We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Olimpia”
Review of Taverna Ambrosia

Taverna Ambrosia
Ranked #9 of 24 Restaurants in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best in Olimpia”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely peaceful restaurant, away from the main street which is quite noisy. Restaurant serves good Greek dishes, good service, best of the pick in Olimpia.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    20
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing food in olympia, good service, family atmosphere placed in a lovely garden. Value for money. Right next to the museum.

Helpful?
Thank Apostolis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ambrosia : recommended!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have stayed a couple of weeks in Olympia and several evenings I went to the tavern Ambrosia :
excellent location near the Museum and near the river which gives the terrace a freshness you won't find elsewhere in Olympia in high summer.
The Greek appetizers (tzatziki, stuffed courgettes,grilled aubergine, grilled feta and dolmades etc. etc.) were delicious.
The main courses were excellent too, so is their wine.
It is very clean and polite, good service; the prices are affordable.
Children can play at the yard.
In my opinion The Spiliopoulos family does a fantastic job ! And I will certainly come back again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Usual tourist trap. Average food + expensive.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We came here for lunch as part of an Olympia tour. The taverna itself is nicely furnished and reasonbly clean.

Service was incredibly slow and disorganised, although once you caught the attention of staff they were polite. It was ram packed full of tourists and seemed to managed by just 2 waiting staff.

Food was average. Nothing special. I ordered what was described as 'lamb with potatoes' which turned out to be a small portion of bland roast lamb served with chips.

Food was Expensive for what it was. 36 Euros for 2x cokes and 2x mains.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 3littlekittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
904 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Very, Very Average.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We wanted a quick meal between visiting the stunning archaeological site at Olympia and the equally stunning museum. Like other reviewers, our Thomson rep pointed us to the Taverna Ambrosia. We both had moussaka; both were lukewarm (that was the norm in Greece 35 years ago, not now), small portions, no salad, a few limp chips..........and a big bill. Least friendly service that we had had anywhere in Greece. Ambrosia - food of the gods; not here! It surely only survives because of its proximity to the archaeological site of Olympia.
Avoid.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyanddavid536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Ambrosia also viewed

 
Olympia, Elis Region
Olympia, Elis Region
 
Olympia, Elis Region
Olympia, Elis Region
 

Been to Taverna Ambrosia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing