We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond cookie-cutters”
Review of Chris Paul Hotel

Chris Paul Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chris Paul Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Diakofto
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beyond cookie-cutters”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Chris Paul, in a spotless, comfortable, perfectly pleasant room, for a more-than-reasonable price. We greatly enjoyed our conversations with the owner/host, who always made time to chat with us. He told us where to have dinner -- the restaurant he sent us to, within walking distance of the hotel, was wonderful -- arranged for our train trip to Kalavrita, and gave us helpful suggestions for planning the day there. The brunch breakfast at the hotel was very good, and very generous. If you're looking for a Hilton experience, go elsewhere. If you want to get to know Greece a bit, go to the Chris Paul.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phylliseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    22
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is a budget hotel which has basic facilities, offering good value for money. Visitors should not expect more as the hotel is in a very small town away from the main tourist draws. It is close to the scenic rack-railway to Kalavrita and the staff will arrange for tickets to be purchased if you don't want to do this at the station (a 2-minute walk away). Breakfast is basic and served in the ground floor dining area. Many rooms have balconies which give views of the surrounding mountains. The owner was very convivial and responded quickly in response to a minor problem which arose during our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel for views of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights while cycling around the Pelopenesse. The room was clean, had a balcony and pleasent. The air conditioning was off as it was October and the weather was cooler. The pool was closed. The major issue was a lack of hot water for showers on our second day. I'm not sure if no one turned on the hot water or if the there was a solar heater which was not working. Whichever, bottom line barely warm water. Breakfast was not great. We had better coffee at the bus station the next morning. The staff was very helpful about the train and bus connections to Corinth and Athens.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadieplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Good points: We stayed in this hotel for proximity to train station and the ease of having the train tickets booked for us, however this is where the positives ended.
Mid points: Service was just about average at a stretch, but little effort was ever put into anything. Milkshakes and diet coke were advertised, but were never available when asked for.
Bad points: The hotel itself is in serious need of updating. Yes, the cost of staying here is reasonable, however we have been staying in places with similar costs but far superior in service and facilities.
The beds were hard as a rock, air con a dud and the shower head refused to be positioned correctly. The pool was okay for cooling down in, but the towels had suffered with so much boil washing, that they were sand paper to the skin. This was the same for the hotel walls, which claimed some of our skin.
To be honest, the whole town was uninspiring. The restaurant we ate at seemed intent on us leaving as quick as possible, which did not match our experiences in other towns, where the friendly Greeks welcomed us with open arms.
All in all a real disappointment for a place which most people seem so positive about. We are not the type of people who expect the world for nothing, but this whole section of our trip was a real low point for us.
I can only hope others who stay here have a more pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LibDan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This was a tough place to locate when arriving during the night. The owner was waiting my arrival, though. I had learned from other reviewers that the hotel would purchase the scenic railroad tickets for you, and I was pleased this was ready and waiting for me. The property was clean, nothing fancy and served as a great jumping off point for the railroad ride.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dapinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is a lovely family run hotelwith a lovely owner. Everything spotlessly clean fresh towels everyday etc. and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. You only have to ask and it is done with a smile. The continental breakfast is more than adequate and equates with others in Europe. The rooms and ensuite are good and the small sunny balcony a bonus. Very close to several tavernas and as mentioned by others the Rack and pinion railway. The surrounding scenery and wildflowers in the Boufoushka Gorge and the Vouvraikos Gorge are breathtaking in April and May and also high up at the ski area on Mt.Chelmos. Butterflies and birds abound. Diakopto is a small frindly little Greek town where you are warmly welcomed by all. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawberrysheep2342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

A very friendly welcome. The owner speaks great English and offered to book our train tickets for us as we were arriving in town after the ticket office closed.

Very convivial reception area; free wifi. The room was quite dated (and cold) and they need a refresh (though this is reflected in the price).

Very central location less than 20 paces from the railway. And if you do the trip up to kalavryta then it really is worth walking back down the tracks.

So in summary, 3/5 for the "hardware"; 5/5 for the "software"

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markpilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diakofto
0.0 mi away
Semantron Traditional Village
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 4 in Diakofto
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Lemonies
#4 of 4 in Diakofto
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#2 of 5 in Epidavros
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apollo Resort Art Hotel
Apollo Resort Art Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kyparissia
359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Hotel Loutraki
Club Hotel Loutraki
#1 of 31 in Loutraki
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chris Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chris Paul Hotel

Property: Chris Paul Hotel
Address: | Orchard close to train station, Diakofto 251 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Achaea Region > Diakofto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Diakofto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chris Paul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chris Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing