We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astir Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Patras
athens
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Not a nice hotel. Very old fashioned, nothing changed since the 70's! Old itchy blankets, lumpy pillows, cheap sheets, tv bigger than the fridge. No hot water so couldn't shower. Only one pillow per bed and no spares in cupboard. Very noisy if in a front room, train and road noise. It's a shame as it has so much potential.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank richebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    55
    45
    26
    14
See reviews for
33
44
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Astir must once have been quite something. Everything in the hotel speaks of grandeur and lavishness. Just a pity that this hotel has clearly seen better days and although everything is neat and clean, there's evidence of this hotel's need of maintenance and refurbishment everywhere you look. Still, spectacular view of the harbour and proximity to the bustle of the town centre helps to make it a pleasant stay. Rather opt for a breakfast in town though, as the one the hotel serves is overpriced and quite lacking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HRHWerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay here, on our long drive back to the UK. Some may think this Hotel needs upgrading but it is a very Grand Hotel spacious and luxurious in some respects, large bedrooms I think bedroom furniture could do with updating maybe new TV's flat screen, I love the bathrooms. We didn't eat at the hotel this time but they do have a great restaurant on the roof with great views out to the gulf of Corinth, very helpful friendly staff! I would try and get a room on a higher floor as the hotel is on a very busy road..

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Parosgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a large and well equipped room in the 6th floor, therefore relatively quiet. As our car was completely full, we ordered in advance a place in the garage (which was offered!); but the garage door was broken, and the hotel did not write us a mail before. The telephone in the room was out of order, therefore we had no contact with the reception; the door of the room could not be closed quietly, there was only one electric socket in the room, non in the bathroom, air-condition loud and not reducible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 6th floor with the very nice mountain view (therefore cheaper!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guenther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

A really well decorated but old building...objects in the rooms are antiques too,not in a bad meaning...Stayed there for a night,in a really great price for what it offers...Clean rooms and a damn awesome view if you stay in on the sea-front rooms...Best part is the roof garden on the 7th floor,the view is stunning,the swimming pool up there does so...

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea-view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute after a long day of traveling!!! Nice place for a short stay, staff were very friendly and helpful! My room was clean.. And the view was lovely, true city life!! Had a lovely dinner on the roof witch has a bar and a small swimming pool, food was really nice and fresh!! Would stay again..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishrose1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamata, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in August. If you are looking for a value for money hotel in the centre of Patras then the Astir is for you.The roof garden is very good and the staff very friendly and the prices are very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joPatch67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patras hotels
0.1 mi away
Patras Palace
Patras Palace
#2 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Airotel Patras Smart Hotel
0.3 mi away
Byzantino Hotel
Byzantino Hotel
#8 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Airotel Achaia Beach
Airotel Achaia Beach
#3 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy City Center Hotel
8.9 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir Hotel

Property: Astir Hotel
Address: 16 Agiou Andreou, Patras 262 21, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Achaea Region > Patras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Patras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Astir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Astir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Hotel Patras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing