We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Value for money"”
Review of Hotel Kronio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kronio
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Tasos: very nice hotel and i really had a great time!!!!The rooms were very clean and the service was excellent.I love that place!!!!!!! Very friendly staff. I will definitly recomend this hotel if you go to Olympia

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank ΑΝΑΣΤΑΣΙΟΣ Π
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We did an overnight stay here after arriving from Delphi.
It is a family business, and has fulfilled our expectations.
The hotel seems to have been recently refurbished, and is wonderfully clean and well presented.
Their breakfast is very complete and with delicious home made products.
Wi-fi worked very well and the lighting in our room was good.
Absolutely recommendable for all travels :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurgita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I'm giving Hotel Kronio a 3 star rating because two-and-a-half isn't an option, and the pleasant service of the two elderly owners managed to nudge the experience into a positive one.

To say the rooms are minimalist would be an understatement, and the beds are so hard I almost thought the floor might be more comfortable. My pillow slip had a few small hairs and the outline of a mascara stain, and the floor needed to be mopped, but the room was otherwise passably clean.

For the price it was a bed with a private bathroom and free wifi for the night. If you are after anything more than that I would look elsewhere in Olympia, but for a means to an end, it is acceptable...just.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dilemmilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On a whirlwind tour of the Peloponnese a couple of weeks ago in mid-May I booked two rooms at the Hotel Kronio online at the last moment, mainly because of its location. On arriving in Olympia the hotel was easy to find, being on the main drag, and we were delighted to be greeted by an extremely welcoming proprietor who was extremely attentive and helpful. The rooms were impeccably clean, the bathrooms modern and well-equipped, and the breakfast more than adequate.
Free parking was available a few steps away, and once parked we were able to walk everywhere due to the convenience of the hotel's location.
I have visited Olympia several times previously and I can honestly say that the next time I visit I will be staying here - the people who own it are so nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

After a very long and exhausting bus ride from Athens, my friend and I arrived at the Hotel Kronio. Hotel Kronio is in the center of Olympia and is a family run hotel. The owner's mom checked my friend and I into the hotel and showed us to our room. The room was spacious and had a balcony overlooking a quiet, main street. In fact, it was so quiet, that my tired friend and I overslept and we missed breakfast. The owner was gracious enough to let us eat our breakfast later than the posted time.
Hotel Kronio includes a delicious free breakfast and free wifi. It is located near the ancient ruins of Olympia and the Olympia Museum. It's a short walk to both sites. The hotel is close to two markets and several restaurants. If you like shopping, the stores on the main street have a lot of variety including Greek olive oil, soaps, kitchen towels, purses, and jewelry.
Hotel Kronio is a unique hotel in that it provides great service and comfort. The owner and his mom made us feel very welcome and even prepared a meal for us using local ingredients that we purchased at a nearby market. Mama even added her own ingredients and added some of her delicious homemade dessert to make our meal complete. She would not let us help with the
clean up, so we owe her. The owner is very knowledgeable about travel in Greece. He made travel reservations for our next bus trip to Nafplio. The owner also enjoys working with computers, so the internet is kept very up to date. I had great internet connections during the entire stay. This was not always the case, in some of the hotels I stayed at while travelling in Greece.
Overall, this is one of the best hotel experiences I ever had. I highly recommend this hotel to
families and travelers of all ages.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CynthiaK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very happy with the choice of Hotel Kronio, it lived up to expectations. Parked the car at the rear, easy walk to ancient Olympia, lovely hosts, rooms more than adequate, good bedding, extra clean, great value for money. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilyroseoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived in Olympia in the late evening without a reservation and came upon Voula, the proprietress of the Kronio Hotel, watering her flowers. She invited us in to look at the hotel and we were pleasantly surprised to see such a bright and cheerful place, especially since we had looked at a couple others and were quite dismayed.

The hotel was renovated by the Proprietor, Voula's son Panagiotis, in 2008 and a lovely renovation it is. Clean and bright, it features sweet simple rooms with many electrical electric outlets, good beds, bathrooms with windows and bathtubs, a refrigerator, flat screen TV. Add to that a nice breakfast with Voula's home made goodies, and you have the makings of a great stay.

We had a special need to repair a scrape on our car and Panagiotis made arrangements for us and even drove us to the place the next morning so the car could be fixed while we toured Olympia. He checked on the repair and made sure the car was delivered to us the following morning. It was a great job and very reasonable too. Further, he showed us some family movies that evening of the narrow gauge railway running from Kalavitra to the coast and encouraged us to make a small detour to go. We did and loved it!

What a treat it was to find this delightful place to stay in Olympia. These are the kind of folks I'd like to take home with me for neighbors. I hope we see them again one day. Thank you both so much Voula and Panagiotis.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jtybinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Neda Hotel
Neda Hotel
#9 of 15 in Olympia
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ilis
Hotel Ilis
#13 of 15 in Olympia
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kronio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kronio

Address: Tsoureka str.1, Olympia 27065, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Olympia
#3 Family Hotel in Olympia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
Price Range: £34 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kronio 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Hotel Kronio has been renovated in 2008 and it is located within walking distance from Ancient Olympia and the museum of Olympia. It offers well-furnished rooms, orthopedic mattresses with spring box technology, free ADSL 24 Mbps Wi-Fi throughout and balcony. All bright rooms come with air conditioning, mini fridge and a satellite LED TV 28" which includes an integrated media player and allows guests to watch 1 hour historical video about the local attractions of Ancient Olympia. Each private bathroom is fitted with a bathtub or shower and hairdryer with saver outlet. Guests at Kronio can start their day with a buffet breakfast served at the spacious restaurant. If you travel by public transportation, the 24-hour front desk can help you to book bus tickets for your next destination and advice you about the local attractions you must visit in Ancient Olympia. Free private parking is provided next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kronio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronio Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing