We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Smokey!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Astir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astir Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Patras
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Smokey!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at The Astir Hotel during carnival weekend, paying €150 p/night plus €8 p/night for parking. In my booking request, I asked for a NON SMOKING double room with a one bed as opposed to a twin room. Despite confirmation of our booking & requests, we were greeted by a very dank, smokey room with twin beds which was desperately in need of refurbishment. Apart from the view of the port, which was ideal for watching the carnival fireworks, we found the entire property was very dated, soaked in the odour of 100,000's of guests cigerettes & begging for some fresh air and major facelift. We wouldn't recommend this hotel & would urge you to look elsewhere for a more comfortable whilst visiting Patras.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    55
    47
    27
    14
See reviews for
33
44
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel in February for 1 night. The hotel is centrally located in the port of Patras with great view if you choose a seaside room. Seaside rooms have balcony.
Rooms are clean, but somewhat rundown, and the price for the room is expensive compared to standard. Breakfast is included in the room price.

I stayed there for the Patras Carnival, and this means generally that the city is full of very loud music 24 hours and just outside the balcony there is a Cafe that during Carnival is turned into an outdoor disco that plays extremly loud music until sunrise. Since it was carnival, I believe you need to be up for it - or choose a hotel in the vicinity of the centre.

The hotel has a garage, and be sure to book garage as it does not take too many cars (8¢ per night). If the hotel garage is full, there is a second garage around the corner - virtually 2 minutes walk, but double charge.

All in all, an OK hotel.

Room Tip: Choose hotel outside of the city during carnival time if you cannot stand loud music all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiceguyOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

All in all, the Astir Hotel is an ok hotel but it definitely does not deserve 4 stars. Rooms were clean and of good size but the hotel needs to be updated very desperately. The male staff were very nice and friendly, the ladies, however, were extremely rude and not helpful at all. I didn't like that the pool had already been closed in September.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisT152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

The staff at this hotel were amazing. The ferry from Venice arrived late in pouring rain and darkness. I was told we were going to land at néw port. Noone knew where to find taxis. I was pointed to a locked building. I rang the hotel and they did everything to help. It was the old port. They met me with a glass of water as I was a sobbing mess. I was actually able to see the boat from my room.

It is a beautiful hotel with gorgeous bath and terrace. And a pool on the roof.

But it is often the people who make a place and they were totally wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBallpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel breakfast is terrible! The orange juice tastes like powdered candy. There is very little of each item and on most days there was nothing left to eat. The staff are rude and the pool is only opened between the hours of 09:30 until 18:20 VERY inconvenient. Not to mention the shower is hand held. It's impossible to shower properly. I stayed for a week and found this hotel very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleskippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patras hotels

Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed in 'Astir hotel' for one night as a part of my tour in greece. I didn't have much time to look around the hotel but the bedroom was big enough and clean with all the necessary equipment. Moreover, the breakfast was very good and well prepared. If I ever visit Patra again in the future, I will definitely choose this hotel to stay in as its location is very convenient as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ice-queen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS HELLAS
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

At the heart of the city cross the port and surrounded by the suburban bus station.
Old fashioned rooms and lobby but very clean and very warm staff.Not 4 star's as it stated. Ideal location for bussiness and shopping.Big enough rooms and if you book in the front line you will delight a nice view to the port and Ionia sea.
The breakfast room is quite with warm atmosphere but the offered breakfast is very poor in relation with the ranking of the hotel.Parking problem if you do not find a space outside the main entrance otherwise at the basement of the hotel by charging your account with the cost of 8 euro per day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSTAVROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patras hotels
0.1 mi away
Patras Palace
Patras Palace
#2 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byzantino Hotel
Byzantino Hotel
#10 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Airotel Patras Smart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marie Palace
Hotel Marie Palace
#7 of 21 in Patras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy City Center Hotel
3.3 mi away
Airotel Achaia Beach
Airotel Achaia Beach
#3 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir Hotel

Property: Astir Hotel
Address: 16 Agiou Andreou, Patras 262 21, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Achaea Region > Patras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Patras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Astir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Astir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Hotel Patras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing