We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ilis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ilis
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed here just for one night, this hotel is close to the bus stand and other sights in Olympia. We loved the staff they were very friendly and helped us check in even tho we reached very late in the night.
The breakfast was good and sumptuous, the hotel rooms were clean and spacious. All in all good value for money.

Just two disturbing factors, one there was another hotel near by where some loud clebratiosn were going on, which was bugging
Second our rooms AC wasn't working very well so please check that before you get into the room

Room Tip: Chose the rooms away from church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitzX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Great location very close to restaurants, laundry and Ancient Olympia. The staff are friendly. Breakfast is average but ok. Wifi did not work in our room, only in the lobby. Good value for money at this time of year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butterflygirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I loved this hotel! People is extemely friendly and ready to help you in anything you need. The room was nothing fancy but it was a decent size and clean. What else you could ask? Location is perfect all the stores and cafes are a few meters away, as well as the archeological site. When I return to Olympia, I will stay there for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmsainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group, so can’t comment on price/value. Our room (210) overlooked the side street and had a small balcony. Not much traffic so it was quiet. The room was clean, with a tile floor but with no decoration. The beds were very hard. The bathroom had a shower, but the shower curtain didn’t reach the floor so water got on the bathroom floor when taking a shower. Lighting was good. Plenty of hot water. CNN on the TV. There was free wifi available in the lobby and a small room off the lobby where you can plug in your computer and work. Breakfast was adequate and consisted of bread, cheese, lunchmeat, hardboiled eggs, jam, juice, cereal and coffee or tea. Nothing special but OK for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

My friend and I were on a 2 week road trip so we weren't looking for anything fancy. Just needed a clean place to stay with AC to cool us off and breakfast to give us a quick start the next day. The room and the shower is small but we were fine with that as we weren't planning to unpack for a one night stop over. Good location as we were close to all the main attractions. Shops and restaurants were just below along the streets so it was convenient to go out for a drink at night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeybusinessxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This was easily the worst hotel we stayed at during a 4 week European holiday which included predominantly tourist class/budget accommodation.

The location is very good, and our room (219) had a wrap-around balcony with a table and two chairs. The bathroom was clean, however, the shower curtain was pretty inadequate meaning the bathroom ended up very wet.

The room itself however, while being a decent size, was very disappointing, with old, rickety furniture and tattered, dirty curtains and rug.

One of the staff members spent the afternoon asleep on a lounge in reception and didn't advise us that the Ancient Olympic site and museums were closed due to strike action which we would have expected the hotel to know as there was little else to do in the town.

In hindsight we wish we had of spent a little more money to stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biggie_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

A tourist hotel in Olympia, it was okay for one night. The hotel is old and they have tried to update the rooms a bit.

The bathroom was small and the shower a struggle (no bathtub) – the handheld shower head did have a holder high up on the wall, but since there was only a curtain for an enclosure, it was not very effective at keeping the rest of the bathroom dry. Water leaked at the bottom, since the curtain was not long enough, around the sides and, through the curtain itself ! As well, the curtain was stained and moldy. The fixtures were old. The towels were not thick, but were adequate.

The twin beds were hard; the sheets were clean. The room was a reasonable size for two people for one or two nights; a small TV perched on the desk received Greek stations.

Breakfast was of the “continental” style – hard boiled eggs, cheese, meat, breads, butter, jams, cereals, canned fruit, yogurt, juice mix, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Enough for a light start in the morning.

WiFi is available only in the lobby; you can work in the restaurant or the lobby, which also has a TV.

This hotel was booked for us as part of a tour; it is located in the middle of the town. The tour was halfboard, so we had a light dinner at the hotel, consisting of cheese pie, baked chicken and rice, cabbage and carrot salad and canned peach half. Overall, if you expect a tourist class hotel for a short stay, then it should be okay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#14 of 15 in Olympia
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neda Hotel
Neda Hotel
#9 of 15 in Olympia
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inomaos
Hotel Inomaos
#10 of 15 in Olympia
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilis

Address: Praxitelous And Kondilists, Olympia 27065, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range: £34 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ilis 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort and the style in harmony with the tradition offer an unforgettable stay in the hotel Ilis that is located 200m from the centre of the picturesque town of Ancient Olympia.Do not hesitate to customize your stay choosing between competitively priced travel packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ilis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilis Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing