We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Archaeological Site Mycenae
from US$43.60
More Info
from US$101.10
More Info
from US$116.20
More Info
from US$172.00
More Info
Reviews (1,122)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
332
146
37
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
146
37
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lion gate trojan war archaeological site down the road cyclopean walls ancient history beehive tomb bring a flashlight bronze age guide book king agamemnon tour buses greek civilization underground cistern royal tombs huge stones information boards
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Visited today with my husband, as on the way to our final destination. Very quiet, given the time of year and weather (would suggest warm clothing as quite windswept). €6 per person entry is very reasonable. Good signage throughout the site, very enjoyable way to spend an hour or so. Climb to the top of the ruins isn't too bad, brilliant view from there. The onsite museum is small but filled with wide variety of finds. The exhibition is set out chronologically so easy to follow. Would recommend if in vicinity.

Thank Luminous55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

Agamemnon, Helen of Troy, Achilles, Paris... we all know about the Trojan war and the wonderful legends of Odyssey and Iliad. Well, it all started here, in Mycenae. Before Ancient Greece, we had Mycenae, the last big Bronze Age palace.
Never miss it!

1  Thank Stefan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visit this historical site after much time and I felt small on the top of this hill. King Agamemnon must felt excited, watching the valley and what he made...
Partially accessible for wheelchair.

1  Thank redman5314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a fantastic site. Try and get there before the coaches arrive and you will have the run of the site. It so worth the hike up to the top for the amazing views. Do go to the museum as well as it puts everything in context and finally don't miss the treasury just outside the main site. its worth it to see the fantastically preserved treasury where you can see the Egyptian influences

1  Thank europeantraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This site is not fully researched yet. It consists of a circular burial area, a sacred ramp, the palace at the top, the granary, house of warriors, temples, cisterns etc. it was raining when we were there, and quite slippy under foot. We did not get the benefit of far distant views which would have been available on a sunny day. The entire hilltop is surrounded in Cyclopean walls- fit for a giant.

Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited the site early October and had such a great time. We spent about 2 hours navigating the site and then went down to the tombs. How cool! It was great to explore on our own. Very easy to find on gps and plenty of parking.

Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The ancient site of Mycenae is one of the most interesting in Greece. It is the remains of a civilization that predates the classical Greek period. The site was crowded with tourists but it was still possible to see the important elements, like Grave circle A and Grave Circle B as well as the Lion's Gate. The site has not been fully excavated and there is till work going on, but the entire site was quite large and extended up the hill. It is something worth seeing to understand the skills and abilities of the people who came before us.

2  Thank kate25x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

"Acropolis" means high city. They are scattered around Greece. This one dates back to around the 13th century BC! Exit the parking lot, through the pay turnstiles and it's a bit of an uphill walk. Clean restrooms as you leave the turnstiles.Head up to the ruins. Inside the "Lion Gates" the ruins of the the citadel surround you. There's a lot to see here if you're archaeologically inclined. You can walk through the ruins at your leisure. Watch your step. Some of the old marble is very slippery. Loose gravel in other spots. Should be doable for just about anyone. We had a tour guide. Recommended. Helps you know what you're looking at. Beautiful panoramic views of the Greek countryside. This is one place where we did not encounter huge crowds.

1  Thank 93KenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We got on a hot day, glad we had water with us. the Lion's Gate was the highlight of the ruins. everything is well marked with signs as to what you were looking at. this was a walled fortified city on a hill for defense. Sturdy shoes are a must. There is a nice but small museum at the base of the hill which has some interesting artifacts. This was about an hour- hour and 15 minutes drive from Athens. pretty country side, from the top looking down on the valley, it is beautiful with olives trees everywhere.
Such a pretty area!

2  Thank chefjj57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

If it hadn't been for Schliemann who endured criticism and taunts for pursuing the excavation of this site (and Troy) based on clues provided by Homer, we would not have this. The Lion Gate is a magnificent entree to what largely needs to be filled in with our imagination. However when you climb to what would have been the royal chambers of Agamemnon, and take in all of the vast lands he and other kings surveyed, you cannot help but be impressed. The water cistern down and to the back of the highest point of the castle is well worth visiting if only for the creepiness of it. I also strongly suggest a visit afterward when you are back in Athens to the National Archaeological Museum to see much of what was found in the Grave circles (A, etc.) on the site. While at the site you can make out the slot graves and down before the tholos tombs of "Clytemnestra," but to see what was found there you need to go to Athens.

Thank flaneur40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews