car, preferable 4+4 as many roads are dirt tracks. This is where you will find the best places and views. See a track and go for it. You won't be disappointed. Best beach on the Island is Paradise Beach on the East coast. You can drive down to it if you're careful otherwise its a long walk back up. Having been to 9 Greek Islands, this ranks as our second favourite after Kefalonia. Trust me, if you are looking for a laid back, quiet and beautifule place to go then this is for you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank killijw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thasos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#1 of 3 in Skala Rachoniou
135 reviews
6.0 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#11 of 89 in Thasos
423 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alea Hotel & Suites
Alea Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Skala Prinou
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
159 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#16 of 89 in Thasos
407 reviews
11.4 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Apartments

Address: Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Thasos
Number of rooms: 235
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Apartments Hotel
Mediterranean Apartments Greece/Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing