We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel outside of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bacchus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bacchus
Ranked #1 of 7 Olympia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
185 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Charming hotel outside of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Bacchus is just a few minutes drive outside Olympia, putting you in the quiet countryside. The rooms are elegant although small, with nice views out over fields and hills. We had a little terrace with an ingenious apparatus for drying clothes. Breakfast was excellent and the restaurant is handy for dinner with good food. We enjoyed walking through the little village early in the morning. No sign of the friendly service others have mentioned, but someone really came through for us when we discovered we had left some clothes and Bacchus drove them to a nearby town to get them to a courier.

Room Tip: Top floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonHistorybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    103
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
111
132
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our family of 5 enjoyed relaxing at Bacchus for 2 nights around our trip to Ancient Olympia. The food was fantastic and the pool felt amazing after a day touring the site. As in most places we've stayed in Greece the beds were on the hard side but not hard enough to prevent a good night's sleep. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We chose Bacchus Hotel because we wanted somewhere close to the ancient site of Olympia but not in the modern town and it fitted the bill as it was only a 10 minute drive from the site. The hotel is well signposted from Olympia.

We had room 109 which was quite small but adequate for our 2 nights stay. The bathroom smelt a bit musty when coming in to the room but it wasn't a problem for us especially after running the extractor fan for a while. The room had a small balcony with a great view of the local countryside. There was a fridge with complimentary bottled water, free wi-fi, free a/c and a hair dryer. The pool was very pleasant with comfy loungers and a great view. Breakfast was fairly standard. We ate in the restaurant both nights and, again, the food was fairly standard but tasty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LollyGee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is small two-level hotel integrated to a large restaurant. Ancient Olympia is a 10 min drive away. The restaurant is very good, and the breakfast served was excellent. The rooms were typical for the average Greek hotel of this category, i.e nice and clean but don't expect much extra space or ambiance. There is no elevator to the second level, and we had to lug our luggage one flight of stairs. There is a nice pool area on the grounds.

Overall we had a good stay for one night, and it worked perfectly for our Olympia visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My mother and I spent one night at the Bacchus Hotel in June 2014. The place was charming, situated in a very quiet area, clean and comfortable. The room had a small balcony with great views. We ate at the restaurant in the evening, food and service were excellent. The owners are very nice and do everything to help you enjoy your stay. The hotel is about 5-10 minutes away from Ancient Olympia, which is perfect if you have a car and wand to stay in a calmer place than the town. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at Bacchus I was excited. The town of Olympia is very touristy and Bacchus is situated outside of the town and is very pretty. The room was very nice, the restaurant is acceptable which is good as there is very little nearby. Where they fell apart is in service, it was practically non-existent. The man behind the check in desk watched me carry my bag up and down the stairs without any offers of help (I am a sixty year old woman). There was no one visible at check out for driving directions. This is the hospitality industry, right ?

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very nice little taverna close to Ancient Olympia. Staff always friendly, rooms comfortable with great view. Breakfast for Greece really very good and also the food we ordered in the taverna was excellent and the prices more than OK! If we ever come back to this area we gonna stay at Bacchus again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Europa Olympia
Hotel Europa Olympia
#1 of 16 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#2 of 16 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 16 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 16 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
2.1 mi away
Olympion Asty
Olympion Asty
#3 of 16 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.4 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacchus

Property: Bacchus
Address: Ancient Pissa 10, Olympia 27065, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bacchus 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pension-Tavern Bacchus is in the picturesque of village Ancient Pisa(Miraka) just 3km away from Ancient Olympia and constitutes the new proposal of stay in the region of Ancient Olympia. It is a two storied stone mansion that combines luxury, modern comforts,friendly atmosphere and promises to you particular gastronomic enjoyments. Our pension provides 4 double rooms,3 triple rooms,2 quadruple rooms in the main building and 2 quadruple studios in building B (opposite main building), completely equipped with particular character and unique view in the forest.Also our tavern is one of the best in the region and not only. Free internet access is possible from every place of the Pension.Paths that lead to the eminent Archaelogical site and the museum of Ancient Olympia as well as side by side from alfios river are in a few metres distance from the Pension-Tavern Bacchus.. The romantic atmosphere of our stone pension and the politeness of personnel import you to meet closely the Greek hospitality in the place that was worshipped Xenios Zeus while the unique beauty of landscape in combination with the sights of historical importance and the various possibilities of entertainment promise an unforgettable stay.The Pension-Tavern Bacchus is open all year long including official holidays and feasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bacchus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing