We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Family Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makryammos Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makryammos Bungalows
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Thasos
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Having just stayed at Makryammos for 2 weeks as a family of 4, we did not want to leave! Really wonderful setting in a hilly forest leading down to a beautiful beach. It was perfect for our 3 and 4 year old while my wife and I could sit back and relax as they played safely in the sea. The snorkelling was really good - crystal clear water with thousands of fish and even a few cuttlefish!

The food was varied and very good, the pool and bars were nice and we had 2 weeks of blue skies and 32 - 40 degrees. Some of the bungalows are looking a bit old inside and when we turned up we were allocated one with bunk beds - no use for a 3 and 4 year old especially with tiled flooring but reception were very helpful and found us a different bungalow without bunks.

Peacocks roam freely and come up to the bungalow terraces as do wild deer and we even had a resident owl who visited our terrace during the evening. There is also a small zoo where the kids fed the deer daily with left over watermelon :)

Not many English people there - mostly from Romania, Russia, Ukraine, Greece and Germany. And there is ofcourse the usual sunbed wars around the pool with towel placement.

Thassos town is not far - 6 Euros in a taxi or a 15 - 20 minute hilly walk. I would say the walk is not suitable for young children due to lack of any pavement. It is a lovely little town, I really recommend the Thassian Doukas restaurant at sunset. Also Simi and Mythos resaurants (also at sunset). Plenty of ATMS or the Bungalows can change Travellers Cheques.

It really is a beautiful and quiet place with a lot to do. Thoroughly recommended! (as is the Mythos beer!!!)

Room Tip: If you can - pay a little for a family room or request no bunk beds. Some rooms are fairly high up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colada_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    104
    50
    18
    7
See reviews for
182
118
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

The minute we arrived we knew we'd made an excellent choice. As said before, the beach is stunning & gently shelving; even in early June it was warm enough to tempt me off my sun lounger. The 'bungalows' are located in-between well established trees & it's a fairly steep climb back to them but not too far even to the top row. We had a sea view & a spacious balcony with table & chairs. The room was basic but compared to many in Greece well equipped - beds on the hard side but a fridge, hair dryer & working TV with BBC World News. Nice hot shower; the finish in the bathroom would be the only area for any (tiny) complaint. But hey it's Greece; we've stayed in MUCH, MUCH worse. Rooms kept very clean.

There is a tennis court, fab pool, kids club, kids playground, bar areas - internal & external & a lovely restaurant - which is both inside & out. And a lovely beach. Plenty for anyone. Oh yes & peacocks strolling around & a load of deer for the kids to feed :)

We hired a car & in a day saw most of the island's coast. It's a beautiful & UNSPOILED place - so nice to find an island which hasn't been ruined. We also took a boat trip to Golden Beach which we enjoyed - another fabulous expanse of glorious sand. We loved Paradise Beach - now found out it's the nudist beach but very little (!) on display.

Loved the town, fantastic museum (I'm not a huge museum fan), also there is an ampitheatre & old ruins just to amble over. The ports are lovely with backstreets to amble around. The ferry over from the mainland is only about 30 mins so it's all very accessible.

We tired a bit of the food - it would be the one area of slight criticism. Only about 4 similar puddings, we ate a huge amount of water melon! There is also a taverna which we ate at once for lunch. An easy walk to local supermarket & you get a fridge in your room so easy enough to make up food to eat on your balcony ahead of your siesta.

Unusually for us we all agreed we'd love to return - it was a really relaxing place to holiday & I would find it hard to understand how anyone wouldn't agree.

Room Tip: If of limited mobility you will need one low down the hill. There are some premium rooms very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SCTBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here for a week at the end of May and although the weather was hotter back home we had a lovely relaxing break !The rooms are set into the hillside and yes we were right at the top!Although they are quite basic they are kept clean and had tv and hair dryer .The beach is gorgeous and kept very clean and tidy by the very friendly Theo. The sea is shallow for quite a way out, great if you have kids. We had half board and could not fault the food, it was varied plentiful and fresh.All the staff were friendly .Drinks in the bar were expensive so we stuck to bottles of wine which were cheaper and of good quality.I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again..

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if you have mobility problems.You can pay more to be nearer the beach. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babyfaceManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We visited Makryammos “Bungalows” in May 2012 while on a short holiday in Thasos. Our original itinerary did not include this resort due to prices indicated on booking engines, but as the end of our Thasos week approached, the price had fallen drastically (to 80 euro per double room with breakfast and dinner) and we booked for two extra nights on the island to try it out (non-guests pay to enter the grounds). Close to the old town of Limenas, the resort has its own bay, beach and facilities. Included buffet food in the restaurant and terrace was good to excellent with incredible variety; rooms were spacious and well appointed (including refrigerator, strangely located in an unventilated cabinet), in tiers of six-room blocks (not chalets) all with porches facing the sea (problem: no gutters so roofs drain onto the middle of the porch, for some time after rain ends). It could be a challenge to walk up to rooms high on the hill; try to get a lower location (which may require a “superior” room, which we were lucky to have). There is internet in the main buildings, but we could also get it from our room. Be careful: booking engines may say “last room left” but in fact the resort was half empty (“no rooms” equals none left in that booking site’s allocation, not that the resort is necessarily full). We’ll go back, when we see equally attractive rates. Note: two companies run ferries from Keramoti to Limenas; a web search in English will only show the one with a native English web site. The other uses Google translate, and does not appear easily: www.anethferries.gr Both companies alternate for hourly service. Rates are identical.

Room Tip: Try to get a down-hill location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ritzarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We are staying at the Makryammos bungalows at the moment. I am here with a party of 16 made up of our family of children and grandchildren , the youngest being 18 months old. It is very beautiful here with a stunning bay of white sand and clear blue sea. The beach is always kept clean and tidy. However, it costs €7 a day for 2 sunbeds and an umberella. Over two weeks that soon adds up.There is a lovely backdrop of pine forest and peacocks roam freely. The food is always good with a nice variety for breakfast and evening meal, which are included. The rooms are kept very clean as are the public areas. All the staff are friendly and helpful. In good weather this place could be paradise. However, in bad weather, which we have had quite a lot of, there is nothing, at all, for the children to do . The kids club is closed and the only English program on the tv is the news. Also, at lunch time there is a very limited menu and the taverna is not yet open. The food and drink here is very expensive. Coffee is between €2.80-€4 and chips were €2.50 but have just gone up to €3.50. A coke for the children is €2.20. There is a supermarket about 15-20 minuits walk away but it is a hard climb up hill or €6 in a taxi, which the reception will order for you. It is the same price to Thasdos town. Makryammos bungalows is not suited to people with walking difficulties although, as my husband had recently had an operation on his leg, and we e mailed them, they kindly allocated us rooms at the bottom of the hill near the beach, pool and facilities. It really is a lovely place in a beautiful setting, staffed by very friendly and helpful staff. But in bad weather, the children are bored. And bored children make unhappy parents. So to sum up, it's very beautiful but very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aldredtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

We're here now sitting near the pool 10 yards from the beach. Fantastic accommodation brilliant food - staff very friendly - drinks a little expensive - bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank DavetheVillaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

The hotel location is idyllic. The beach is amazing. White sand, gently shelving and clear water. Theo the beach attendant is amazing for local knowledge. The staff overall were so friendly and helpful. The accommodation is very dated but comfortable. The negatives which would stop us returning are mainly the food. The choices were frequently unlabelled and as non-meat eaters it was not easy to identify foods we could eat. There was also poor or no main meal vegetarian option. The Thomson rep's attitude to this was appalling. We reported this matter to her twice and she failed to act on it. We ate out twice because of this. The other big issue is that they charge 7 euros a day for sunbeds which I have never encountered with a hotel before, especially as the beach is private to the resort. This can add quite a bit to your holiday. Finally, despite the brochure advertising that they have entertainment twice a week, there was none when we were there.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views but ask for one near the beach as its a bit of a climb to the ones at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greekophileDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thasos hotels
12.7 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
8.7 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#19 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 9 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 11 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
7.4 mi away
Alea Hotel & Suites
Alea Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Skala Prinou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
13.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makryammos Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makryammos Bungalows

Property: Makryammos Bungalows
Address: Makryammos Beach | 2 km from Limenas (Thasos Town), 640 04, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Thasos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Thasos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Makryammos Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Makryammos Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makryammos Bungalows Hotel
Makryammos Hotel Thásos
Makryammos Bungalows Greece/Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing