We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to stay in Olympia”
Review of Hotel Kronio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kronio
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a good value hotel in the center of Olympia. From there you have easy access (about 5 min walk) to both ancient Olympia site and museum and the restaurants in modern Olympia.
Rooms are clean and air conditioned and larger than the average.
The best part is the staff. They were nice and very helpful without being intrusive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pantuffll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKronio O, Manager at Hotel Kronio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our family hotel, and we hope to see you again. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great no frills hotel - clean, friendly, great location. They really helped us make the most of our trip. We would definitely come back here if we find ourselves in Ancient Olympia again. Fantastic breakfast too. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thumper555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This Hotel is directly in the city of Olympia. It's within walking distance of the bus stop, all the local restaurants and the archaeological site. They also offer a small parking lot which is nice if you bring a car with you.

The hotel room was probably one of the larger rooms that I had stayed in within Greece, though still a European sized room. The bathroom we had was large which was nice for a change. There wasn't really a great view but that's more due to Olympia being at a low level as opposed to Delfi which is up in the mountains.

The hotel has a restaurant which is nice if you don't want to eat far from your hotel, but its just a short 5 minute walk to the main area which has a dozen restaurants and cafes. The city is compact so everything you might need from Banks to Shopping Marts are all within walking distance. While I had a car, I found no need to use it.

The staff was very friendly and seemed knowledgeable about the area. The city itself seemed very safe so there was no issues with late night walks.

All in all its a great place to stay while you visit the local sites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RNH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is a little dated but is ideal for a couple of days in Olympia. good value bed and breakfast deal. The rooms are clean and basic but with a/c. Central location in small town and easy access to bus services. Staff were friendly and helpful in arranging transport back to Athens.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel was very close to the bus stop, the town centre and the archeological site. The rooms were spacious and well appointed compared to the Spartan hotels of Athens. The staff were very helpful and arranged our onward journey by bus through the central mountains. When I left my passport in my room they sent it forwards on the next bus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We loved the Kronio; the owners were charming, friendly and helpful. The location perfect with free parking right there. The room was great and the breakfast good. The hotel is right in the heart of the town, and easy to find. We loved spending the day in Olympia, visiting the amazing sites, and then having a restful evening at the Kronio Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee3nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

There are many good reasons to choose the Hotel Kronio for a stay in Ancient Olympia. It's well-situated in the center of town, easy walking distance to the archeological site and museum. A free parking lot is available. The large, airy rooms have a sparkling bath, A/C, safe, TV and small fridge. A substantial and tasty Greek breakfast is included in the very reasonable price. But the best thing about the hotel is the super-friendly, bend-over-backwards, anxious to help with any request owner and his family. I heartily recommend this hotel -- and the Asteris's taste in restaurants -- to all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurelParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inomaos
Hotel Inomaos
#10 of 15 in Olympia
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hercules
Hotel Hercules
#8 of 15 in Olympia
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kronio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kronio

Address: Tsoureka str.1, Olympia 27065, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
Price Range: £36 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kronio 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Hotel Kronio has been renovated in 2008 and it is located within walking distance from Ancient Olympia and the museum of Olympia. It offers well-furnished rooms, orthopedic mattresses with spring box technology, free ADSL 24 Mbps Wi-Fi throughout and balcony. All bright rooms come with air conditioning, mini fridge and a satellite LED TV 28" which includes an integrated media player and allows guests to watch 1 hour historical video about the local attractions of Ancient Olympia. Each private bathroom is fitted with a bathtub or shower and hairdryer with saver outlet. Guests at Kronio can start their day with a buffet breakfast served at the spacious restaurant. If you travel by public transportation, the 24-hour front desk can help you to book bus tickets for your next destination and advice you about the local attractions you must visit in Ancient Olympia. Free private parking is provided next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kronio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronio Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing