We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Olympia”
Review of Hotel Kronio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kronio
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very happy with the choice of Hotel Kronio, it lived up to expectations. Parked the car at the rear, easy walk to ancient Olympia, lovely hosts, rooms more than adequate, good bedding, extra clean, great value for money. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilyroseoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived in Olympia in the late evening without a reservation and came upon Voula, the proprietress of the Kronio Hotel, watering her flowers. She invited us in to look at the hotel and we were pleasantly surprised to see such a bright and cheerful place, especially since we had looked at a couple others and were quite dismayed.

The hotel was renovated by the Proprietor, Voula's son Panagiotis, in 2008 and a lovely renovation it is. Clean and bright, it features sweet simple rooms with many electrical electric outlets, good beds, bathrooms with windows and bathtubs, a refrigerator, flat screen TV. Add to that a nice breakfast with Voula's home made goodies, and you have the makings of a great stay.

We had a special need to repair a scrape on our car and Panagiotis made arrangements for us and even drove us to the place the next morning so the car could be fixed while we toured Olympia. He checked on the repair and made sure the car was delivered to us the following morning. It was a great job and very reasonable too. Further, he showed us some family movies that evening of the narrow gauge railway running from Kalavitra to the coast and encouraged us to make a small detour to go. We did and loved it!

What a treat it was to find this delightful place to stay in Olympia. These are the kind of folks I'd like to take home with me for neighbors. I hope we see them again one day. Thank you both so much Voula and Panagiotis.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jtybinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is an excellent, family run, small hotel that is clean, comfortable, has car parking at the rear, and provides excellent value for money. We stayed in May in order to visit Ancient Olympia. The hotel is in an excellent position for buses, trains to Pyrgos (if and when they run) and for access to the archaeological museum but still manages to be quiet. There is wifi and a public PC. The owner was more than helpful and his mother (who makes wonderful apple cake for breakfast) is all you expect a Greek mother to be!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 244 on the side road and next to the lift, but it was quiet and we had a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A very pleasant family run hotel in the middle of Olympia. Good size rooms with nice bath, very clean and well appointed. Great value for money. Nice home made apple cake for breakfast. Quiet at night but very close to the site and some good restaurants in the day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you want to stay in a beautifully kept, moderately priced, very friendly family run hotel, Kronio is just the place you are looking for.
It is situated very near the train station and Ktel bus stop in a quiet area at the end of the Main Street. Beautifully kept bedrooms with balcony. Panagiotis the owner, ex marathon runner, is very friendly , hardworking, helpful and is attentive to every guest. He is backed up by his delightful mother. A really charming lady who makes you feel almost as part of the family. In the morning as an addition to your breakfast, at times she will bring you her own homemade apple pie or an omelette. A fantastic place not to be missed.

Room Tip: The best greek family experience you can have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlainD653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Nice familyhotel in the middle of the small town of Olympia.
The rooms are clean and big enough
The owners are very kind en helpfull.and therefore you feel at home.

They give you good advises for good places for diner and lunch

Room Tip: Opposite the hotel is a hotel were schoolclasses can stay. That can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Fantastic family run hotel on the main road in Olympia. Room was bigger than I expected and was very clean and appointed. Breakfast was a little on the basic side and a toaster would be a good addition. Orher than that, I would definately recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hercules
Hotel Hercules
#8 of 15 in Olympia
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Inomaos
Hotel Inomaos
#10 of 15 in Olympia
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neda Hotel
Neda Hotel
#9 of 15 in Olympia
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kronio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kronio

Address: Tsoureka str.1, Olympia 27065, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Olympia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
#3 Family Hotel in Olympia
Price Range: £37 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kronio 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Hotel Kronio has been renovated in 2008 and it is located within walking distance from Ancient Olympia and the museum of Olympia. It offers well-furnished rooms, orthopedic mattresses with spring box technology, free ADSL 24 Mbps Wi-Fi throughout and balcony. All bright rooms come with air conditioning, mini fridge and a satellite LED TV 28" which includes an integrated media player and allows guests to watch 1 hour historical video about the local attractions of Ancient Olympia. Each private bathroom is fitted with a bathtub or shower and hairdryer with saver outlet. Guests at Kronio can start their day with a buffet breakfast served at the spacious restaurant. If you travel by public transportation, the 24-hour front desk can help you to book bus tickets for your next destination and advice you about the local attractions you must visit in Ancient Olympia. Free private parking is provided next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kronio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronio Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing