We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to rest on the way to Olympie”
Review of Bacchus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bacchus
Ranked #1 of 8 Olympia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is small hotel 4-5 km from historical site of Olympie with nice view on the land around. The main positive point is it has a nice pool and good taverna. Rooms are new and of good size. Auiet environment. A terrass and nice pool for kids which is nice in summer. The owner gave good welcoming and we had nice dinner of greek specialities at night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank semanteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in a 4 persons bedroom, this was unfortunately accross the street. Not far, but the hotel is nicer.
Room and bathroom were spacefull and very clean.
On the other side of the street was a local cafe, a lot of noise until late at night...
Breakfast was good quality but limited in choise.
The location of the hotel could not be better. What a view from the terras. The pool is also great.

We had also dinner in the hotel. The food was very good (try the local rabbit!), but very expensive in comparison with other places.

It would rate it 3,5/5 but that's not possible on this site...
The hotel can easily earn 5 points whit a better breakfast and more reasonable prices for the food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LovaBrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Perfect hotel if you have a car for visiting Olympia which is a five minute drive away. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size and had a balcony with two chairs and a small table. Balcony also had a small clothesline for drying clothes. The bathroom in the room was a little on the small side but had a good shower. Room also had a small fridge and also a iron. Wifi had good speed in the room with no drop out.

The pool at the hotel was very good and because the hotel only has a small number of rooms we could always get some sun lounges. Sometimes we even got the whole pool area to ourselves.

Restaurant food at the hotel was good for all the meals we had there. Breakfast was ok and had enough variety to satisfy most people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Ahhh, such a lovely setting! Arrive just prior to sunset so you can sit on the terrace, sipping a tasty beverage, and soaking up the glorious feeling of being THERE. We drove in from Athens, thru Kalavytra and arrived just in time, but next time I'd plan more drive time as it took longer than expected thru those crazy roads. The food was excellent and the staff were all very friendly. Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank happytrailsutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here in pref to staying in Olympia proper, only a few miles away. Pretty standard Taverna Hostel/Hotel run by the owner. Staff helpful if asked but not active in providing assistance - for instance carrying bags upstairs etc. But helpful to me in showing on a map where the local laundry was (in Olympia). Food fairly typical Greek fare - served cool usually. We ate in for the three nights we were there, partly because eating elsewhere would require driving - probably to Olympia where the food is reconned to be not at all great, and because the food in the Taverna seemed home cooked. The room was adequate, a bit musty in the bathroom but acceptable - at a reasonable price. The view from the terrace/dining area over countryside was good. The crowds in Olympia seem mainly dependent on whether a cruise liner or two has docked just up the coast. We went early and it was packed. We left at lunchtime and it was deserted. Very pleasant sitting/sun bathing area by the swimming pool, with shade.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

beautiful and peaceful hotel! the room was great with flat tv and an awesome view to the mountains. Great bathroom, we loved the shower. We had dinner at the restaurant and food was really good! Very clean and great service.
It is easy to find there are plenty of signs on the road. Just 5 mins away the site and museum.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Warm, Friendly, Wonderful atmosphere!!!! We had a fantastic time, the accommodations were wonderful, the view excellent and the area and people so warm and welcoming!!
I went for a walk through all the neighborhood and was greeted with a smile and a 'gia sas' about 40 times or more!!! Excellent time watching the World Cup soccer 2014 on a big screen out by the pool with the young waiter and other visitors. The food was very good at the restaurant, less touristy with locals there also. Easy drive into Ancient Olympia, where looking at the ruins is an amazing trip into the past! Oh, and the pool lights change the color of the water....pretty!
Our family HIGHLY recommends Bacchus!!
dee granville

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deedannicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 15 in Olympia
1,188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olympic Village Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Arty Grand Hotel
Arty Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Olympia
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 15 in Olympia
457 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pelops
Hotel Pelops
#5 of 15 in Olympia
484 reviews
4.1 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#14 of 15 in Olympia
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacchus

Address: Ancient Pisa 10, Olympia 27065, Greece
Region: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Olympia
Price Range: £47 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bacchus 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pension-Tavern Bacchus is in the picturesque of village Ancient Pisa(Miraka) just 3km away from Ancient Olympia and constitutes the new proposal of stay in the region of Ancient Olympia. It is a two storied stone mansion that combines luxury, modern comforts,friendly atmosphere and promises to you particular gastronomic enjoyments. Our pension provides 4 double rooms,3 triple rooms,2 quadruple rooms in the main building and 2 quadruple studios in building B (opposite main building), completely equipped with particular character and unique view in the forest.Also our tavern is one of the best in the region and not only. Free internet access is possible from every place of the Pension.Paths that lead to the eminent Archaelogical site and the museum of Ancient Olympia as well as side by side from alfios river are in a few metres distance from the Pension-Tavern Bacchus.. The romantic atmosphere of our stone pension and the politeness of personnel import you to meet closely the Greek hospitality in the place that was worshipped Xenios Zeus while the unique beauty of landscape in combination with the sights of historical importance and the various possibilities of entertainment promise an unforgettable stay.The Pension-Tavern Bacchus is open all year long including official holidays and feasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Bacchus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing