We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LIVING IN A MONDRIAN PAINTING, WITH BAILEYS IRISH CREAM AT YOUR FINGERTIPS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galaxy City Center Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Patras
Certificate of Excellence
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“LIVING IN A MONDRIAN PAINTING, WITH BAILEYS IRISH CREAM AT YOUR FINGERTIPS”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel was a real find. Nearly all the good things other reviewers have been saying about this hotel are true. The noise is not as loud as some reviewers wrote, perhaps in the doorway to the hotel you can hear the cafe society chat as it floats upwards. The balcony windows are thick glass and I believe soundproofed. I slept like a baby, but was not on a low floor near the entranceway. The cafes and bars on the pedestrian mall on which the hotel is conveniently located, is not full of rowdy drunks or hooligans, unless such types now drink pink flamingo mixed drinks and Baileys Irish Cream. The clientele are mostly Patras citizens socializing and mixing and sitting outdoors to be seen. The decor of the rooms are post-modernist and very interesting, like a Mondrian painting. I especially liked the clear one piece transparent plastic chair in the room. The flat screen TV in my room was the best that is possible to install. One little complaint, but which is typical of many hotels these days. When they say wifi in the rooms, they mean a weak connection. Often you have to go to the lobby or the breakfast room, to get a "very good" wifi internet connection signal. This was true of the Galaxy also. I highly recommend this hotel. In fact, I enjoyed the hotel more than the city. Nothing wrong with Patras, but nothing superlative either, about the city. It has many things to occupy your time and places to dine, but I think it is more a city for locals than for tourists. But it is worth one or two days exploration, rather than a few hours just waiting for the ferry. If you take the bus to Athens from here, I found the journey relaxing and scenic, coastal villages and farmland, and shepherds undisturbed, viewing them from your bus window. There are endless restaurants seconds away from the front door of GALAXY, but many are provincial minded with a local clientele wanting to be seen more than to be eating. So kebabs and french fries and calamari are served more than the pricey main meals on the menus. However, if you spend the time poking your head into all the eateries you find, the full spectrum of dining experiences can be found. The ferry port and the bus terminal are minutes by foot away! You are also only ten minutes by foot to the main plaza of the city.

Room Tip: The staff is very amenable to placing you in a higher room due to some reviews that say the cafe nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bryan-quiller-hire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    38
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
20
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Very nice and clean hotel with great location. The hotel is located in the city centre. The rooms are modern and nice decorated.We will be back for another stay !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milisi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I wanted a convenient hotel at the centre of Patras city, for my cousin's wedding.
I booked for the suite at the seventh floor with sea view and two bedrooms. Very spacious with amazing
view! The price was very reasonable for the amenities offered, staff was very polite and kind. The breakfast is great too.
Well done!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konstas1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel is right in the middle of Patras best cafe and bar strip, but not seedy at all. The rooms are very modern and clean, and breakfast was great. Parking can be an issue around here, but the hotel staff do their best to help.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GarryVoutos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We got average service in all aspects. Breakfast was of low quality and very poor. Sheets were not changed for 4 days.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Paross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

This is a nice business hotel in the center of patra. The night auditor was not so friendly,
The period that we visit it was too noisy but the staff give us the option with a back side room. The rooms are nice decorated.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyTom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

The hotel is centraly situated opposite the main harbour entrance and railway station, on the most frequented pedestrian street of Patras.
It is fully renovated with very modern and good quality furniture.
The reception area is very small, on the 1st floor there is a small lobby with the dining room, but there's not much to do there.
The rooms are rather standard length and narrow, but are confortable. There is an LCD TV, Fridge and automatic temperature control of the room. Beds are confortable, and very clean. But the room is fully covered with materials, carpets, bed linen and is very hot. In late October in sunny days we had to use the air conditioning in cool setting all night without blankets to feel confortable. In mid-November there was neither need for air continioning/heating nor for blankets.
The room also has free wi-fi access to the internet, ask for the WEP password at the reception.
Also beware! the street downstairs is full of cafes and gets extremely noisy all day from 9 till 3 o'clock after midnight, so the door on the balcony must be always shut, especialy during the summer months. Room view is not bad, facing the crowded street and the port.
Breakfast is served in the dining room, in a small buffet. There are the usual eggs, cheese, ham and bacon, jams etc. but the quality of the ingredients is very low. It seems that the food is bought from a discount supermarket and is of the cheapest quality. The served cake has a fully industrialized taste, plenty of conservatives. Coffee (only french = filtered, greek or espresso is extra) is also of bad quality.
The stuff is polite, yet very discrete, almost inexistant, which is good for a hotel with so little common space available. As the hotel is about 30 meters from the car street, you will need to roll your luggage to the pavement, or ask for a trolley at the reception.
Parking around the hotel is almost impossible on shop hours, during these hours is paid with a max duration of 2 hours, so if you have a car you must stop (in a non stopping zone, but it is ok) to unload the luggage then park it long away the paid parking zone and leave it there. But all of Patras shops are just by the corner of the hotel.
Overall a convenient stay in a clean and central hotel, recommended for business visitors.

  • Liked — Modern clean rooms, centrally located.
  • Disliked — Noisy central location, low quality brakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank STttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patras hotels
0.8 mi away
Airotel Patras Smart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Patras Palace
Patras Palace
#2 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byzantino Hotel
Byzantino Hotel
#10 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marie Palace
Hotel Marie Palace
#7 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.5 mi away
Airotel Achaia Beach
Airotel Achaia Beach
#3 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astir Hotel
Astir Hotel
#14 of 21 in Patras
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy City Center Hotel

Property: Galaxy City Center Hotel
Address: 9 Agiou Nikolaou, Patras 262 21, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Achaea Region > Patras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Patras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Galaxy City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy City Hotel Patras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing