We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”
Review of Hotel Pelops

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pelops
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to relax after touring the ruins. The manager Theodore took personal interest in making sure that my stay was pleasant and memorable . The Olympic torches on the wall in the eating area is a nice touch. I'd love to stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pdoege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent a night at this hotel. Adequate is the best description. Rooms are dated but still functional; Staff who were on duty were not really interested and the breakfast was extremely limited. However, the place is cheap.

The ancient site at Olympia is amazing and well worth a detour. However, modern Olympia itself has nothing to recommend it in terms of character, accommodation or eating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben-Saud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel was very pleasant. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and quickly checked in. A map of the town marking the hotel and the ruins were given to us as well as a couple of restaurant recommendations. We were only there one night and opted to try La Belle Helene. It was an excellent recommendation. We had a larger bathroom and shower than typical in Greece as well as a larger room with a King bed. Will return if we stay in Olympia again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

An ideal place for relaxing after a day exploring Ancient Olympia. Helpful & friendly couple who directed us to great places to eat and visit.
Excellent spacious room with tea & coffee making facilities & a good breakfast, with plenty of street parking and close to all the amenities in Olympia, yet quiet.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The rooms were very nice with a coffee/tea service and ann actual bath tub, which is not common in greek small hotels.
The Greek/Australian family were very helpful in directing us to the ancient Olympic sites and in finding good restaurants.
The breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Excellent hotel near the ancient Greek Olympic site, run by a combination Greek/Australian family. The place has clean spacious rooms with a coffee and tea service. The friendly and helpful owners and staff were eager to give us directions and information about the nearby ancient Olympic ruins and museum, which are within walking distance. They will also recommend some good restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: Some, if not all rooms, have actual bath tubs. Many Greek hotels only have showers. It might be go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is nicely maintained and is a half block off the main road. The owners are very nice and provide you with information on where to eat and how to get to the archeological site of Ancient Olympia, which is just a short walk up the road. There are also several shops and restaurants all in the area. The bathroom was a bit small and so was the shower, but it's no different from the rest of the hotels when travelling around Greece.

Room Tip: A room with a view is always nice. We could see the Church from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neda Hotel
Neda Hotel
#9 of 15 in Olympia
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inomaos
Hotel Inomaos
#10 of 15 in Olympia
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelops

Address: Varela 2, Olympia 27065, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Olympia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
#5 Family Hotel in Olympia
Price Range: £36 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelops 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelops was one of the first hotels to open its doors in Ancient Olympia to visitors over 40 years ago. our family’s proud hospitality still remains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Pelops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelops Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing