We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way a 4* Hotel”
Review of Astir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astir Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Patras
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Although stayed for only one night, I can't say I was amazed by my stay at Astir Hotel.
It is an old hotel which needs a big overall upgrade asap!
Except the spacey rooms, all the rest just made me feel like I was playing in some bad quality 80s movie..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W3ReWolF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

I visited astir hotel for the first time and it was a very good 4 stars hotel. Specifically, the room was quite spacious and clean with nice decoration. The food was also excellent and the stuff was very amicable. I vehemently loved the view of the sea. The biggest advantage is that the hotel is in the city center and it has a garage.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasilis_cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at The Astir Hotel during carnival weekend, paying €150 p/night plus €8 p/night for parking. In my booking request, I asked for a NON SMOKING double room with a one bed as opposed to a twin room. Despite confirmation of our booking & requests, we were greeted by a very dank, smokey room with twin beds which was desperately in need of refurbishment. Apart from the view of the port, which was ideal for watching the carnival fireworks, we found the entire property was very dated, soaked in the odour of 100,000's of guests cigerettes & begging for some fresh air and major facelift. We wouldn't recommend this hotel & would urge you to look elsewhere for a more comfortable whilst visiting Patras.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel in February for 1 night. The hotel is centrally located in the port of Patras with great view if you choose a seaside room. Seaside rooms have balcony.
Rooms are clean, but somewhat rundown, and the price for the room is expensive compared to standard. Breakfast is included in the room price.

I stayed there for the Patras Carnival, and this means generally that the city is full of very loud music 24 hours and just outside the balcony there is a Cafe that during Carnival is turned into an outdoor disco that plays extremly loud music until sunrise. Since it was carnival, I believe you need to be up for it - or choose a hotel in the vicinity of the centre.

The hotel has a garage, and be sure to book garage as it does not take too many cars (8¢ per night). If the hotel garage is full, there is a second garage around the corner - virtually 2 minutes walk, but double charge.

All in all, an OK hotel.

Room Tip: Choose hotel outside of the city during carnival time if you cannot stand loud music all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiceguyOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

All in all, the Astir Hotel is an ok hotel but it definitely does not deserve 4 stars. Rooms were clean and of good size but the hotel needs to be updated very desperately. The male staff were very nice and friendly, the ladies, however, were extremely rude and not helpful at all. I didn't like that the pool had already been closed in September.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisT152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The staff at this hotel were amazing. The ferry from Venice arrived late in pouring rain and darkness. I was told we were going to land at néw port. Noone knew where to find taxis. I was pointed to a locked building. I rang the hotel and they did everything to help. It was the old port. They met me with a glass of water as I was a sobbing mess. I was actually able to see the boat from my room.

It is a beautiful hotel with gorgeous bath and terrace. And a pool on the roof.

But it is often the people who make a place and they were totally wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBallpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel breakfast is terrible! The orange juice tastes like powdered candy. There is very little of each item and on most days there was nothing left to eat. The staff are rude and the pool is only opened between the hours of 09:30 until 18:20 VERY inconvenient. Not to mention the shower is hand held. It's impossible to shower properly. I stayed for a week and found this hotel very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Littleskippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patras hotels
0.9 mi away
Airotel Patras Smart Hotel
0.1 mi away
Patras Palace
Patras Palace
#4 of 21 in Patras
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 21 in Patras
26 reviews
3.3 mi away
Airotel Achaia Beach
Airotel Achaia Beach
#3 of 21 in Patras
270 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kallirroe Hotel
Kallirroe Hotel
#5 of 21 in Patras
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir Hotel

Address: 16 Agiou Andreou, Patras 262 21, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Achaea Region > Patras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Patras
Price Range: £44 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Hotel Patras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing