We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night in the whole school trip”
Review of Neda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Neda Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst night in the whole school trip”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We were in Greece for a school trip and we stayed in Olympia for one night in this hotel. Probably, since we were a group of students, they haven't treated us as they do with normal tourists, but I don't think that this is a valid excuse.. The treatment we received was very bad. Rooms were very cold the whole night; we didn't have any extra blankets and the only one we had was more like a sheet of paper, totally useless. I haven't slept. The mechanisms of the toilet didn't work well, same for the shower and for the bathroom door. The bed itself was very uncomfortable.
First course of dinner was obnoxious. The rest of the meal was acceptable.
About breakfast: terrible, juice made with lemon powder, chocolate spread ran over after a couple of minutes, coffee machine broken... The only good thing was yoghurt because it was surely bought from a good supplier!
I had not had too much expectations, counting that I was away with school, but my stay was terrible. It is a hostel more than a 3*** hotel. I won't recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy_il_giovane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    92
    53
    15
    7
See reviews for
53
88
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is sort of a combination review. We lucked into the Hotel Neda, as we bought a really EXCELLENT package put together for us by Kivotos of Aegean agency. As it turned out, the Neda met our needs pretty close to perfectly.

Olympia is inland. It is HOT in the summer. Thus, the pool at the Neda is a godsend. It's a VERY nice pool, with good drink service provided by the hotel. I agree with a previous review that the rooms at the Neda really are quite basic. But one is in Olympia to see the site, correct? All one needs is a bed to sleep in. The Neda is just fine for that. And the price is right.

The staff at the Neda was very helpful. We were originally given a room with twin beds, but when we requested a double, we got it, no questions asked, and with a great pool view. The breakfast was basically identical to those we enjoyed at all of our Greek hotels, perfectly adequate but nothing special. However, we found the upstairs breakfast room, with a view, to be especially nice.

I don't know how many TripAdvisor readers are familiar with the right way to do Disneyland in Southern California...but the way to do Olympia is exactly the same. Get to the site first thing in the morning when it first opens The place is empty. By 11 AM the place is chock full of tour buses, and you can barely move. Take some time and to back to the Neda for a rest and a swim. Then, go back to the site around 6 PM and stay until it closes. That way one avoids the crowds, and can enjoy the site relatively quietly and at a comfortable temperature.

Olympia, besides being a phenomenal site for ruins, along with Delphi the best in Greece, contains the most beautiful thing I saw in all of Greece...the statue of Hermes by the master Praxiteles in the Olympia Museum. That level of perfection in sculpture wasn't achieved again until Michelangelo; indeed, there's delicacy in this work that reminds one of Bernini. An absolute Can't Miss in my humble opinion. Missing the Hermes in Olympia is like missing the David in Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doublerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upwey, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel has got lost in a timewarp from the 60s. While the communal areas and the pool area looked great everything else was really run down. Our room was basic to the extreme with old fashioned blankets on the bed and that op shop meets cigarette smell that comes from a really old hotel. Breakfast was very basic and the food quality was very poor compared to our other experiecen across Greece.
The location was great in the centre of town, walking distance to the shops and the ancient Olympia site. Free street parking was easy to find and the hotel staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Clean, big rooms, working airconditioning.

The lady at the pool bar was great! Very accommodating, went out of her way to please us.

Small pool but nice lounge chairs with complimentary towels.

Located one street off the main stretch, 700 m from the archaeological site.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karian_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A perfect hotel for my stay in Olympia.
Very clean. Full breakfast!
Nice pool for drinks and swimming.
Very good wi-fi internet access. It is free 24 hours per day and not for 2 or 3 hours.
The price is very good for the offers that you take.
I will visit it again!!!
You find always a place to park your car.
Very beautiful view from the restaurant!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vkanoulas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This lovely hotel was neat and tidy. With a good breakfast menu on the 4th which gave us a panoramic view of the area. Had a swim in the pool which was refreshing and clean. The host at the front desk was very helpful and gave lots of information about the ancient site

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vesna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our stay at Neda was very good. The check in was fast and very friendly. We even borrowed an adpator to allow us to charge our camera and phone.
The room was large and very clean. I can compare it to any big chain hotel, how profissional they were.
Breakfast is served on the 4th floor (rooftop) and it had a variety of items to please everyone.
Pool is nice, just the beer I thought was too expensive 4 EU compared to 2EU at restaurants.
Location very good and walking distance to the archeological site and main street with little stores.

Room Tip: Avoid staying on the 3rd. floor if you like to sleep in as you can hear the chairs from the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colamq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,074 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olympion Asty
Olympion Asty
#2 of 15 in Olympia
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neda Hotel

Property: Neda Hotel
Address: Karamanli 1, Olympia 27065, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Neda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at the centre of ancient Olympia, between the main pedestrian precinct and the forest, in a short distance from the museum and the archeological site. It has 43 fully renovated rooms,Pool. spacious lounges and a restaurant on the fourth floor looking out on the sacred valley of Olympia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Neda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neda Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing