We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service to See Olympia/Great Tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TaxiKatakolo Tours to Ancient Olympia

TaxiKatakolo Tours to Ancient Olympia
Ranked #1 of 7 Transportation in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private tours from the cruise port of Katakolon to Ancient Olympia.The owner, Andreas Stamos, provides great services for visitors wishing to discover and experience the secrets of Ancient Olympia and the countryside of Ilia (Ancient Elis). Run in the original Olympic Stadium, walk through the remains of the buildings in which athletes trained and the temples in which they made offerings, and visit the museums in which the Ancient Olympics and the mysteries of this sacred city come to life. Enjoy the personal care and attention of a family-owned business with a new Mercedes E class.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service to See Olympia/Great Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Mr Stamos is a an extremely kind, reliable guide. Our entire family would give his service a 10 out of 10. In fact he reason we liked our stop in Katakolon so much is due to the experience we had with him. Please note that Mr Stamo is an unofficial guide which means that he can only drive you from Katakolon to Olympia, but he gives you a nice book which explains well the ruins you see there. A guide is not really necessary; the same is true for the Olympia musuem which is a manageable size with the exhibits well-marked in English. If you are going from the port of Katakolon to Olympia, Mr Stamos will get you there before your entire cruise ship shows up and spoils the atmosphere. Mr Stamos also took us into the beautiful countryside and to a quiet beach spot cafe where the children could play on the beach. C. Agostini (Lausanne, Switzerland)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    25
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Based on some online research we lined up a day tour with Taxi Katakolon for our port day in Olympia. Andreas was prompt with all email responses and the driver provided us was courteous, professional and right on time. Problem was we went with this company because many reviews described how Andreas provided so much insight into Olympia and its history. Our driver, however, was VERY quiet. If we did not specifically engage him and ask questions the car was filled with silence. We were so hoping he would offer us some commentary on his country but alas this was not the case. I guess if you go with this company make sure you get Andreas.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale6284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A day full of happiness with Andreas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I booked the service of Andreas by email and Andreas was able to give me a clear and quick response. When we a group of 4 arrived the port, we have to walk a little bit for about 200-300 m to the car parking area to meet him. The car Andreas drove was clean and we quickly on our way to the Ancient Olympic Games site. He was very helpful that explained to us when and where to meet after visiting, and quickly brought us the tickets to save our time. (we just need to pay back the tickets to him after the end of the tour) We have a good time in the site and it was very big inside. After that, we went to the museum and Andreas was able to explain to us something about Katakolon and Greece. When we were on the way, Andreas picked some tangerines and oranges from the trees and gave to us. After the museum, we decide to visit the winery and therefore Andreas brought us to a lovely winery Olympia Gi, the view was very beautiful and you just feel good to be there with the good weather. We have a tour in the winery to see the land and the machine, then followed by a wine tasting and some bread with home-made tomato sauce. Then Olympia Gi brought us some home made cookies with olive. All these are tasty and we enjoyed it very much.

Time to go back to the ship. At the end of the tour, Andreas brought us the olive oil from his own olives. We really enjoyed our time with Andreas, thank you!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank christine_2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely and Personal Day Around Olympia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We opted to tour with Andreas on our day in port at Katakolon and are so glad we did! We took about a 6 hour tour. The day started off with a convenient pick up at port. We then were driven to the archeological site of Olympia. We were one of the first families to arrive there and beat all the tour buses, which was a major plus. Even though we didn't have a guided tour, we felt satisfied wandering around by ourselves amongst the ruins and enjoying the museum nearby. Even though the archeological site is the main point of interest in the area, we were more charmed by everything that followed. Andreas drove us into the countryside, telling us all about life in the region. He took us to his cousin's olive press where we saw the process of extracting oil and one of the neighbors even allowed my father to harvest some olives from his tree (it was that time of year). Next we went to a small regional winery which was a real treat. I will always remember how, as we were waiting for our winery tour, Andreas picked tangerines and oranges from the trees and gave us many and introduced us to the grandfather of the winery owner who showed us his garden. He through in a stop at a hillside monastery we would have never known about on our way back to port. I could go on and on about the detailed and personal touches Andreas put into this lovely day tour, but you'll just have to meet him and experience them for yourselves! He is a very good choice - thank you Andreas!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank veronicaguardabascio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Day from the Port of Katakolon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

3 of us arrived by cruiseship and enjoyed a tour with Andreas of Olympia Taxi. We found him listed as a link from a tour company we'd used twice before in Athens, PKTravel/Athens by Taxi. We were very pleased. We were met at the port and first visited the site of the Ancient Olympics and the nearby museum. We spent several hours there. We then had a very enjoyable visit to the Olympia Land Estate, a local winery for a tour and wine tasting. The whole day was relaxed and enjoyable with lots of information about the area, especially olives. We decided what we wanted to see and Andreas was an excellent choice. When we returned to the port, Andreas presented us with a bottle of olive oil that he had pressed from his own olives. I remember our lovely day everytime I use this oil!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillsideeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TaxiKatakolo Tours to Ancient Olympia also viewed

Olympia, Elis Region
Olympia, Elis Region
 

Been to TaxiKatakolo Tours to Ancient Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing