We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel - great service”
Review of Hotel Kronio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kronio
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel has it all. Great service, great location, great breakfast! We only stayed one night at this hotel. Which was a real shame. Olympia was a great place to explore and the hotel really did meet all of our needs. The room was a good size, the bathroom was bigger than other hotels we had stayed at in Greece. My husband is 6 foot 2 and found the bathrooms a real problem but not at this hotel. The room was quiet and we had a balcony so I sat out there late in the evening and listened to local music and children playing.....very nice!!!! Oh, and free Wifi!!!!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms at this hotel would be quite good. There really isn't any noise to worry a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I enjoyed a two night stay at this hotel recently. The hotel has been updated recently and the rooms were a reasonable size. The shower had plenty of hot water. My room had a balcony, I think many do. The air-conditioning was excellent (as summers in Olympia are very hot this is important). I had a car and there was on site parking, nicely shaded. I met the owner and his mother who were both tremendously nice and helpful. The mother does not speak much English, but she was wonderfully kind checking me in and making my breakfast, which consisted of typical Greek items, though nothing too special. When I checked out, the owner took the time to call other locations I was planning to see that day to make sure they were open. Very nice gesture and much appreciated. The price was very reasonable and I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a terrific hotel! The staff was ideal. My luggage was lost so I came with nothing. My bus was late getting in the first night, so I couldn't go out and buy shampoo. The front desk man lent me some so I could get the day of flying into Greece and travelling to Olympia out of my hair. The location perfectly located close to the tourist sites. It took about 10 leisurely minutes to walk through a paved area of flowers to the museum, botanical gardens, and the ruins. The tourist shops were located less then a block away from the hotel, so the streets were lit up and safe to walk on. There were restaurants and shops opened late all along the way from the hotel. The bus stop was just behind the hotel, so moving luggage was very easy. The breakfast was very good. The specialty was a delicious apple pie. The pie and some good coffee were an unexpected treat. As I tried to hunt down my luggage, the front desk continued to help and call to see where the luggage was and where the airport could ship it to since I didn't spend more then 2 nights in any location. The staff went above and beyond to help me, and I will always remember their kindness and how wonderful they made my first few days in Greece.

Room Tip: I had an amazing room with a balcony and got to overlook the tourist street on the left, as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisa2619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Clean comfortable room, plenty of hot water. Helpful concierge with tourist maps, opening times, museums. Excellent position for the Olympia site and the town's main street.
Breakfast needs a lift if you want to satisfy Aussies!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueIluka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Recently upgraded rooms, breakfast was included and very good. This was in a great location, walking distance to town, could walk to the ruins, however it would've been a little bit of a hike. Worth the stay. The bathroom was so large and the room had a nice little balcony on it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen441985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After hostelling in Istanbul and Athens, I was in need of a vacation day somewhere between the big city and the port of Patras. Olympia it was. Based on reviews here and a recommendation from Rick Steves' guidebook, I reserved a room at Hotel Kronio for two nights. When I arrived after an almost 6 hour bus ride, I was elated by the hotel. Lobby nice and cool, big breakfast room with some couches and an elevator! Up to the second floor, I had a room (235) with two singles put together, a full bath, wardrobe, TV and fridge. The balcony looked out onto the small lane rather than the main street where the tour buses roll in. To the right you could see the tree-lined hill above Olympia.

Location is perfect: 700 meters to the sights and less than 50 meters to the train/bus station.

Service was wonderful. The mother checked me in with little hubub: room key, map, wifi password. The owner/son was so accomodating: questions about bus schedules, where to eat (Aegean is best for the main town) and other chores (banks, pharmacies).

Breakfast was better than average: HB eggs, cakes, bread, cheese, yogurt, cereals, coffee and juice. Just what you need at an OK 6 euro.

Saw the sights and museums the first afternoon, then
had a full day myself partly in my quiet room and partly enjoying the tavernas as tourists flocked in and out of town. I am heading out now to the port and was very happy with my stay, would definitely come back and know that this is an oasis from the big city.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a balcony but would choose one not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larajdeshayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Kostos Panagiotis is the amazing host-owner of Hotel Kronio and staying there was fantastic. Given the cost-effective parameters of this trip, Kronio far exceeded my expectations. Service service service way above the excellent range. At a 5 star hotel, I would expect great service, and at Kronio I got 5 star service for a most reasonable price.

Kostos used his own time to help us get a reservation on an intercity bus for our tirip back to Athens since he asked us about our journey. He immediately recognized we did not realize the buses would be maxxed out the Sunday after Easter. He explained this, and as we settled in our room, he set about calling and reserving our return bus reservations. Actually, we got the last two seats thanks to him! What a hotel host - thinking ahead, caring for us, acting on our behalf when we agreed to have him help us.

Our room was perfectly fine, newly refreshed with a good bathroom and lots of room for extras. We had a lovely view of the Byzantine church across from the hotel and even saw a wedding.
Kostos' mother was also on staff and I wish I could take her home with me. She was so helpful at breakfast and in so many little ways. Kronio also had a rock solid working computer for keeping in touch with family.

Olympia is a beautiful place to stay. We painted at the Olympic site which is magnificent, and the guards were all so friendly. The food in Greece overall is so fresh so buy some fresh fruit or veggies or olives to snack on. Greeks make outstanding coffee too, Hotel Kronio's as well as at cafes. Hotel Kronio makes some of the breakfast items homemade, amazing! Stay there if you can, it is a splendid deal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inomaos
Hotel Inomaos
#10 of 15 in Olympia
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hercules
Hotel Hercules
#8 of 15 in Olympia
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kronio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kronio

Address: Tsoureka str.1, Olympia 27065, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Olympia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
Price Range: £36 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kronio 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Hotel Kronio has been renovated in 2008 and it is located within walking distance from Ancient Olympia and the museum of Olympia. It offers well-furnished rooms, orthopedic mattresses with spring box technology, free ADSL 24 Mbps Wi-Fi throughout and balcony. All bright rooms come with air conditioning, mini fridge and a satellite LED TV 28" which includes an integrated media player and allows guests to watch 1 hour historical video about the local attractions of Ancient Olympia. Each private bathroom is fitted with a bathtub or shower and hairdryer with saver outlet. Guests at Kronio can start their day with a buffet breakfast served at the spacious restaurant. If you travel by public transportation, the 24-hour front desk can help you to book bus tickets for your next destination and advice you about the local attractions you must visit in Ancient Olympia. Free private parking is provided next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kronio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronio Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing