We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The view is well worth the journey!

We went on an organised trip in a 4x4 with four other people and a lovely driver/guide by the name... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2019
Guy D
,
Enfield, United Kingdom
A long way up

We booked through an agent, make sure their cars are luxury 4x4 as the drive up is slow and takes... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2019
Penny A
,
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Read all 90 reviews
  
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
69
16
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
16
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off road views are breathtaking amazing hike early in the morning golden beach tui maries climb hiking lizards kastro monastery island hikers thassos honey expedition
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Amaizing view from the top of the mountain, the traking rout from Potamia is a little heavy route that the rout that starts from Prinos/Mikros. The route from Prinos/Mikros can be aproach whit a 4x4 or bi a mountain bike.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Cristian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Been there by foot from Potamia. The track is well marked, frist with wooden signs, later with red marks on the rocks and trees.
Great view from the top and amazing feeling, worth every step you make on those narrow goat tracks.

Date of experience: September 2016
3  Thank zeronenad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

I was there with my family. I had rented off road car Suzuki Jimny for this trip. Very nice view from this place for whole Thasos island especially for Golden beach.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Jozef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

It is not hard to get on the top of the island. With fast walk and no breaks it took me about 80 minutes to go up and with some running on my way back it took me about 60 minutes. Please note that with normal tourist hiking pace it should take about 2-3 hours in one direction.
Route is well marked so you just need to follow the marks and go only up. Take more water as you can fill water only in the beginning of the track. Up at the Astro camping there is no more water (before it was reported that there was some water there). The track goes from concrete / tarmac road to unpaved road and then mountain path. If you have experience with mountains you will find nothing difficult. When you go up to the peak you will see that you can come there with your normal city car as there is a good car road that is going from the other side of the peak. Anyway - hiking is better that driving. View is good and you see all the island from above

Date of experience: September 2016
9  Thank Kabadaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

The top is accessible by an off-road cars, or by feet from Potamia (quite capable mate did it from Golden Beash and back in 8 hrs). Great views from the top!!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Malha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews