We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best meal in Greece (over 30 restaurants)”
Review of Taverna Bacchus

Taverna Bacchus
Ranked #13 of 24 Restaurants in Olympia
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: People say that homemade food is the most delicious because it is made with love and ingredients of the best quality. With this in mind and respect to our local traditional recipies we cook everyday for you in our pension's tavern.Every plate we are preparing is made of high quality ingredients chosen every day from local producers. We are extra careful to the choises we make for the fresh vegetables and the local meat. Main Ingredient for the success of our recipies is the extra virgin olive oil of our production. Of course in our tavern there are many choises for our vegeterian visitors too.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,037 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 695 helpful votes
“One of our best meal in Greece (over 30 restaurants)”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was very glad we made the detour to have this great meal. Coming from Pyrgos, follow the highway past Olympia to Ancient Pissa (on google maps), then you can easily arrive to Olympia back the back road through the training center.
The place is great, offers splendid views, nice old lady + young smiling woman. Excellent meal of country Greek specialties (baked lamb) together with a fantastic vegetarian meal.
They were nice enough to let us use the pool as well which was the cherry on the cake.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
185 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Attractive taverna in the country”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

An easy drive outside Olympia in attractive country, this place is nice without being special. The service was not particularly friendly and went way downhill after a party of 20 arrived. Excellent Greek salad, baked eggplant with feta and tomatoes, but disappointing stewed lamb - lots of fat and bone. The setting is the best part.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BostonHistorybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in Olympia, but decided to eat here after finding it listed in Rick Steves' book. We weren't disappointed! We ate on the porch, overlooking the valley. The lamb was excellent and we enjoyed the story the owner's son told us about saving the building from the fires in ?2011. Well worth the short drive from downtown Olympia!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RJVTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level Contributor
117 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent local food although main dish was served almost cold”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This very simple taverna 10 minutes away from the town of Olympia offers a beautiful view of the countryside. The place is spacious and has a very pleasant terrace. The Greek appetizers (tzatziki, grilled aubergine, grilled feta and dolmades) were delicious. For main course mots of us ordered a rabbit dish which was excellent but tepid / a bit cold, which is why i don't give Bacchus a 5. The service was very friendly and efficient. Definitely a top choice for Olympia visitors.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HankVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Vista, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian restaurant on our Greece trip”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

It is possible to eat vegetarian and well, in Greece. Travelers to Olympia will be disappointed by anything in town, but spend a few more minutes and drive to Bacchus for a great vegetarian meal. The wine isn't great -- but then often isn't in Greece, but you can get a good beer or be satisfied with sparkling water. Good value for the money. Lots of food. Great tastes!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Bacchus also viewed

 
Olympia, Elis Region
Olympia, Elis Region
 
Olympia, Elis Region
 

Been to Taverna Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing