We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4stars for a 4 stars hotel...”
Review of Porto Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Rio Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Patras
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“4stars for a 4 stars hotel...”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I rate the hotel with 4 stars for the politeness of the personnel, the nice lobby and breakfast room, the view to the sea just outside the hotel and the nearby Rio bridge, the spacious enough rooms and the plenty space for parking. However I must stress that the rooms look old and some maintenance or renovation should be scheduled... And please change those CRT TVs... Breakfast has most of the things provided in these kinds of hotels, but nothing breathtaking. There is quite a distance from the centre of Patras but for all gamblers the Patras casino is located within the hotel's premises.
The sleep quality was rather poor but for that I have to blame not only the beds which by the ways were not so comfortable but also my companion for the disturbing sleep noises ;)
Two nights were ok I guess in this hotel. For vacation, I don't know if I would pick it or Rio in general. Keep those dice rolling!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    61
    50
    25
    17
See reviews for
42
44
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had to be in Patras the last weekend in August 2012, and this was literally the only hotel we found available as we looked into it very last minute. I had read the reviews and was absolutely terrified that it would be an awful experience, but we booked it all the same as we just had to go to Patras. We were travelling with two small toddlers, and so we booked the suite to ensure ample space. Let me say we were very, very pleasantly surprised. The suite was VERY spacious and consisted of a large bedroom and bathroom and a large separate living room. It was clean, didn't smell (!), and had a nice sea view. It definitely looked like it had been renovated, albeit cheaply. Granted, there were a lot of things that were just off - the living room had no lighting other than one VERY bright overhead and lamp for which we never managed to find the light switch and so just plugged/unplugged to switch on/ off (!), the thick black-out curtain was in the living room whereas the flimsy, thin curtain was in the bedroom so all the light came in in the morning, the door to the suite didn't lock automatically and had to be physically locked, but other than that, it was perfect for one night! Plus the hotel pool area and restaurant (the only facility we used) was great! We got good service, decent food, and pretty much spent all day there. I didn't really see much else of the hotel so I can't comment. Let me also add that when I called to inquire about the suite and make sure it was as big and comfortable as it seemed on the web page (really, I was sooo wary after all the reviews I read!), the staff were very nice, and even physically went to the suite to confirm the layout and tell me exactly what it was like! Yes, the hotel is old and very possible the regular guest rooms haven't been renovated yet, but the pool area has, it's perfect to lounge at all day, there's a beach out front, and if you're coming for a couple of days in the summer, it's a great solution!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsKap_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

this hotel has not been renovated in years and it's left to it's misery. No way you could describe it as a 4 star or even a 3 star hotel. The area of Patras does not have 4-5 star hotels, which is a problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Patras hotels

Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel's luxurious entrances and spacious rooms smell so badly,you look for the nearest exit to fresh air.It has to be either down rated or renovated.The waiters leave the trays on the tables until someone else takes it,leftovers and boring staff make you run away ASAP.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simijtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Definitely it’s not a 4 star luxurious hotel. We have stayed there a couple of times in the past since its location is very convenient especially if you need a stopover on your way to the port of Patra.

The lobby area has been renovated but the rooms (especially the bathrooms) need upgrading. They are clean though…the breakfast is just decent...service is indifferent..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank invivo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braga, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Gostei muito do Hotel: muito limpo, bonito (rodeado por mar e campos) e os trabalhadores eram simpáticos, embora o "Inglês deles" fosse complicado de entender. Os pequenos-almoços eram fantásticos e a proximidade à praia é uma grande vantagem. A praia não tinha areia, é tudo pedras... mas a água é óptima. A piscina e o casino são fantásticos.

[I'll try in english too...]
I really enjoyed this hotel: very clean, beautiful (surrounded by sea and fields) and the workers were friendly, although "their English" was hard to understand. The breakfasts were fantastic and the proximity to the beach is a great advantage. The beach has no sand, just stones ... but the water was great. The pool and the casino are fantastic.

Room Tip: Be prepared to the Casino... and to walk in "stones" on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Porto Rio Hotel & Casino in Rio next to Patras while on a business trip. The lobby of the hotel was fairly decent but the rooms however were abominable for a 5 star hotel! The stench of the room and from wardrobe was herrendous. There were huge stains on the carpet, the hooks in the bathroom were broken and there was a huge and scary crack on the ceiling. The soap was like cardboard and the tubes of shampoo etc covered in dust.
To top it all, during lunch there was a huge worm in my salad! There was a sincere apology from the staff and we were not charged, but the damage was done.
As it is winter, i did not explore the beach or pool area, however, the garden area was all run down and in shambles.
Pity... its location on the beach is one of a kind and from what i've heard it used to be a gem in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patras
0.6 mi away
Airotel Achaia Beach
Airotel Achaia Beach
#6 of 21 in Patras
260 reviews
4.8 mi away
Airotel Patras Smart Hotel
3.6 mi away
Florida Blue Bay
Florida Blue Bay
#16 of 21 in Patras
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Pavlina Beach Hotel
Pavlina Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Niforeika
150 reviews
13.7 mi away
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aigio
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kallirroe Hotel
Kallirroe Hotel
#3 of 21 in Patras
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Rio Hotel

Property: Porto Rio Hotel
Address: Rio Patras, Patras 265 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Achaea Region > Patras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Patras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Rio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Rio Patras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing