We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent recommendation for a stay in Olympia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kronio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kronio
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
1 review
“Excellent recommendation for a stay in Olympia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

This hotel is literally next to the train station and about a block away from the bus stop in Olympia, not to mention within short walking distance from the archaeological site, shops, and restaurants. The hotel was very clean and the staff went above and beyond to accommodate my friends and me, from arranging transportation to a restaurant in a nearby town to having a delicious and filling breakfast waiting for us when we got up. I highly recommend Hotel Kronio to anyone visiting Olympia.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpeters6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    137
    25
    3
    1
See reviews for
107
173
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
klapeidfa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

Very kind service in this lovely family hotel. The staff were extremely accomodating and helpfull. Room and bathroom new looking. Very reasonable price! We had a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaunas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

We were there in total off-season so many hotels weren't open.
The room was comfortable, very clean, and quiet, with all appropriate amenities.
Takis the owner made us feel like old friends!
In few words, this hotel is a great value for money

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

We chose to spend the night in Olympia so we could visit the Museum the following morning. When we shut off the rental car we noticed a blinking light which had alerted us to a battery problem the previous night. Thinking we might need help the next morning, we spoke to Panagiotis Asteris, the owner, about a car repair shop. He gave us the name and location, and offered to come "jump" the car if we had a problem in the morning. And he was suppose to be harvesting his olives that day!!! Fortunately we did not need to call.
The bedroom was very large, with a small balcony that we enjoyed even in November. Bathroom was emaculate. Nice to have a lift for our luggage. Recommended taverna was 2 K away and very fine.
Yes, it was quiet in Nov. but we felt so comfortable and knew we could depend on them.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

I think this hotel would have been better if it wasn't such a quiet time of year. We arrived late which was not a problem- the lady that is mostly at reception waited for us to arrive however she knows very little english and so we weren't told much when we got there. We had breakfast included- coffee and tea were cold the first day and bread was really stale both days however again this is probably just because they were so quiet. The first morning i went to have a shower at 11 after talking to my family on skype and there was no water at all- the lady was the only person we could find and she couldn't tell us why she just said "water off later on" We later found ot from her son who speaks english that he thought we were already out for the day and he had the water turned off to do works. Fair enough he had to do work on the pipes but we should have been told when the water would be turned off. The following day we awoke to hammering and drilling. On a positive note the room was clean and relatively comfortable but all in all im afraid it wasn't a very good stay. There was no one around most of the time- even when we got up for breakfast in the morning there was no one there and we just didn't know what to do- there was no one to ask about where to eat or what to see. Very disappointing but as i said im sure it was just due to it being quiet season- having said that though we still paid to stay there so we probably shouldn't have been so ignored.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downunderthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

Central location. 5 minute walk to all sites. Hospitable family run hotel. Provided with walking map to all the local sites and many "must see" places while driving back to Athens. Very clean room, twin beds, large bathroom. Basic breakfast found in many hotels. Free WiFi worked well in room, PC down in lobby available.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hq-explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

This hotel had our largest room we had in Greece. The owner whicle speaking little English (her son speaks fluent English) was exceptionally good tous. I was becoming ill and the doctor told me to eat only rice that day. When my husband asked where to go to find rice, in her limited English, she said, "I fix it". We kept insisting and so did she. She went home and returned with two large bowls of rice and bread and refused to let us pay her for it. They have a nice, typical Greek breakfast and she stands nearby to ensure every bowl and pot remian filled. You could we find a place any nicer to stay and it is right on one the mail streets and not far from the ruins. But do drive and park at the ruins. It a hardy walk.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goguygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Olympia
Hotel Europa Olympia
#1 of 16 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 16 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neda Hotel
Neda Hotel
#8 of 16 in Olympia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#2 of 16 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Olympion Asty
Olympion Asty
#3 of 16 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kronio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kronio

Property: Hotel Kronio
Address: Tsoureka str.1, Olympia 27065, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Olympia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
#3 Family Hotel in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kronio 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Hotel Kronio has been renovated in 2008 and it is located within walking distance from Ancient Olympia and the museum of Olympia. It offers well-furnished rooms, orthopedic mattresses with spring box technology, free ADSL 24 Mbps Wi-Fi throughout and balcony. All bright rooms come with air conditioning, mini fridge and a satellite LED TV 28" which includes an integrated media player and allows guests to watch 1 hour historical video about the local attractions of Ancient Olympia. Each private bathroom is fitted with a bathtub or shower and hairdryer with saver outlet. Guests at Kronio can start their day with a buffet breakfast served at the spacious restaurant. If you travel by public transportation, the 24-hour front desk can help you to book bus tickets for your next destination and advice you about the local attractions you must visit in Ancient Olympia. Free private parking is provided next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kronio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronio Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing